We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just O.K”
Review of Hostal Austria

Hostal Austria
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Austria
Ranked #26 of 77 Hotels in La Paz
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just O.K”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the hostel for 3 nights because I was sick and I looked for the chipest (35 bs) hostel I could have find with a kitchen and wifi.
It's a quiet hostel without a fun ambient, far from the center (like 13 minutes but if you are not used to the altitude it's a lot), the kitchen is very small and closes at 21:30 and usually at night the worker do not put (and do not give niether) toilet paper although the day workers are very nice and helpfull.
There allways hot water in the shower and the rooms and the beds are fine.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Itay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    34
    23
    7
    3
See reviews for
2
36
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Austria hostel

A great hostel especially if your looking to get away from the party nights that the rest of the La Paz hostels seem intent on. Location is perfect with it being a 5 minute walk from Plaza San Francisco, Plaza Murillo on the doorstep and plenty off places to eat nearby.

The hostel itself has a kitchen for use, a communal computer and WiFi seemingly throughout the whole hostel, so all this for a private matrimonial room with a bed with in excess of 5 blankets to keep you warm in those cold La Paz nights for 35BOB each is a complete bargain. O and not forgetting possibly the best hot water showers we have had in south America so far!

If you are looking for a no thrills but all need kinda place this will definitely suit you.

Room Tip: We had the room by the kitchen and was a little noisy but nothing to really complain about
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deanlabbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Good mix of travelers, ages and nationalities. Very friendly family-like staff. Kitchen, with blender. 24 hour hot propane gas showers (never an unpleasant shower experience at this hostel). Nice communal area with computer, table, places to sit and chill. Good place to use as a base for going out to party at other hostels and clubs because it's generally quiet if you need to sleep in. The best wifi I've used since Colombia (and that isn't saying much). 35 BOB a night for shared dormitory (2-4 beds) or 70 BOB for a private.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libbish125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is a pretty simple accomodattion, but also with friendly staff and close to the market, were we had our breakfasts.
Definetely recommended if you are looking for low cost options.

We stayed as a couple in a private room with shared bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AninhaTavares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banos, Ecuador
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I found the hotel cold, dirty and the staff unwilling to lift a finger to help. There were cockroaches in the kitchen and the bedding not sufficient to deal with the La Paz nights. They also made me pay a much higher price then previously agreed upon and basically kicked me out!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Paz hotels

Cairns
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We paid 70 Bolivianos per night total for a double room with shared bathroom at Hostal Austria. Speaking to friends also staying in La Paz it was apparent that they were paying over twice this price for a double room elsewhere.

We were very happy with our stay. The place is well set up with fast Wifi, a communal computer, laundry service 10Bs/kg, well equipped kitchen, hot water showers all day (my favorite part by far) and plenty of showers/toilets to go around. It's certainly not a party hostel but has a nice communal area to meet new people. The place was packed the whole time we were there, which is always a good sign!

It is also very close to the city centre, walkable distance to most places (we even walked to the bus station when we left).

The workers are two older gentlemen who always greeted us with a smile and we found them to be very helpful, well-organised and friendly.

Our first mattress was not the most comfortable, but the bed was warm and clean. When we returned we stayed in another room where the mattress was much better.

The price was definitely right! We can highly highly recommend this hostel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KMarion1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here in October last year after a trip to Rurrenabaque. We'd already stayed in La Paz beforehand and did the party thing so were looking for somewhere cheap and quiet where we could cook for ourselves.

If you're on a tight budget then this place is great. The rooms are very basic and the showers either seemed to be freezing cold or boiling hot but occasionally they'd be the perfect temperature. The kitchen is well stocked and the staff are helpful. Wifi here is very fast and they have a computer that guests can use for free.

Our beds weren't very comfortable so make sure you ask to see the room and test the bed beforehand! Location was great, just a five minute walk to the market and Plaza San Francisco.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#67 of 77 in La Paz
18 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Maya
Hostal Maya
#47 of 77 in La Paz
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sagarnaga
Hotel Sagarnaga
#16 of 77 in La Paz
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Golden Palace
Golden Palace
#24 of 77 in La Paz
89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cordillera Real
Hotel Cordillera Real
#23 of 77 in La Paz
78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Republica
Hostal Republica
#62 of 77 in La Paz
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Austria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Austria

Property: Hostal Austria
Address: Yanacocha 531, La Paz, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 77 Hotels in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Austria is an economic, clean and comfortable place to stay. It has a good location in La Paz downtown, and it is free of noise and bustle ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Austria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing