We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very noisy hostel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Torino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Paz
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Torino
Ranked #58 of 76 Hotels in La Paz
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very noisy hostel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Location is very good, room was okay but very dark. The problem is, that the hotel surrounds a restaurant which is at the evening often rented as a party location. Due to this it was incredibly loud two nights in a row. If you go there ask whether the party location is booked or not. Rooms behind the reception may be quieter.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    15
    32
    15
    12
See reviews for
9
19
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

I arrived to La Paz LATER than we planned due to longer than expected bus ride. I came to the center of the town and just ended up staying here. I paid 140 Bs for double room. Service was great and the room with private bathroom was acceptable. No breakfast included. Also, the "hot water" was lukewarm at best.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPark0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

I'm surprised at the amount of bad reviews here, we didn't find it quite so bad. We had 3 different rooms here during our stay due to changes in our situation. Before we booked our rooms however (we didn't pre-book) we were given a choice of which floor to stay on. Having viewed rooms on the 2nd floor (I think) we decided to go up the extra flight of stairs to the top floor where the rooms were much nicer. They were clean and bright though we were amused at the '101 Dalmation' bedsheets in one of the rooms. So yes, the decor and bedding could do with an update though this did not overly concern us as we found the rooms in general to be quite pleasant and comfortable. I have only given an average rating though due to the showers which were shocking, quite literally, in that when you turn the metal faucet you would get a little shock! I kid you not! This happened in all three rooms that we stayed in. Aside from this the staff were nice enough though not overly welcoming. We loved the location, it's right next door to the National Art Gallery and Plaza de Murillo. Also, there is a little internet cafe attached with cheap and reasonably quick internet. The price was great and I would recommend this to anyone on a budget.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor they are brighter and generally nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

If you're staying in La Paz for a night or two, then this might suffice. The location is ok, and the value-for-money is par for the course. I'm not an especially big fan of La Paz anyway, but the rooms are pretty basic, and breakfast isn't included.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesSteerforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

A shocking hostal in the center of the somewhat gentrified downtown area of La Paz. The surrounding bars, restaurants, and shopping area would have you think that Hostal Torino is more or less rather acceptable in terms of hygiene, reasonable amenities and infrastructure. But the Hostal Torino is really shocking. The wooden tiles of the floor of my room were literally falling apart, and scattered all around the floor, the bathroom is unclean, and the walls, windows, and bedclothes all of the filthy or untidy character. What a shockingly squalid hotel. It feels more like a flophouse or a fleabag establishment. Hostal Torino is a misnomer. It does not deserve to be called a hostal or hotel. It should be calssified a slum, or a ghetto. And the reception people had a stony hostile stare which made my stay there even more horrible than it already was.......It must be one of the most shocking hostales or hotels in Bolivia...or S. America.......

Room Tip: Avoid this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pete j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Paz hotels

Overslag
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed here 1 night because all other places in the neighbourhood where to expensive or booked. It is like sleeping as a priest or non. Tiny rooms with a bed and a table. A small bathroom at the end of the hallway with not a lot of toilets/showers for a lot of people.
I arrived late and the next day I was away for the death road the whole day, and when I got back I went to another place. Just go here if you need a bed but don't expect more then that.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

We only stayed here one night because Loki lost our booking, and they suggested staying here. After climbing what felt like 50 flights of creaky steps, and our heads felt like exploding, we found a room from the 1940's and the bed was probably older, and was shaped like a banana,my back was destroyed! The staf were friendly and helpful, no wifi, no Internet and very cold, but hot showers! Like I said above emergency use only, try hotel Majestic on Santa Cruz, closer nicer and the same price with more amenities.

Room Tip: Turn around and walk out the door
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CBC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.0 mi away
Hostal Republica
Hostal Republica
#61 of 76 in La Paz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Avenida
Hotel Avenida
#60 of 76 in La Paz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sagarnaga
Hotel Sagarnaga
#16 of 76 in La Paz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostal Austria
Hostal Austria
#28 of 76 in La Paz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gloria La Paz
Hotel Gloria La Paz
#23 of 76 in La Paz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fuentes
Hotel Fuentes
#63 of 76 in La Paz
3.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Torino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Torino

Property: Hostal Torino
Address: Socabaya 457, La Paz, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 76 Hotels in La Paz
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Hostal Torino Hotel La Paz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing