We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Surprise!”
Review of Rey Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rey Palace
Ranked #45 of 76 Hotels in La Paz
Mexico City
1 review
“Very Pleasant Surprise!”
Reviewed 25 May 2009

My wife and I went to La Paz, to visit old friends and we were told about Rey Palace Hotel.

We honestly exptected an average hotel in downtown La Paz., but instead we enjoyed a pleasant surprise and even better stay!
Our stay could not be better!
Great Hotel!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jltMexicoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    46
    26
    18
    7
See reviews for
13
33
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2009

Large rooms slightly old fashioned feel, but staff ultra helpful and a good location.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheltenham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2008

My wife and I stayed for two nights as part of a small group tour in late October 2008.
I was not especially looking forward to this hotel due to some negative reviews on tripadvisor. However, the staff were always very polite, friendly and helpful and I liked the spacious characterful room we had despite it not having every convenience that a more modern hotel might have. The breakfast buffet was not as extensive as in some hotels we had stayed at in Peru but it was perfectly adequate and on request to the waiter we enjoyed a freshly cooked ham and onion omeltte. Some of our group members who ate in the hotel restaurant in the evening said the food was good.
The free internet access on the terminals in the lobby was also useful and the exchange rate given at the hotel desk for bolivianos from US dollars was OK ,ie not a rip off.

  • Liked — Friendliness and helpfulness of staff
  • Disliked — No bedside lamp!
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jhnprtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2008

This is a good hotel for a good price. The staff were friendly & welcoming. All the Reception staff we encountered spoke very good English & made helpful recommendations about city attractions. The hotel offers free internet 24-7. There are only three or four machines, but we never encountered anyone else using them. The hotel is in a good location – a quiet street in nice part of town & only a block from Plaza de Estudiante on the main street. The hotel boasts it was La Paz’s first 4 star hotel & It has a feel of old school grandeur. The furnishings were dated, but the rooms were very clean. Throughout our time in South America, we learnt to tolerate weak, cold showers, but the showers at the El Rey Palace were great & what we would expect at home.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bullbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2008

We stayed for 2 nights on our way through South America. The hotel is on a steep hill leading away from the main area of La Paz and is convenient for heading to the main avenue with its cafes and bars. The hotel looks like it would have been as palacial in its day as the name suggests, but now looks pretty old fashioned. Having said that the rooms are huge and have all the facilities needed - tv, fridge, internet access, haidryer, free safety deposit box - and are warm when the temparature drops in the evenings. Breakfast choice was pretty limited compared to other places we had stayed on our trip i.e. no hot items such as eggs and just one choice of cereal. The reception staff are very helpful though and friendly and overall a pleasant stay.

  • Liked — Large rooms
  • Disliked — Old fashioned decor
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Enfieldian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
In-Town Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2008

El Rey Palace is located central to the main business district and several government ministries. The furnishings are a bit outdated (e.g. red carpet in the rooms, lime green walls in the hallway) but lovingly mantained. This the cleanest hotel I've ever visited - it was like staying in my Mother's house- every piece of brass lovingly polished, carpets and common areas spotless - restaurant (with its lovely views of the mountains) extremely tidy. The rooms are very large- ask for one with a view of the mountains. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful - they memorize your name and room number and have your key ready when you return to the hotel. The restaurant staff gladly help with special orders and go out of their way to suggest alternatives. A small business center in the lobby provides 24-hour Internet access. Overall an excellent experience - a good choice for the business traveller.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank ATL_Mommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Climping, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2008

I feel as though I must have stayed in a different hotel to the other reviewers here! We stayed 2 nights as part of a group tour. We arrived late in the evening and the first sight of our room was positive, big bedroom, small ante room with table, chairs and fridge. On closer inspection however, lights did not work, the bathrrom was mouldy and had lots of cracked floor tiling and the window looked straight onto the main staircase !

Room service provided us with toasted cheese and ham sandwiches minus any cheese and ham and some instant coffee and luke warm water with which to make our own Cafe Americano's....delicious!

Breakfast next morning was dreadful. No cooked food on the buffet although a rather harrassed waiter offered to cook eggs if we wanted them. Poor choice of cereals, no fruit, stale bread and more instant coffee didn't improve our mood and the only edible thing was some nice, fresh madeira cake.

When we, as a group, complained, we were assured that our breakfast, scheduled for 6 am next morning would be much better....needless to say it wasn't, it was worse.

The only good thing about this hotel is it's position, quite handy to walk to the main street and its restaurants, you certainly need them.

  • Liked — large room
  • Disliked — standard of food
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Paz hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.7 mi away
La Casona Hotel-Boutique
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#8 of 76 in La Paz
319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palma Real
Hotel Palma Real
#52 of 76 in La Paz
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eldorado
Hotel Eldorado
#63 of 76 in La Paz
57 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stannum Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rey Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rey Palace

Property: Rey Palace
Address: Av. 20 de Octubre 1947 | Sopocachi, La Paz 10727, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 76 Hotels in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rey Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Rey Palace Hotel is sittuated in the center of La Paz, just a few from the main attractions in the city. Since its opening the El Rey Palace Hotel offers an exquisite service to its guests. This forms the special prestige that characterizes our house. In 15 years we established a firm position in the Bolivian hotel market and we are the first 4 star hotel with the classification Categoria Superior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Rey Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Rey Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing