We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice place, great service”
Review of Hotel Calacoto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Calacoto
Ranked #17 of 77 Hotels in La Paz
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We are a family of 5 people, and we stayed 2 nights. We enjoyed it very much: rooms are clean and comfortable and there is a typical patio in wich you can easily relax. Breakfast is extremely rich and various. It's located in the lowest part of the city, and this is very helpful when you arrive in bolivia for the first time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FilippoM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2013

This hotel is in the south of La Paz, very good location. The rooms are clean. Breakfast buffet almost like 4 or 5 star!

From this hotel you can do several day trips to interesting places. Good and helpful service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinzoller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

The hotel Calacoto has probably been a very good hotel many years ago. As it is now, it is a 3 stars hotel. It has 3 stars price, 3 stars accomodation and 3 stars breakfast. People at the reception are friendly. The location is very good. It is not in the center of the city but in a nice neighborhood called Calacoto, near to San Miguel. Many embassies are around this area. There is also a very good brasilian restaurant called Paladar at walking distance ( about 25 minutes walking) from the hotel. A taxi from and to the airport costs Bolivianos 70 (about 10 dollars) each way. A taxi to the city center costs Bs. 20 ( less than 3 dollars) one way.
It is recommended that you ask at the travel agency at the hotel, how to take the HO HO bus. They can arrange that for you. You take the HO HO bus from Plaza Isabel La Catolica. The taxi fare from hotel is Bs. 18 one way. It takes about 20 minutesto get there. It is better if you give some more time for the drive because you could encounter traffic.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank travelBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for one week and we really liked the fact that it was very close to shops and restaurants (short walking distance) in a very safe and quiet neighborhood. The staff was very friendly and accommodated us when we arrived early (at 6am) by allowing us to check in early. They were also very helpful when we needed to extend our stay. Our room had a little kitchenette which was very useful for brewing several cups of coca tea for our altitude sickness. We had a great view of the mountains and lots of sun during the day and just outside the room was a beautiful courtyard with seats to sit down and relax. My daughter loved the garden and the playground. The room rate includes free breakfast buffet which we found to be quite good. Even my picky eater found something to eat! We had a chance to have lunch and dinner at the hotel several times and we found both the food and the service to be very good. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna-C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I stayed in this hotel twice on my month long trip to Bolivia. Perhaps because my second stay was multi-night, I ended up with a room in the older part of the hotel, which was nicer; there is a lovely interior courtyard. The rooms are not decorated with any art, but I had a great view from that room of the mountains surrounding the south end of La Paz. I strongly recommended the neighbourhood, as it was safe to walk in, even at night, for a single woman. it is also close to some excellent restaurants, as Zona Sur is the fancy/affluent neighbourhood, which provided me with comfort as I had come from parts of Bolivia where theft was a real concern. I had really great meals at Camino Real (a 5 star just down the street) and Casa Nostra (an Italian place that is even closer); the restaurant at the hotel was very slow in the evenings, although service was prompt at breakfast, where there was a broad variety of food on the buffet. Staff were very helpful although on Sunday nights the manager did not speak any English (which was disconcerting for me, as the police were on strike that weekend and I was a bit frazzled with concern about getting safely to the airport the next morning; I was travelling alone....). I recommend Zona Sur and this hotel as an oasis away from the hustle and rushing of la Paz. if you can afford Camino Real in Zona Sur, go there and spoil yourself. Also stayed in Camino Real in the main part of La Paz...it was nice too although higher altitude and so, a bit cooler. I don't recommend you drink the water at this hotel (nor do they, but I did, by accident) or the water in the cooler in the restaurant...just get bottled water at the grocery store down the street. I ended up getting a bug from some water or food somewhere, and spent a lot of time watching HBO movies on TV at Hotel Calacoto...which was comforting as well.

Room Tip: try to get a room in the older part of the hotel, rather than the annex. it's closer and has mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I stayed here on the 4th of July this year and it's wonderful place to stay in the heart of the Calacoto district in La Paz.
The grounds are lovely and the support staff is extremely friendly. The rooms were spartan (not a mirror or piece of art to be found, except the bathroom mirror) but spacious and the bathroom was very modern and well appointed with a great glassed in shower.
A buffet breakfast is provided in a gracious restaurant setting, and the choices were plentiful and delicious. Loved the smooth Bolivian coffee, fresh fruit juices (including watermelon), delicious pastries, eggs, meats (hot and cold), cheeses, and made-to-order crepes.
There is a main building and 2 annexes, but it is a small property with lovely, short strolls to your rooms. . . with a minimum of stairs, which is key at this high altitude!
Free computer terminals as well as Wi-Fi in the lobby made staying in touch with friends and business back in the States very easy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shawncago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Our group of 6 (2 rooms) had a great experience at Hotel Calacoto! It would probably be considered a 3-star hotel in the U.S., but we only paid $30 per person per night - a great value. It does have a "boutique-hotel-feel" as it is spread out into several buildings around a lovely courtyard. The included free breakfast buffet was quite a spread with a great variety of meats, cheeses, breads, fruits, juices, cereal, etc. Our room for 4, while not extravagant, was plenty spacious and had a mini-refrigerator. Not much of a work space though, if you were a business traveler. While the hotel is a bit of a haul from the airport (probably 30-40 minutes by taxi, 10-15 minutes south of main downtown), the neighborhood is quite lovely and felt very safe (also at one of the lower elevations in La Paz!) There is also a large modern shopping center and supermarket just a couple of blocks away. The reception desk folk spoke English quite well and helped make our 3-night stay here very pleasant. If we return to La Paz some day, we will definitely stay at Hotel Calacoto again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EagleEyes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
4.8 mi away
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Hotel Rosario La Paz
#4 of 77 in La Paz
1,127 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel LP Columbus
Hotel LP Columbus
#23 of 77 in La Paz
262 reviews
4.5 mi away
La Casona Hotel-Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Camino Real Suites
Camino Real Suites
#2 of 77 in La Paz
413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Grande Suites
Casa Grande Suites
#9 of 77 in La Paz
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Grande Hotel
Casa Grande Hotel
#1 of 77 in La Paz
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Calacoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Calacoto

Address: Calacoto, Calle 13 Esq. Av. Sanchez Bustamante N0 8009, La Paz 0, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 77 Hotels in La Paz
Price Range: £58 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Calacoto 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our main goal is to become the most complete hotel and center of events and conventions of the Southern District of the city of La Paz, offering unique and high quality facilities and services in each of the branches of our activity. We seek to offer quality services with warmth, assuring that our clients not only should be well served, but also feel valued. We are a unique place, where we have an careful eye for details, cleanliness, as well as the safety of our guests and their belongings. We maintain the friendly and informal treatment of our guests and provide spaces for the satisfaction of their different needs, from a good nights sleep, to a tasty meal and innovative top quality complementary services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Calacoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing