We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party and Relaxtion, perfectly balanced.”
Review of LOKI La Paz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LOKI La Paz
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Party and Relaxtion, perfectly balanced.”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I loved my stay here, It really throws a great party (every night) but you dont notice the party in your dorm as they have a heavy door on the bar and there is also another glass barrier making the sleeping area the "quiet zone". The staff were very helpfull and the food was great and cheap. Lots of cleaning staff so I found the place clean every morning) even after a big party.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Headismaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luislandatrips, Manager at LOKI La Paz, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Hey Headismaximus

We really appreciate your review. We do our best to ensure a good night of sleep and keep the place clean so we are happy to hear you had good relaxing time and found everything to be clean. Would you have any suggestions, they are very welcome!

Make sure to come back soon!

-Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    400
    163
    56
    48
See reviews for
18
198
272
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights in a shared female dorm. The staff are friendly and helpful and the hostel is cheap (think we paid about 9 US per night). Clean bathrooms - there are an army of cleaners who do an excellent job and there are themed parties in the hostel bar most nights (including tattoos on the table if youre into that). Computer room is located downstairs and has 4 computers - when we were staying there it was busy and there was a constant 3 or 4 person queue for these. The computers were also breaking frequently which was a bit of a pain, but would still recommend the hostel.

Room Tip: If youre a non partier and like a good sleep, definitely get a room to yourself or a smaller dorm as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsno6032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luislandatrips, Manager at LOKI La Paz, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Hey lsno6032,

Thanks for the review, we will make sure to fix the problems with the computers! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will be back soon!

We guarantee the computers will be fixed by the time you return!

-Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Not the place to be if you want a traditional bolivian experience but we had been travelling for a while and needed some home comforts.
The location is excellent and the rooms were very clean (big beds!). The breakfast was basic but good and the entertainment was top notch.
Highly recommend this if you are travelling with friends or as a group.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoohBear90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luislandatrips, Manager at LOKI La Paz, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Hey PoohBear90,

Thank you for your review, it always pleases us when a costumer leaves very satisfied! We are more than happy to pamper you when you need home comforts!!!

Make sure to come back soon and bring all your friends with you

-Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I have stayed at Loki in mancorra which was absolutely rocking and had no complaints but in la Paz I found the bar wasnt as exciting at all - the bar staff (who in mancorra absolutely gave us the best time and we became good mates with) were slow, not so friendly and never cleaned up - there was constantly dirty dishes piling up around us which was gross ... Also I know it's a party hostel but was annoyed to be woken up by people shouting outside our room at 6am.. In an area that was supposed to be a quiet zone... Definitely not the best Loki I've been to

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniptaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I planned to stay here 3-4 days but ended up staying 16 through a combination hangover fuelled missed busses, catching up with friends from previous travels and just wanting to stick around. Great party hostel but big enough to get your peace and quiet too. The building is a glorious old town house. Pool table, beer pong, live music, dancing on the bar, blood bombs, Micky Kemp, head shaving, BBQ's on the roof, death road. Loki, Loki, Loki.

Best of the Lokis, best of the hostels!

I think I lost three years from my life expectancy here but it was well worth it.

Room Tip: Bigger the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrideInService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luislandatrips, Manager at LOKI La Paz, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Hey lordofthebenjamins,

Your review warms our heart, thank you, we are very happy you had a blast here! And we can assure you it will only get better with the upcoming expansion!

Make sure to be back for it! We are certain you will love it! Perhaps even stay longer!

-Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The atmosphere at Loki La Paz is ideal. It is a huge hostel with a roof terrace, bar, TV room and plenty of rooms.The bar is great, with a party every night and the staff serve some serious drinks. We stayed in a 10 bed dorm which was spacious and the beds are really comfy. The shared bathrooms are usually very clean and the hot showers are great. There is free tea and coffee all day but the breakfasts are just bread a jam (a theme throughout Bolivia). The staff were friendly, offer lots of things to do in La Paz, and it was a really cheap place to stay. You might need a break after a few nights though!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luislandatrips, Manager at LOKI La Paz, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Hey Jess!

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your time here! Thanks for the review, we do our best to provide a good atmosphere so we are glad you noticed!

We will be expanding to a new place where it will be a lot easier to catch a break if you need one! Make sure to come back and check it out.

-Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State of Rio Grande do Sul
Level Contributor
86 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Loki was one of the best hostels I've ever stayed. Incredibly cheap, with reasonably good rooms (the one I stayed was five beds with bathroom, couldn't ask for more) and EXCELLENT atmosphere. Really, the common areas are very cosy, they serve good food for a very good price, and the staff is amazing. We spent new years's eve there, and it was certainly one of the best!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luislandatrips, Manager at LOKI La Paz, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Hey Arthur

We really appreciate your feedback! We are extremely happy to hear you liked our new years party as we tried our best to make a big night!

Know that you are welcome back anytime and things will only get better from now on! Hope to see you soon mate

-Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Paz hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rosario La Paz
Hotel Rosario La Paz
#4 of 76 in La Paz
1,058 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sagarnaga
Hotel Sagarnaga
#16 of 76 in La Paz
376 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stannum Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Casona Hotel-Boutique
0.6 mi away
Wild Rover Hostels
Wild Rover Hostels
#2 of 76 in La Paz
656 reviews
1.1 mi away
3600 Hostel
3600 Hostel
#6 of 76 in La Paz
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LOKI La Paz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LOKI La Paz

Property: LOKI La Paz
Address: Las Americas # 120 | Plaza Alonso de Mendoza, La Paz, Bolivia
Region: Bolivia > La Paz Department > La Paz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 76 Speciality Lodging in La Paz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — LOKI La Paz 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The third edition to the Loki family is in a modern hotel in the heart of the city. Eight stories high, with the best view of La Paz, brief walk from all the city attractions, all of this makes this Loki the perfect spot to experience the highest capital in the world. Private bathrooms in every room, warm, large beds with real duvets and custom made mattresses for your comfort. Hot gas powered showers. Sociable and Friendly staff both local and travellers who will be happy to help you. A fantastic bar with an extensive food and alcohol menu. Breakfast starts at 7am and you can still order anything from the breakfast menu up to 4pm! The wonderfully late checkout time of 1pm so that you can have that lie in that you deserve. Lockers in most dorms and lockers with electrical plugs in reception so you can safely charge your cellphone. Common areas such as a free Internet room, TV room, ping pong table, gym and of course the Bar. Major sport events shown live when possible otherwise streamed at request. No curfew. So come join the Loki crew in The Highest Capital of the World! Why stay in a Loki? -Location - In a safe neighborhood with all necessary amenities close by, a brief walk from all the city attractions. Each location has been carefully picked to fit each town vibe, history, attractions and views. -Clean and Fresh Rooms - Warm, fully made up large beds and cozy warm bedding. -Security - 24hrs door security, lockers in the rooms and small lockers in reception -Staff - Sociable and Friendly staff both local and travellers who will be happy to help you. -Atmosphere - Fun, relaxed and secure travellers hangout -Bar - The best view of La Paz, an extensive and exquisite menu for food and drinks. -Common areas - Something for everyone - TV/DVD room, comfortable chill out areas with free Internet, pool table, gym, ping pong tables all with an amazing view!. -Events - Daily events, both during the day and night. -Character - Modern, bold and above all stunning building with the best atmosphere. -Bathrooms - Private bathrooms in EVERY room. -Tours and Activities - Take this opportunity to speak with our travel desk or reception staff to find out the most up to date information, book the tour directly from the hostel. -The small important things - The wonderfully late checkout time of 1pm, 7am-1pm breakfast, No curfew, the view! -Us - Owned and managed by travellers just like you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your LOKI La Paz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing