We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No way!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Presidente Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Presidente Hotel
Ranked #17 of 76 Hotels in La Paz
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“No way!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

This is supposed to be a 5 stars hotel and it is far from being it! Our room was big, yes, but it seemed to be in the 70's! It should really get renovated, it does not look nice and also a bit dirty. The bathrooms (we had two) were also old and not too clean. The awful part was that as we were on 12th floor, we could not open the windows, but as they were facing south-west, we had had sun ALL day in our room and the room was as hot as an oven! The horror part is that there was no air conditioning in the room! We seriously suffered!
The staff tries to be kind but they lack good communication, therefore one tells you "sure we can" and then you get a call from another receptionist saying "no, we do not have that service" and then they call you again to say "oh yes, sorry, we can do as agreed".

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swamikia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    110
    47
    19
    8
See reviews for
22
78
20
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos de Bariloche, Argentina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

We stayed there for two night and expected the quality and service of a five star hotel - the room was OK - the restaurant on the top floor was below expectations as it seemed to be a cafetaria - service was very good with very nice staff - the quality of the food was mediocre - in short, the hotle was outdated, not really "fresh" or "clean" looking

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siegfried M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new england
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in need of an immediate facelift as it feels like one stepped in to a tired, outdated by gone 70's era. The interior of the hotel leaves much to be desired. The staff is friendly and eager to be accommodating. Both hotel restaurants need an overhaul - food quality is far from the advertised five star.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vmt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
276 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012 via mobile

Hotel is in a prime tourist location. Staff helpful and speaks English. Rooms are very tired looking. No air conditioning and very very stuffy. Street noise is unbearable. Food just okay. Free Internet. Many tour groups in hotelL Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We arrived at the hotel as a group. The staff was very helpfull. The rooms are not big but very clean. But although there was double glazing our room faced the street and was very noisy. We ate at the restaurant on the top flor, the view of all La Paz was outstanding, the food was good there is a salad bar included in the main course but the service was very very slow.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minamanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
326 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

The view of La Paz from the Presidente Hotel's restaurant is fabulous
As part of a group booking we dined in this supposedly 5 star hotel and waited for about an hour to get our meals. When tasting my main course meal I was amazed to find that it was cold. Several others in our group also reported that their meal was also cold.
After alerting our Tour Guide (he was the one that organised the restaurant) to the problem he arranged for the meals to be sent back. When my steak returned it was warm but well done and not medium rare as ordered.
We were not happy with the restaurant's offer of a free Whiskey Sour so our Tour Leader arranged for our bill to be discounted by 50%.
To be fair some our group had an enjoyable meal.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie_on_the_move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

We arrived in La Paz at 17:30 pm on a Friday after more than 10 hours of traveling from Machu Pichu . This was our first visit to Bolivia so I wasn't really sure what to expect.

First: The service was good. Second : The rooms are spacious and the furniture is clasic Third: One of the main attraction is the location!!!! There's a currency exchange house across the street.

Room Tip: nothing special
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Hotel Rosario La Paz
#4 of 76 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casona Hotel-Boutique
1.4 mi away
Stannum Boutique Hotel
Stannum Boutique Hotel
#2 of 76 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Camino Real Suites
Camino Real Suites
#1 of 76 in La Paz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#8 of 76 in La Paz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sagarnaga
Hotel Sagarnaga
#16 of 76 in La Paz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Presidente Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidente Hotel

Property: Presidente Hotel
Address: Potosi st. 920, La Paz, Bolivia
Phone Number:
Region: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Presidente Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Hotel overlooking city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Presidente Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente Hotel La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing