We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cranky Croc Hostel
Ranked #11 of 242 Speciality Lodging in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Changwon, South Korea
Level Contributor
71 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple nights. The beds were decent and the room was roomy. The location is fantastic. The bathrooms and showers were always clean. I think the only negative was that the staff were just going through the motions, never really eager to help you out.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank snailbait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    96
    26
    14
    11
See reviews for
3
67
116
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taumarunui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

A hostel in the heart of it, staff and owner well versed with all thats happening and only to keen to help you out, being a small hostel enhanced my stay, easier to get to know others, never waiting to long for food , highlight would have to be the bus trip out to some god forsaken place to one of the largest night clubs I have ever been in

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

In preparing for my arrival to Bogota, I did my research of where to stay. The Cranky Croc seemed reasonable from what I read in my guide book and on tripadvisor. The staff were very friendly in email and offered me a pickup from the airport. Jose was very friendly, and patient as he waited 40 mins for me to come through.

When I arrived the staff were friendly. However, my dorm bed was way in the back, in a closet of a room, with no window. The bed was unmade from the previous guest and the room smelled.

After the fact, I learned that taking a taxi is much cheaper from the bus station or airport to La Candelaria than a pickup for 40,000 cop. And its safe to if you do so from the line and get a ticket.

I've no doubt this hostel works for some, and aspects of it are good. It didn't work for me. And I left immediately.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvrcanadian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Excellent location, extremely helpful staff (good English for those that need it), well priced, clean and with a good atmosphere. A great base to explore Bogota, easy to get to the main attractions and plenty of bars and restaurants on the doorstep too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Secure hostel centrally located, friendly staff but take care at night in surrounding area and with taxis (like any major city) Clean dorms and very relaxed chilled vibe In the hostel felt really at home here

We stayed 9 days doing a Spanish language course with Learn More Than Spanish (who were excellent by the way) and it was quiet mid week but much busier at weekends so may need to book ahead. Did the "party bus" to chia one night, was ok (expensive) would not do again had much more fun in central Bogota salsa bars with local crowd and of you want a big club night there are much better options closer by

Room Tip: Dorm beds are very comfy
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SPL1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Cranky Croc is the perfect hostel for the typical backpacker. Located in La Candelaria, so you're close to lots of museums, the monserrate lookout and some cool bars/cafes. The kitchen is modern and clean, as are the bathrooms.. best showers I've had in 5 months travelling! Bogota gets cold at night but with the best bed quilts I've seen travelling, you're sure to be warm. Beware: getting up in the mornings can prove to be difficult. There's a little restaurant, nothing fancy but if you find you don't want to venture out for breakfast or dinner they have the basics. The staff are lovely and helpful and there's a common area just past reception where you can mingle with fellow travellers. Although its not a party hostel, given there's no bar, they do sell bottles of beer to start your night off. Definitely recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbugfromaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I love this place. The staff is fantastic. The location is unbeatable. The people who stay here are friendly and open. It's a great place if traveling alone or in a small group to meet others, find things to do, and generally have a great time.

They're doing some renovations currently, so the place is getting even nicer. The water is hot. Well priced. There's food on sight which is good, but also great restaurants all around. They've thought through everything. Lockers in every room so you don't have to worry about your things if you're sharing with strangers (bring a luggage lock, or they sell them). Outlets inside the lockers so you can charge your electronics while they're locked up and you're out exploring. Comfortable beds. Can't say enough good things about this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cameronbreslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Hotel Casa Deco
#13 of 268 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
La Candelaria
Masaya Hostel Bogota
Masaya Hostel Bogota
#1 of 242 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
La Candelaria
Casa Bellavista Hostel
Casa Bellavista Hostel
#9 of 242 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Candelaria
Explora Hostels
Explora Hostels
#3 of 242 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
La Candelaria
Fernweh Photography Hostel
12:12 Hostels
#13 of 242 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cranky Croc Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cranky Croc Hostel

Property: The Cranky Croc Hostel
Address: Calle 12d No. 3-46 | La Candelaria, Bogota 250055, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bogota
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 242 Speciality Lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Cranky Croc Hotel Bogota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing