We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Federico-Amparo-Ricardo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ChapiNorte B & B

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bogota
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
ChapiNorte B & B
Ranked #150 of 240 Speciality Lodging in Bogota
West Palm Beach
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Federico-Amparo-Ricardo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Often when you travel you are looking for cleaness, comfort , conviniance and price. I feel that Antonio has acomplished all this things very well. Where I feel he sets himself apart is for the friendly atmosphere and willingness to help; he guides you so you can maximize your traveling experience. Very clean and comfortable; centraly located to the part of the city that has lots of things to offer. Antonio will help you with transpotation if you like to adventure into the towns near by, expanding the possibilities.Great acomodation for couples, friends, or to travel alone.
Wi-Fi it's available if you need to reach search or get in touch with family and friends.
I highly recomment Antonio's place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Federico N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    12
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
2
10
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogotá, Cundinamarca, Colombia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Extremely clean and friendly. The owner Antonio and his colleagues are extremely friendly and willing to explain anything you need to know about Bogota. Very close to fancy shopping malls, the Zona T nightlife area, and the Transmilenio bus system, which takes you to the Historical District in about 20 minutes. There are plenty of markets and restaurants in the area, and I felt extremely safe walking around in the evening. It is a tad noisy at night, but Bogota in general is a noisy city - if you want to be close to interesting sights and a great nightlife, you have to deal with a bit of noise.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We started our Colombian vacation in Bogota and were happy we stayed with Antonio at Chapinorte. We rented the 3-bed room with private bath, it was a little tight but that is to be expected when in a hostel-style B&B. The beds were clean and pretty comfy, plenty of room for our luggage, etc. The bathroom was clean too. The only real complaints with the room was the water temperature. I had 1 scalding hot shower in the three days we were there but the rest were frigid. Also heard some street noise but it wasnt too bad.

Antonio was very helpful. He offered to pick us up from the airport and drop us off as well, very nice guy and he made us feel welcome and safe. The B&B was in a great location - zona rosa. Being our first time in Colombia it was cool to be in a spot with good bars and places to eat.

(on a side note - if you are going to Colombia, keep the Bogota leg as short as necessary, not a ton to see, pretty dirty, and the rest of Colombia is so culturally rich it is a sort of disappointment).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Stayed at Chapinorte VIP hostel in the Zona Rosa area of Bogota. Ideal location, everything within walking distance like the Atlantis and Andino malls, dozens of restaurants, transmilenio about a 10 minute walk etc...Place is extremely safe and the owner Antonio and his assistant Oscar are wonderful folks. Always ready to help out and make you feel at home. The hostel is in a building on the 3rd and 4th floor with about 5 rooms on each floor. 2 of the rooms have a attached bath and the rest share a common bath which is kept neat and clean at all times. Cleanliness is something that is very visible here as compared to other hostels. This is more like a motel and hence a bit more expensive that other hostels but well worth every penny !
As reported by others there is a lot of street noise and light sleepers will get woken up around 7 AM or so. The hostel is very quiet in general and all residents respect the need for privacy and tranquility. Rooms are of a very good size. Lighting in the room is bare minimum but not much of an issue. Wi-fi connection pretty solid in general, dropped a couple of times during my week long stay but no biggie and is included in the price of your room.
Highly recommend this place due to the unbeatable location, helpful management staff and cleanliness. One of the best hostels I have stayed at in Colombia !

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank atabh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Well located within a few blocks of Zona Rosa where it is safe to walk at night, but on a very busy street (Carr. 15) with street noise all night from cars, trucks and buses. There are a few interior rooms. If you are a light sleeper, either bring earplugs or request one of the few interior rooms. Also, walls between the rooms are not well soundproofed, and if you have a noisy neighbor, it is not so pleasant. Owner Antonio is very charming and helpful. Very clean. Beds very firm but comfortable. Nicely and stylishly decorated rooms. No internet for guests but internet shops and intl phone call shops within a block. No safe in room.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, try for an interior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelholChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

ChapiNorte was an affordable and quite nice place for travelers to stay. Better yet was the helpfulness of Oscar, who picked me up at the airport, showed me the city and made a good breakfast. All in all, the place was very good and definitely clean. Not to mention it is in a safe area and only a few blocks from Zona Rosa.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jng11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
89 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed here twice, at the start and end of our time in Colombia. We chose it because we were wary of staying in La Candelaria (where all the hostels are), where it is meant to be unsafe to walk around at night.

The location is fantastic- in the zona rosa, a couple of minutes walk to heaps of restaurants or bars, all in an area that seemed pretty safe. It is fairly close to the airport, and any shops you might need. It is easy to get to La Candelaria during day by bus (Heroes station is 2 block away).

Although most hostels are in La Candelaria, it made much more sense to us to visit there during the day, but stay somewhere we could (seemingly) safely walk around at night. But everything else in the Zona Rosa are expensive hotels. So this place was fantastic. On top of that, the staff are lovely and very helpful, the breakfast is scrumptious and the bathrooms are in good order. And wifi is super quick and very reliable. Rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. Rooms lining the street can get a lot of street noise through the window while others brought no noise at all.

The building can be a bit hard to find as there is no sign but we were given clear instructions via email when we booked.

We would definitely stay here if we return to Bogota.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellers_from_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
103 Wonderful House
#142 of 240 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Hostal Sue Candelaria
#18 of 240 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
12:12 Hostels
#12 of 240 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapinorte VIP
#34 of 299 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
La Candelaria
Tip Top Backpackers
Tip Top Backpackers
#143 of 240 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Casona del Patio
#2 of 299 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ChapiNorte B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ChapiNorte B & B

Property: ChapiNorte B & B
Address: Carrera 15 (Paseo del Country) No. 75-35 3th Floor, Bogota 11001000, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bogota > Chapinero
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 240 Speciality Lodging in Bogota
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing