We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value Hotel for Serious Gay Travelers in Superb Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Park Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bogota
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
High Park Hotel
Ranked #205 of 267 Hotels in Bogota
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Value Hotel for Serious Gay Travelers in Superb Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

It seems some of the reviews for this lovely hotel are somewhat off-putting, left by "travelers" whose priority is anything but travel and culture and who are best suited for staying at a sterile downtown Marriott than a locally-owned bed and breakfast. As someone who has traveled extensively for reasons other than to bed every local I can seduce, allow me to provide readers with a more balanced, objective review.

This is a gay bed and breakfast (whose owners happen to be straight) along the beautiful mountainside gayborhood of Chapinero. The owners go above and beyond to ensure their guests are satisfied and safe. I stayed here a week and enjoyed my stay. The bed was very firm – something I liked but may not be acceptable to some. There was ample space in the room, free wifi at a good speed, free breakfast every morning which was excellent, and free pick-up to and from the airport. The owners were very helpful, kind, and suggestive which, for a single traveler like myself, I found very comforting. The owners only speak Spanish, so one may want to take this into account. However, the night desk attendants speak English and can help you if the language barrier is an issue.

To address some complaints from prior reviewers: First, yes, there is street noise. It's a city. It would be the same whether you were in Bogota, Chicago, New York, or London. A traveler worth their salt would know that if one is a light sleeper, bring EAR PLUGS. I wear ear plus even when at home in Chicago, and I assure the reader - they work amazingly well.

Secondly, one prior reviewer complained about the hotel being a "ten minute walk" from gay nightlife. Ironically, this reviewer also complained about street noise. I have never met anyone complain of being a ten minute walk from anywhere, and if the street noise is unbearable in a relatively quiet residential neighborhood, imagine if the hotel were "in the middle" of the gay scene. Having lived in two large American gayborhoods, I can assure the reader - they are anything but quiet. The hotel IS a ten minute walk from the best gay bars and clubs in the city. To me, this is a huge plus, not a minus. I had absolutely no problem getting to or from, even late in the evening.

Thirdly, being charged for an overnight guest is not unusual in bed and breakfast establishments like this. On the contrary - I have always been charged a nominal fee for an extra overnight guest. If one is unsure of a hotel's overnight guest policy, ask. Every hotel I have ever booked has asked how many guests will be staying in the room. This isn’t by accident. If you put one but have two, your rates change. It's common sense.

I stayed on the top floor and had hot water in the sink and a security box. One reviewer said those two things were lacking. I do not know if every room is different, but my room had both. One female reviewer (and plumbing expert I assume) complained about the quality of the plumbing. Having stayed in homes with no hot water or much in the way of plumbing during my travels I consider the plumbing here to be just fine. If the water runs, the drains drain, and the toilets flush, I'm happy. I suspect travelers similar to myself will feel likewise.

In conclusion, I would recommend this hotel. Is it for every traveler? No, but nor is any other establishment. This hotel is a great value for the location and the amenities. The owners and the employees will do their best to meet your needs and ensure you are satisfied with your stay. Clean beds, comfortable rooms, plenty of hot water, and caring staff in a convenient location. If you’re looking for more than that you’re probably visiting the wrong city.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank UrbanDozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    4
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
9
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

OUTstanding location and the owners will do ANYTHING for you to improve your staff. Ask questions and enjoy a cafe with them and the other guests -- The rooms are clean and beds comfortable. OverNight guests are discouraged, so if you are traveling for a roll in the hay ... this wouldnt be the best place. Otherwise ... I highly recommend this location ... Also, the Jose and his wife are the BEST .,., and they LOVE jelly beans!!!

Make time and see the Salt Church ... it was truly incredible..... the city was nice to wonder around ... can buy unico VERY cheaply down there. - most of the prices are not as cheap as you would think but its a great city to visit....

Room Tip: HAd a room facing the west and was able to watch the sun set each night over the Andes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtnboi25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tibau de sul
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Hi this hotel is run by a lovely older couple that really care. Nothing was too much trouble.we were picked up from the airport , 24 hour exceptional service.
I cannot recommend this hotel enough.If it is your first time to Bogata which it was my friends and i this is a great place to start. A beautiful area central to everything and delicious breakfast included.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are clean cosy and grea value for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darren w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Pros
o Great service
o Free good breakfast
o Security

Cons
o Everything costs extra - over night guests, airport to/from
o Noise from the street
o Every thing is about a 10 minute walk
o Security
o Average internet speed

The hotel is average. The staff is nice, and the hotel is about a 10 -15 minute walk to the gay bars. You would have to take a taxi home because it isn't the best neighborhood after dark. If you plan to have an overnight guest they have to leave their ID at the front desk. You have to be buzzed into and out of the hotel. It's not the hotel if you plan to hook up with someone.

Room Tip: I had room 307 which was on the top floor. There was only one other room 305 on that floor. Both f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joenaustex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
231 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

They said they would provide transportation to & from the airport which they did but didn't tell me for a fee until I checked out. Also didn't tell me there would be a fee for any visitor until I checked out. The hotel room had no heat & it was very cold at night. Also the interior of the room/plumbing looked like a trainee did the job. On a good note the staff were nice & the breakfast good

Room Tip: I guess top floor would be best but its all staires
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, PR
Level Contributor
147 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

Going to Bogota, we really didn't know what to expect after decades of travel warnings. What a pleasant surprise to fine a great hotel, just 5 minute walk from all the nightlife and restaurants of the Chapinero area. Chapinero will remind you of the mission district in San Francisco, a little seedy - but lots of great restaurants, commercial centers and the center of gay nightlife (more than 30 bars/clubs/discos in a one block area). How nice that High Park Hotel is just a 5 minute walk up the hill in 'Chapinero Alto" away from the hustle and bustle in an upscale residential/university area.
The hotel is only six rooms and is really a 'Bed and Breakfast' with excellent security, comfortable rooms, a great breakfast every morning including fantastic Colombian coffee and the friendliest hosts you can imagine. Although advertised as a 'gay hotel' it is a perfect choice for anyone - it really should be called 'gay-friendly' or just plain 'friendly'. Anytime you need a taxi, info on getting around or a tour - the hosts and staff are more than happy to help. We used David as a local guide for our tour to Monserrate and Candeleria after he finished working the night shift - and it was a great experience (much better with a local guide than trying to figure out the confusing transit system and local streets).
The hotel has a small lounge/bar plus the breakfast room on the first level and an outdoor patio with umbrellas. Rooms are upstairs with comfortable beds, free wifi and good cable TV. From the rooms on the upper floor, you also get a great view of the lights of Bogota at night.
Part of the attraction of this hotel is their location 'up the hill' in the more residential area - only a 5-7 minute walk form the main action... but this also means that you have to climb several sets of stairs so it might not be the best choice for anyone with physical limitations. However, for most guests, the walk is a welcome break and there is a park with soccer court halfway if you need an interesting break. Even during late night hours, there seemed to be people playing soccer or basketball here, so it always felt safe - but it would have been easy to grab a taxi for the short trip up the hill if we needed a lift. There are also steps from the street up to the main level of the hotel and rooms are another flight up... not an issue for most travelers, but something to bear in mind (no elevator).
If you like great small hotels with a B&B vibe that is close to all the action of Chapinero but in an upscale neighborhood, then you'll love High Park Hotel.
We're already planning a trip back in December .

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2010

I had only an overnight stay here and the husband & wife owners went quickly from 'getting on my nerves' to 'totally exasperating'.

Thin walls, paper-thin doors, noisy hard flooring. There is no warm water at the sink, it was not even plumbed for warm hot water pipes. Not many places to set your things. No in-room security box.

It was very clean and freshly painted, and in a nice residential neighborhood. And its close to the gay bars, cafes, saunas, etc. There was a very helpful and friendly night manager, and he speaks excellent English. (The owners do not speak any English.)

But the Zona Rosa is also very close: Everything along the northeast part of Bogota is a j short cheap ride by taxi.

There are plenty of nice hotels to choose from, and its worth a few extra dollars to avoid the High Park.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mister_Mojo_Jojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Chapinero
Hotel Vilar America
Hotel Vilar America
#39 of 267 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Matisse Hotel
#109 of 267 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapinero
Hotel bh Tempo
Hotel bh Tempo
#111 of 267 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Grace Hotel
#104 of 267 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Chapinero
Hotel Boutique San Sebastian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Park Hotel

Property: High Park Hotel
Address: Cr 4 # 58-58 | Chapinero Alto, Bogota, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 267 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — High Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing