We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price”
Review of Hotel La Joya

Hotel La Joya
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel La Joya
Ranked #41 of 78 Hotels in La Paz
Reviewed 2 August 2013

They picked me and my party up from the airport for a very fair price. The staff were very friendly on arrival but were not sure of the room formations we wanted as a group of 15. The staff speak basic english which makes life easier. The hotel was quite cold as we went during Bolivian winter and the showers are very temperamental, don't expect a hot shower. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfy, the bathrooms were clean also although they do not provide toilet paper, although i believe if you asked they would give it to you.
The breakfast was good but the same every single morning. When you are there for a month on and off its safe to say it can get tedious. They very nicely recommended a hotel to stay in in Copacobana, lake titicaca and kindly booked it for us as they knew our spanish was not exactly perfect. Its handy that they have internet facilities in the hotel although safe to say that was a little temperamental as well.
Overall a good hotel for the price you're paying

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Joya
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

We went to this hotel having read about it in Lonely Planet. On arrival, the staff were unaware of our booking, and we were eventually taken to a room where they were still in the process of cleaning it and changing the bed sheets. The 'double' bed was particularly small, approx a 4 foot job. The bathroom rarely had hot water. The roof has great views of La Paz and the location, particularly for the surrounding markets, is great, and quite untouristy. When we asked about the rate, we were given different ones by every member of staff - this is definitley negotiable. Additionally, when asking female staff to order taxis, they went out into the street and pay the taxi driver around B/5 and then charge you B/25, pocketing B/20 for themselves. We returned to La Paz twice in the following month and stayed elsewhere both times in much better places.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo_Spreagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

face it, the worst thing about this hotel is the neighbourhood. The strees around the hotel are crowded like nothing you've ever seen, traffic jam 24/7, markets going on day after day. But when you enter the hotel that's all behind you. Hot showers 24/7, nice spacy rooms, decent prices, standard breakfast. The dining room on the top floor is just georgeous, since we were the only guests we had it all to ourselves. It had a bit of an Overlook-hotel feel to it, but that was half the charm, and most of the staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: As high as you can get!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bart w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Tired of party hostels and cold showers, I needed a good night sleep and La Joya was the right place. Friendly personnel, definitely feels safe, warm and very quiet rooms, hot water all day long in the shower and on the tap. Breakfast is included and they specify that the juices have no water added and the tea water has been boiled. For a few bucks more than a hostel, I was finally able to enjoy the city. Location is good in the north area of the city near all the markets. Only 2 critiques: they don't clean the room every day, and the pick up service from the bus station is of course a guy who meets you there and then takes a taxi with you. -- take the taxi yurself instead.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alieno60878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Comfortable, wide room, decent bathroom good and powerful shower. Right in the middle of a nice, busy and chaotic streetmarket. Looks well located in the map, but getting there implies to walk uphill for many blocks. Wifi access does not exist. Breakfast is utterly dissapointing... Cold bread, marguerine and poor quality jam.

Room Tip: Not facing the street, as the market is really noisy.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anitacometa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

when i arrived to la paz i found hotel la joya...like one of the most beautiful opcion been in bolvia...i recomend to go there is a nice place and they have beautiful people...

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magnus_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2008

I travelled to Bolivia on an expedition with a total of 13 people. We arrived in La Paz and after embarking on 4 flights to get there, we were all very shattered and looking forward to a warm cosy bed and some sleep. The Hotel La Joya provided this and we were most grateful for it. As there was a relatively large number of us, we were glad to have somewhere where we could all stay in a great location.
The internet cafe next door meant family and friends could be contacted easily and this was welcomed by many people in our group. The hotel had a number of floors and breakfast was served on the top floor with a fantastic view over the city and onto the surrounding mountain ranges. Although the communal bathrooms could have been in better condition, the beds were comfortable, the water in the showers hot and the triple rooms spacious enough for 3 girls and their ridiculous sized backpacks....!
We enjoyed the service and the friendliness of the staff there so much that as we ventured out to explore other sights of Bolivia, we returned to La Paz 5 times and on each occassion we returned to the Hotel La Joya for accommodation.
I'm sure if you were travelling to La Paz on a holiday or with a small group , there would be slightly better places to stay. However for 13 people on a relatively tight budget the Hotel La Joya provided a perfectly good home away from home in the hustle and bustle of the city.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sagarnaga
Hotel Sagarnaga
#17 of 78 in La Paz
396 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Milton
Hotel Milton
#29 of 78 in La Paz
140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Palace
Golden Palace
#23 of 78 in La Paz
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hostal Maya
Hostal Maya
#46 of 78 in La Paz
72 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Fuentes
Hotel Fuentes
#61 of 78 in La Paz
117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cordillera Real
Hotel Cordillera Real
#27 of 78 in La Paz
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Joya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Joya

Address: Max Paredes 541, La Paz, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 78 Hotels in La Paz
Price Range: £13 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Joya 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel La Joya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing