We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penury In Paradise - Another Stop On Coast-to-Coast Latin America”
Review of Hotel Las Balsas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Paz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Las Balsas
Ranked #36 of 77 Hotels in La Paz
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Other reviews here are very generous (even the bad ones), although I notice that they are all quite old.
This hotel is a neglected wreck. When our party arrived, there was rubbish everywhere, no one there and we noticed the guest book hadn't been signed for a long, long time.
The furniture, beds, linens and everything else is just decrepit. Any self-respecting hotel would just burn them. Journey Latin America should be ashamed of themselves for booking us in there as part of our tour. We couldn't believe quite how bad it was - then it got worse. The "manager" got two small women to lug our cases (2 dozen of them) up the stairs - until we took them off of them and did it ourselves. Our room had beds that a hostel would have been ashamed of, a filthy wicker sofa on the balcony that may have been made by the Incas themselves, and a weird extra room with curtains that were actually rotting off the rails - no, I'm not exaggerating.
Puerto Perez was a strange, dilapidated, deserted little place, with million-dollar views over Lake Titicaca, locals fishing and reed-gathering and used nappies strewn around the lakeside area.
There is not a gym and swimming pool at this hotel, despite what you might read elsewhere and the boat "fleet" is a set of water-borne disasters waiting to happen. We wanted two for our trip across the lake, but of the three, only one would start. That was after one of our party put his foot straight through the rotting jetty!
We were worried about eating there, but as there's no choice, we did. The dinner was, in fact, acceptable, but some stomach upsets followed! (difficult to pin down causes for that in Bolivia, but it's a fair bet...).
Breakfast was a very poor buffet.
As a group, we discussed how much it might cost to buy the place and make an acceptable business out of it. It isn't one at present: don't stay here. Go further round the Lake to Copacabana and stay at one of the decent hotels there.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else, unless the fantastic balcony views are more important to you than anything else a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retyree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2013

We only stayed here for one night and that really was enough. The hotel is set on the edge of Lake Titicaca - an idyllic setting but the hotel is VERY tired. Rooms are grubby, beds and pillows are rock hard, bed linen needs renewing and as for the bath towels...... they should have been thrown out years ago. The plumbing was terrible and others in our group who were on the first floor did not have any hot water. The rooms have wonderful views of the lake and the hotel could be so much better - the owners need to spend some money to bring everything up to scratch. There seemed to be only one staff member working at the hotel, he greeted us, served us drinks, dinner and breakfast and was keen to help but he himself needed some help!
Owners - spend some money on your property!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southernpence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

This hotel is located on the shores of Lake Titicaca, and all of the rooms have views of the lake. The style is similar to a Swiss chalet (which could help explain one of the photographs in this entry!) with bits added on at the side.

Our ground-floor room was large, with two double beds, a picture window and a door out onto a large (shared) deck. The fixtures and fittings were a bit tired, but the room was clean and the bed comfortable. And it had a comfortable chair, which I always find a plus.

There isn't, as far as I could tell, anywhere else to eat and drink in Peurto Perez, so the hotel restaurant is your only choice. We didn't find this a hardship, as there was a good choice and the food was nicely presented and cooked. Breakfast choice was OK, but not extensive; omelettes can be freshly made on demand. The hotel also has a small bar.

The hotel was quiet when we visited (I suspect it gets by mainly on tour groups), so there were not many staff there, but those who were there were friendly and helpful - the maids even insisted on carrying our heavy suitcases in and out.

Puerto Perez is very definitely not a tourist town, so it is interesting to walk along the shore and see the people at work, and admire the views across the lake, but there are few visitor attractions. There are, bizarrely, swan-shaped pedal boats on the lake, which can be hired and the hotel can arrange charter trips in larger boats, for a cruise on the lake or a longer trip out to one of the islands.

It isn't a modern-style hotel, and it lacks city-centre facilities, but it offers a decent standard of accommodation in an unusual location. Anywhere else, I would class it as average, but I am giving it a "VG" rating based on the location. I would go back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M1DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

This hotel is totally outdated. we were travelling as part of a group and the rooms smelled damp although the portable radiator tried to help! we only met one member of staff who took orders for food, checked us in and out so service was particularly slow.
yes the view is good but it is all along the shores of lake titikaka so this in itself is not great plus.
the electrics and plumbing in the rooms gives great cause for concern.

Room Tip: dont stay travel on to la paz its only a couple of hours
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Comfortable room with balcony overlooking Lake Titicaca --- absolutely wonderful!! Everything else okay but nothing exceptional. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank InnesDorchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2008

Construction of the hotel wasn't completed. Nice, clean rooms with TV. Beautiful view over the Titicaca lake. Close to center and bus stations. Hot water supply by means of on the spot heater was acceptable, but the way of mounting the electrical equipment wasn't up to western standards. No breakfast yet (breakfast room was still under construction).

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JvB-Ehv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gruberghelga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Hotel Rosario La Paz
#4 of 77 in La Paz
1,109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Castilla
Hotel Castilla
#39 of 55 in La Paz
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camino Real Suites
Camino Real Suites
#2 of 77 in La Paz
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Landscape B&B
Landscape B&B
#20 of 79 in La Paz
142 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Grande Hotel
Casa Grande Hotel
#1 of 77 in La Paz
304 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stannum Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Balsas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Balsas

Address: Plaza Principal, Puerto Perez, La Paz, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 77 Hotels in La Paz
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Las Balsas 4*
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing