We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern decor and great authentic tastes”
Review of Restaurante Rafael

Restaurante Rafael
Ranked #10 of 2,535 Restaurants in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$75
Cuisines: Peruvian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Modern decor and great authentic tastes”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I was invited by friends, because they know I prefer sea food and veg dishes to meat. I was not disappointed. The ceviche was the best I have tasted and it was a good sized portion (three people enjoyed it!). The seafood dishes were well prepared and used innovative mixtures of ingredients -sea bass and lentils for example. On the expensive side but well worth it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pagoda2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    170
    40
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious food and local Atmosphere”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were a party of four and had a reservation. Considered a Peruvian style restaurant, we found it more asian fusion. We tried several appetisers which were all good. The entres were all good except some said that the fish which was cooked in a pot was poached and really had no flavor.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Will D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“No question...Rafael is the place to eat in Bogota!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I've been to Rafael paces in Lima and I was impressed by the food and style.

I won't add an extensive report but here are my ratings:

Food quality: Out standing
Price: Very reasonable
Attention: Professional and way attentive to details
Decoration: Fancy and elegant
Presentation: Each plate is simple and yet enticing to the eye

My overall assessment is that miss this place...you'll be delighted at Rafael!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fernando G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Worth what it costs , and not so expensive”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We really had a pleasant experience at Rafael.
We booked via phone , probably with somebody who was not in charge but took down our data and had us called back to reconfirm.
We gave notice we would be late due to heavy traffic in Bogota and that was not an issue .
We were nicely welcomed on arrival and asked whether we liked the table booked for us .
The appreciated to be inside as the temperature on the roofed terrace was slightly cold despite the gas heaters .
The drinks and the food were excellent . Both when choosing in the Peruvian tradition ( Pisco Sour , Ceviche , tacu tacu ..) or when exploring other origins such as Brazil ( caipirinha ) or a Thai curry.
Last but not least the declaration without being sensational is warm and soft to the eyes .
We recommend

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LePapito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This place was delicious. If you like fish you must try it. The presentation and the quality of the food amazing. The service was great as well.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LanaCMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Rafael also viewed

Bogota, Colombia
Bogota, Colombia
 
Bogota, Colombia
Bogota, Colombia
 

Been to Restaurante Rafael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing