We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely little gem”
Review of Hostal Baluarte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Baluarte
Ranked #191 of 303 Bogota B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“lovely little gem”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I love this place, it is very low priced in the best area of Bogotá. We stayed four for nights. Yolanda and her family, who own and run the place, are lovely and although we don't speak a word of Spanish, were very very patient with us. The room's are small and simple but clean and comfy which is all you need really. It's very quiet, even at the weekend when candelaria is at its most rowdy and the little courtyards are wonderful little sun traps and perfect for a picnic. We felt very safe here, you are in the perfect spot to reach all the lovely restaurants and bars on offer without having to walk through anywhere unsafe. We hope to be back when we come through Bogotá again, hopefully with a little more Spanish under our belts.

Room Tip: There are different sizes of rooms, if you aquire more space just ask for one of the larger rooms if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dollyache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    6
    5
    3
    6
See reviews for
2
14
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Qormi, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We travelled to Bogota in October 2012 and had booked this hostel 4 months in advance and we got to Bogota in the dark. There was no sign and with heavy backpacks we walked up and down the designated street for what seemed like ages. Then someone showed us to the door and the owner opened saying that it's no longer in operation because they are renovating. He said it was the booking engine's fault for not advising us but then he also told me to write a review saying that I decided not to go of my own accord because I wanted to go somewhere else. So, as far as the booking engine is concerned, they are still in operation. Then he helped us find somewhere else to stay so at least he wasn't as bad but I cannot even rate a hostel that wasn't open when it should have so this leaves me no choice.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank esmeralda_attard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bogota hotels

France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The place was not sceptional, but ok. Prices were quite good for the area. The owners were nice but not very proffesional. We were staying in a dorm that they use as a double when someone wants to pay extra and all our stuff was changed of room without our permission and supervision while we were away. They have as well a basic breadfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanFFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

The owners were extremely nice, very beautiful place, just great.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karinelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
La Candelaria
SC House
SC House
#29 of 267 in Bogota
80 reviews
La Candelaria
Masaya Hostel Bogota
Masaya Hostel Bogota
#1 of 267 in Bogota
618 reviews
Violeta Park Hostel
#44 of 267 in Bogota
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel B3 Virrey
#30 of 267 in Bogota
873 reviews
Hotel Suites Real 97
#125 of 267 in Bogota
63 reviews
Hotel Santa Monica
#226 of 267 in Bogota
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Baluarte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Baluarte

Property: Hostal Baluarte
Address: Calle 12b 043, Bogota 110921, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 303 B&Bs / Inns in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hostal Baluarte 1.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOSTAL BALUARTE in La Candelaria: cultural and historical Center, Bogotá, Colombia. We are close to the Presidency of the Republic, Congress of Colombia and Mayor, among others. It is a beautiful colonial house with over 400 years, with three courtyards and flowers and with persons Cristinas, ethical, kind and good principles that I will attend. A quiet, safe and economical. Welcome. In this house also has the newspaper from the center of Bogota. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Baluarte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing