We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying in the center of Bogota”
Review of Casa Platypus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Platypus
Ranked #97 of 268 Hotels in Bogota
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed in this hostel for three nights. It is in the center of Bogota, not far from the cable cars to Montserate. But because it is that near to the center, it is very loud. You can hear all the noises from the celebrating peoples on the street (especially at weekends). You can also hear very well your hostel neighbors. Except for the noises, we liked it there, the house is beautiful, the roof top is great. The staff is very nice too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

We spent 2 nights on this nice hotel. They receive us with free cofee and a cleany room. They helped us to find a minivan and we could go to Zipaquira catedral, they picked up at the door and everything was organized for us. You can cook if you want on a luxury kitchen and there is a rooftop top !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Red S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

The staff at Casa Platypus are exceptionally helpful and friendly, particularly Roman. They go out of their way to make you fell welcome and help you to navigate the city. It's a charming establishment that the owner obviously takes great care in keeping up. Our favorite part was the rooftop terrace and delicious breakfast with other travelers. Would have given it a 5 if it weren't for the thin walls and the noisy street at night--but it is the Candelaria and you would be close to all the museums, restaurants, etc. Rooms are a little small, but doable.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Amipelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Travelling through Colombia is always easier with a few days climatisation at Casa Platypus. The beds are the most comfortable I have stayed in and the central location gives you access to the Museo Dóro and the Craft markets safely. Candelaria is a great area to be in and the staff at Casa Platypus do everything they can to help your journey to be stress free. The rooms are an exceptionally high standard for the price and the Colombian coffee at breakfast sets you up for the day. Don't bother staying in the chain hotels when you are in Colombia - keep the local casa's an important part of Colombian vibe! I will stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debi f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The staff were helpful even before I reached (look at their website) and responsive with their emails. The same when we arrived - very helpful overall. If you have a doubt, email the staff and they can help you figure it out. Short taxi to/from the int'l airport (27K pesos and maybe 20-mins).

Location: Across the street from the bus stop to access the whole city in the very easy bus system, plus 5 to 10-mins walking to the Museo del Oro.

Design: This is the only place it falls a little flat. It's clean, the bathroom is big with plenty of hot water - for me this is the most important. However, the rooms are small and the walls are paper thin. There was not even a convenient place to put our suitcases, so we put them on the floor and nearly tripped on them. However, overall hotel is a kind of charming - if you like unique places vs. cookie cutter.

The breakfast was good, too. We liked it, but for the small, darkish rooms, we would have expected to pay a little less. Because we checked in really early, we felt it was good value in the end. We would have stayed there on our way out of Colombia as well, but they were booked solid.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExplorerGirl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This place has a lot of character and is well located in La Candeleria. The room was quite small with not so much space for our luggage, but very clean though. There was no heater so it was a bit cool, but ok once you get under the big blanket. The shower was very hot and powerful. The staff was ok, just answering questions basically, but did not go above and beyond as previously mentioned. For example, one night we did ask them if they had a restaurant to recommend, and they just told us to cross the park and that we would find a lot of places where to eat around that area. We thought it was a pretty general answer. Anyway, for about 80$ a night, it was ok, but not our best place in Colombia.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliekodak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This is my absolute favorite hotel in Bogota in the Candelaria district. I have stayed here twice, once for a few days and then for about a week with my husband last year. The staff went above and beyond every single day of our stay. A huge thanks especially to Daniel, Lorena, Roman, and Carlos.They are just the nicest, hospitable people we have ever met. On our first day in Bogota, we got a little lost and ended up at the hostel. Roman walked us and our luggage over to the hotel which was really kind. Staff helped us to navigate the city, gave us ideas for places to visit including those that were not so touristy, answered our questions about culture, and made us delicious breakfast. The hotel is perfect. The rooms are beautiful. The guests who stay at the hotel are also very nice and have lots of experiences to share.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANashMelendez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
La Candelaria
Muisca Hotel
Muisca Hotel
#104 of 268 in Bogota
246 reviews
Hotel Casa Paulina
#151 of 268 in Bogota
164 reviews
Hotel Inter Bogota
#192 of 268 in Bogota
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Casa Deco
#17 of 268 in Bogota
787 reviews
Hotel Regina
#130 of 268 in Bogota
155 reviews
Hotel Casa de la Vega
#74 of 268 in Bogota
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Platypus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Platypus

Address: Carrera 3 No 16-28, Bogota, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Bogota
#43 Romantic Hotel in Bogota
Price Range: £25 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Platypus 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Casa Platypus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Platypus Bogota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing