We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value hotel”
Review of Hotel Casa Paulina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa Paulina
Ranked #139 of 267 Hotels in Bogota
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value hotel”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Very friendly staff and good location. Close to transportation. Hotel is very clean and the beds are very comfortable. I would highly recommend. About a 10 minute taxi ride from the airport. I don't speak Spanish they call someone ( I think the owner) to translate at 5 am.

Room Tip: No smoking hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeSBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    66
    22
    3
    4
See reviews for
20
47
55
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Casa Paulina. Owner Doris and her employees - Manuel in particular - took extra time to tell us where to go in Bogota, provide safety tips, etc. We felt that they were genuinely concerned about us and our experience. The room was clean and nice. It was evident that they take pride in their work and their hotel. We enjoyed the neighborhood as well. There are a lot of restaurants and bars within walking distance, and tourist attractions are a quick bus or taxi ride away. The only drawback was noise from the street, but smart travelers should always carry ear plugs. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed for three nights. The first night was ok, but the second night just could not sleep. I even had a back room. The honking and sounds of cars came into the room until early morning. The cleaning ladies then started early and began really banging things, slamming doors, and talking really loud. If you do not mind noise the hotel is very clean. I talked to the owner by phone and she let me transfer to her other hotel and even paid the cab fare which was really kind.

If you are alone you really do not need a pick up at the airport. There is a small bus that has 63 written on it...in the space on the windshield where it shows destinations. This will take you straight to the hotel! It costs about one dollar. There is a small problem getting on the bus because this bus will require a special card. It is one of the smaller buses which are usually a blue or green colr. So if you ask someone they will let you have a bus ride on their card, and then you can give them 2000 pesos which is about a dollar.
Do this if you arrive in the day time. The night is kind of iffy in the area around the hotel, so be careful.

Room Tip: It is a roll of the dice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Hotel was run by a pleasant staff that makes you feel very welcome.
Facility is safe, and the rooms are well kept. Hot water was nice!
Not in the best part of town, but I´d stay here again upon returning to Bogota.






Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Diego G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The staff is really kind. Loved them. In fact, i just decided to post because they were very nice and helped a lot. It´s not a expensive place. The room is small, but clean. Great choice if you going to stay one or two days in Bogota.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcelo_pacote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This review is long dew but it would be a sin not to thank such wonderful hospitality. LIke many others visiting Bogota, i was skeptical about hotels and since I was not looking for hostel type accommodation or expensive hotels in Parque 93 area, i chose Casa Paulina based on tripadvisor reviews. I stayed there for almost 1.5 months !! And was offered great care and made to feel at home, even though I did not pay all the money upfront and barely spoke Spanish.

Some key merits -
1. Airport pickup - Dorris arragend for airport pick up beforehand via email and even though because of a small misunderstanding I took a taxi on my own to the hotel. She did not penalize me or ask for money for sending the other cab to pick me up,

2. Cleanliness - Every day the hotel maids would politely come and knock the door and even put up with my schedule ( i would be on calls for business etc) and they would come later to work . They did a spotless job and NEVER expected any tips etc., though i ended tip them at the end of my stay.

3. Helper guy - I wish i could recall his name , he comes to work on bicycle and does all house keeping errands. This cheerful guy was so helpful that he went out of his way to help me get a gym membership at a gym next door (he helped me translate). believe me no 5 star hotel has such staff. Again no expectation of reward, sheer goodwill.

4. Dorris and Paulina - They would go great length, even use google translate service to understand what I was asking for -- whether it was salsa class, the number of days i was saying etc..anything.

5. Laundry service - they would be willing to wash my clothes in the hotel laundry at short notice. again very handy

6. Taxi - Every time I stepped out to catch a taxi, the hotel staff would take down the taxi number, as a precaution in case am missing or kidnapped. Who does that these days ? Once i was way too late to come back to the hotel, the next day Dorris got worried and like a guardian she asked me if I was ok and everything is fine.

All in all, wonderful hospitality and personal care, affordable and clean. Given all this I kept extending my stay by a week 5 times !! So what if the rooms are small, the walls a little thin or there is no cafeteria in the hotel.

Thanks
Veer
Boston, USA

Room Tip: Choose the rooms that are not facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VeerPande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

This hotel subscribes to the theory that if you are a solo traveler, you do not deserve be be accorded the respect of a full human being. Rather, treated like a sack of potatoes, I was put in a ground floor room which was both dark and EXTREMELY noisy. I was nicely situated between reception, a kitchen, the maid's cleaning / washing room, and the room of a staff member with an awful shrieking / whining / crying child. Therefore all day and night every day and night I was subjected to loud and never ending conversations between staff members that I could hear word for word, and was disturbed constantly by the horrid child.
I will never ever understand how hotel owners can provide such an environment for guests and expect them to do anything but suffer through the ordeal.
I would not wish this place on an enemy. Oh, and the "shuttle" they claim to be able to provide to the airport is more expensive than taking a taxi.

Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
12 Thank AJSardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Hotel Ferrovial
#182 of 267 in Bogota
26 reviews
Hotel Casa Sarita
#169 of 267 in Bogota
27 reviews
Hotel Siar
#231 of 267 in Bogota
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Usaquén
Charlies Place Hotel
Charlies Place Hotel
#71 of 267 in Bogota
288 reviews
Hotel Olimpo Resort
#163 of 267 in Bogota
42 reviews
Chapinero
Hotel Vilar America
Hotel Vilar America
#39 of 267 in Bogota
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Paulina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Paulina

Property: Hotel Casa Paulina
Address: Calle 63 #17-18 | Calle 63 # 17-18, Bogota 4665684, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 267 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Paulina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Casa Paulina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing