We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't think you will sleep”
Review of Hotel Casa Deco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Casa Deco
Ranked #17 of 268 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The building is circular, so all doors point to the central, winding metal staircase. You will hear every door slam and every footstep on the stairs. There is actually a box of ear plugs at reception! And to make matters worse, they have a live (and excellent) guitarist playing from about 7am through breakfast, so if the noise doesn't wake you up, the music will. The bed mattress was thin. The street traffic noise was horrible and Friday night was live music and party time on the streets. There were burn marks and stains on the couch, and to get heat, you have to request a portable electric heater. The desk staff and housekeepers were very helpful, and breakfast was nice--though you find out your small selection by looking at other peoples' tables. I knew there were pancakes when I saw syrup in the room. Oh, and the first night, the electricity and lights went out whilst I was showering--no back up generator.

Room Tip: I had the "quietest"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank headingaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (788)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 788 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

If you would like to reach the main attractions by foot, this hotel is perfect. You can reach the Museo del Oro, the Mount Monserrate and the Museo Botero within walking distance. From the rooftop terrace you have a great view on the Mount Monserrate. The staff at the front desk is very friendly and helpful. They gave us some good advice to plan our stay in Bogota. Even the hotel manager really helped us to organise an excursion. We stayed for one week in the Casa Deco. Sometimes there was a young man playing guitar in the morning, which was a nice way to get woken up. A continental breakfast was served with fresh fruits. During the day there was a table with different sorts of tea (for free). WiFi was also included.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank KaFlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

One thing not mentioned in the other reviews is the view of Montserrate from the top floor room as well as the large terrace which overlooks the street as well. Be sure to ask for that room. There is no elevator, but the staff manages your luggage. One other quick note: it was quite cool for our visit December 23rd and 24th, with no central heating, so be sure to bring a few extra layers for that part of a trip. Otherwise, all the reviewers are correct - lovely, comfortable and very beautifully furnished and decorated. Also, arrange for a tour before arriving with Edgar of exlorabogota@gmail.com. He is an extraordinarly well-informed guide.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyBremerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Great location in the heart of La Candelaria, be prepared, as a result for it to be noisy. In fact be prepared for there to be high level of noise everywhere you go in Colombia, it's part of the charm!

The room we had was large with plenty of space for opening suitcases, shower was ok, breakfast was also ok. Price meant it was very much value for money. The staff were really helpful, were happy to bring our cases upstairs when they arrived having got lost in transit. We explained what happened and they kept us up to date with the calls from the airline which was much appreciated.

One downside was a guy playing the guitar whilst people had breakfast. Nice whilst you were eating breakfast not so nice when trying to catch up on sleep after a late night as it echoed through the internal hall.

Also be prepared for hard pillows, we found this to be the norm in all hotels except one.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This has to be one of the best choices in La Candelaria. It is wildly noisy at night when everything comes to life, but that's just the location.

The hotel is clean and rooms and beds are comfortable. The shower was hot, with good pressure.

All the rooms have a color and art theme. The accent colors all match and complement the paintings on the walls. Most of the artwork seems to be Gustav Klimpt and another artist I was not familiar with. The decor is tasteful, as is the lighting, and it was really quite pleasant to spend time in the room.

The two top floor rooms have a balcony looking out onto the Candelaria with good views of the city and Montserrat. Part of the balcony is open to all guests, though this was closed in November, when we stayed there.

The staff are very helpful, pleasant and knowledgeable about the area. There was one evening where we waited 20 minutes to be let in (the doors are locked at all times) at around 8:30. This was annoying but we can call it a one-off thing, giving benefit of the doubt.

The breakfast was good and the eating area is clean and pleasant. El senior who serves breakfast and manages the kitchen was a delight. He was attentive and good-natured.

There is sort of a bar as well. Specifically, there is a glass liquor cabinet and a counter. I did ask for a drink one night and the gentleman at the reception obligingly searched for the key, managed to open the cabinet and poured me my whisky. He said he had never done it before so he just said to tell me how much I wanted. Needless to say, it ended up a good deal, but it's not really a "hotel bar" if you're into that sort of thing.

I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKludt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

If you want to stay in Candelaria, I think this is a great option and can not imagine something better. The rooms are huge and nicely appointed and the staff is warm and helpful. The breakfast (included) is outstanding! La Candelaria is a must see as most of the museums are there and it is charming by day. By night, however, it is somewhat lonely and there are far fewer restaurants and bars there than in Parque 93, Zona G, or Zona Rosa. If you enjoy being able to stroll the streets by night and having a long meal followed by a glass of something, this may not be the right neighborhood for you. We did half and half and I'm glad to have seen both. When staying here, we took a taxi to dinners at night and a taxi home. The staff was very helpful and the location is great for walking to the various sights and museums. We were on the top floor and there is no elevator, so if you have difficulty with stairs you may want to stay on a lower floor, but there you are more likely to hear noise from the lobby/breakfast area. Overall we had a lovely experience and loved this Colombian gem!

Room Tip: Be aware there is no elevator and ask for a quiet room (we did, and our room was quiet, but I know o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewYorkExplorer212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Lovely hotel in La Candalaria. Close to all the attractions and lots of bars and restaurants. Top floor rooms are best with direct access to the roof terrace and wonderful views. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MarkRosie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
La Candelaria
Hotel de la Opera
Hotel de la Opera
#34 of 268 in Bogota
564 reviews
Morrison 114 Hotel
#3 of 268 in Bogota
743 reviews
Usaquén
BioHotel Organic Suites
BioHotel Organic Suites
#25 of 268 in Bogota
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Candelaria
Hotel Augusta
Hotel Augusta
#83 of 268 in Bogota
340 reviews
La Candelaria
The Orchids Hotel
The Orchids Hotel
#56 of 268 in Bogota
139 reviews
Hotel B3 Virrey
#32 of 268 in Bogota
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Deco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Deco

Address: 12c-2-36 | Calle 12c # 2-36, Bogota 111117, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 268 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range: £49 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Deco 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the hotel casa deco emerges in a wonderful decó refurbished building. the inside has a pleasant Italian touch with lovely details given by its Italian owner. it offers the perfect combination between a discrete service with a personal, cozy and artistic touch. the interior of the hotel has generous spaces, high ceilings, wooden floors, big windows and balconies to look out over the nearby pedestrian streets. casa deco hotel is located in the most important governmental and cultural centre of the colombian capital. most of the mayor historical monuments, colonial spots and tourist attractions, such as the gold and the botero museums vanguards theatres and the cathedral situated in front of the plaza de bolivar, are just few minutes away by foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Casa Deco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing