We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our overnight stay”
Review of Presidente Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Presidente Hotel
Ranked #17 of 78 Hotels in La Paz
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Arrived here early evening after a very long day travelling from Puno.

We were given a room on the 13th floor which was much nicer than expected. We were told that this was a 3* hotel but it far exceeded that rating. It's a character hotel with the old fashioned classy feel. Our room was large with comfortable bed, tv, mini bar, safe, lamps and table with two easy chairs.

Bathroom was good with plenty of room, shower over bath and a few toiletries, good lighting and hairdrier. No tea/coffee making facilities, nor bathrobes/slippers.

We were given a voucher to have our welcome drink in the restaurant as and when we wished.

Old fashioned decor but very clean and comfortable for an overnight stay.

We had a good and very early breakfast with self service tea/coffee. Chef was in evidence if we needed anything cooked.

We would stay here again if passing through La Paz

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mazza-500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2013

Stayed here 1 night and found it very pleasent. Lovely big room, comfy bed and not noisey, although we were quite high up.
Bathroom a little small, but very clean, usual toiletries provided. Bottled water is supplied too!
Enjoyed a Pisco Sour and dinner, all good value, especially as the "Help Yourself Salad Bar" was included.
Breakfast next morning was good too, a plentiful choice of food and drink.
We also had lunch in the restaurant, it was Sunday and very busy with locals, always a good sign, enjoying the buffet lunch
Location is great, and the hotel is very elegant, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kings1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

The hotel is located in the busiest part of town. The traffic noise starts at 7am in the morning and does not stop till past late at night. Being close to shopping and San Franciso Church and Square is the only benefit of staying at this hotel. This will only burn up to 3 hours of sight-seeing time so not worth staying here if that is your only reason for picking this location. Did not feel safe walking around this part of town. Included breakfast was ordinary and the decor and fittings were vert dated.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank YYSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

This place was built in the early nineties and never renovated and that's too obvious. Everything about the rooms, common areas and the restaurant is old and while it's not falling apart just yet - it obviously was high quality stuff back in the day - it surely doesn't leave and impression of a five star hotel. Our room was big, had WiFi Internet, a huge bed, two bathrooms and magnificent views of St. Francisco. What it lacked was air conditioning - since the windows were facing south-west, the temperature in the room was around 35 degrees Celsius (that's 95F for you, US Americans). There is a tiny window which opens in the living room, but not in the bedroom, so the temperature dropped only marginally at night. The staff offered us a fan, but that that didn't help much. Apart from the unbearable heat, our sleep quality was further compromised by the bed - it was too soft, felt like a water bed. Any move would trigger a "tsunami wave" across the whole bed, so it was very difficult to turn at night without waking up my partner.
The cleanliness was a hit or miss. While I don't have complaints about the room, the restaurant was a different story. My first impression was that it's a school canteen - tablecloths were stained, full of breadcrumbs, windows to the outside were dirty and there was no restaurant atmosphere at all - just tables in a hall. The food, on the other hand was cheap and better than what you typically get in school canteens. I wasn't so much impressed by breakfast though - buffet was really poor and the same cleanliness issue made it an overall unpleasant experience.
The staff, despite their limited English skills, was generally very helpful and kind. We had some special requests, such as buying medicaments and the receptionists took care of everything for us.
Overall, my experience in this hotel was average, but when compared to real-world 5* hotel standards, Presidente Hotel can only be rated as poor. I would not recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simas_Aleksiejunas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

great location, a bit dated so not really a 5 star . Best meal in BOlivia,
staff very helpful in arranging things
rooms clean, good selection on TV
pool crowded and seemed to be busy during day with kids events when i was there
a bit expensive

Room Tip: ask for high floor , great views of city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank restleswanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

The hotel doesn't deserve the title of a five stars hotel... It's ridiculous. I've lived in La Paz, and when I came back to visit my friends, I stayed at the Presidente. Some of my friends came to visit me at the hotel, and stayed at my room to chat a while, and every single day they asked me if somebody had stayed at my room that night... After 4 days, I was called into the manager's office
because he said that if somebody had slept in my room, I should pay extra (although a single room in most hotels costs the same as a double). I was really offended...
Apart from that, the hotel is really outdated, 1980's furniture and the bathroom is even worse...
Breakfast not that special either...
Not worth paying these five stars!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CarolineDT88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

This is supposed to be a 5 stars hotel and it is far from being it! Our room was big, yes, but it seemed to be in the 70's! It should really get renovated, it does not look nice and also a bit dirty. The bathrooms (we had two) were also old and not too clean. The awful part was that as we were on 12th floor, we could not open the windows, but as they were facing south-west, we had had sun ALL day in our room and the room was as hot as an oven! The horror part is that there was no air conditioning in the room! We seriously suffered!
The staff tries to be kind but they lack good communication, therefore one tells you "sure we can" and then you get a call from another receptionist saying "no, we do not have that service" and then they call you again to say "oh yes, sorry, we can do as agreed".

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swamikia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.1 mi away
La Casona Hotel-Boutique
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Hotel Rosario La Paz
#4 of 78 in La Paz
1,136 reviews
4.7 mi away
Casa Grande Hotel
Casa Grande Hotel
#1 of 78 in La Paz
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Stannum Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#8 of 78 in La Paz
337 reviews
4.7 mi away
Atix Hotel
Atix Hotel
#5 of 78 in La Paz
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Presidente Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidente Hotel

Address: Potosi st. 920, La Paz, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in La Paz
Price Range: £76 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Presidente Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Hotel overlooking city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Presidente Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente Hotel La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing