We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Miles spent towards good use”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Charlies Place Hotel
Ranked #65 of 265 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Miles spent towards good use”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

I Spent two nights at Charlie's Hotel in Usaquen -North Bogota.I had used 7,500 miles of AA Advantage Awards per night at this hotel. The hotel is small located at NOS Avenue @ 105TH in North Bogota,while in a safer neighborhood a business district it is still 10KM.or 6 Miles from downtown Plaza Bolivar/La Candelaria which is best reached by Taxi.There's not much in this neighborhood yet it's just 2KM or 1.25 Miles from Parque 93.Santa Ana shopping mall was 5 minute walk down the Blvd.There is a mini-market across the street a pizzeria internet café just a seconds walk away.The rooms were adequate for a deluxe had mini-bar,Cable with Plasma T.V. ,Free WI-FI, Bathroom was very clean the showers had good water pressure.with soap & shampoo there are other bathroom offerings in the basket yet are for sale.room has .a work desk with standing storage closets that have a safe as well.Bed was comfortable,no air cond or heater as the temperate climate of Bogota keeps the room that.The maid service offers laundry service then there is a business area which was just a few computers along with a small conference room.The restaurant is open just for your free breakfast from 6:30-10:30AM the bar is small has big screen,pool table,darts yet no one was ever in thereThe Spa is close yet not on premises..The reception was cordial especially 'Ana' an attractive young lady with a great smile whom helped with my booking..then there was 'Gustavo' the hotel driver whom was quite friendly,energetic with a smile yet doesn't speak much English. He could drive you to from airport (30 min drive) or around Bogota for a fee. Recommend overall.

Room Tip: Get deluxe suite room 118 1st floor away from street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kraor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    81
    15
    10
    4
See reviews for
29
84
76
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

It was my first time to Bogota and my stay was from March 4th until March 12th,had a great time, the hotel staff was great,hard working and very helpful,had a good breakfast every morning,the hotel was in a great location,within walking distance to a shopping center,ATM machine and a gym for those who prefer to workout,which was free of charge thanks to the hotel,my room was very nice and clean and pretty quite for the most part.Senior Nelson the owner was also very helpful in arranging a tour guide for the city which was Senior Carlos who was very knowledgeable about the history and all the place's and things to see while in the city of Bogota,his tour guide price per day was well worth the money and very fare.Senior Nelson was also very helpful in recommending place's close by for evening dinners and things to do at night,i would definitely stay there the next trip to Bogota,and most definitely recommend it to
family and friends who are looking for a great place to stay for a good price,because this place is without a doubt a diamond in the rough.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the back away from the main street which seems to be a little more quieter, or co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hermitt5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OC California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Having spent a lot of time in various overpriced hotels in Latin America and a few in the US it's nice to see that decent amenities are making their way to Colombia. One of my pet peeves is water pressure in the shower. This place is no exception but its better than most!
Stay away from the street view rooms, they are single glazed and that street stays busy 24/7.
I changed rooms after my 1st sleepless night.
The staff are friendly, helpful and hard working. The breakfast is a real hearty one for a change, others have described it. The mini bar (shock, horror) isn't 4x the going rate for a beer, amazing!

About my only unhappy moment occurred late at night when the desk staff "ordered in" a plate of fast food, cooked off site. The vendor showed up and asked for the equivalent of $20 for a grilled cheese sandwich. Needless to say,I refused although many others didn't realize the ripoff. This is not the hotel's fault of course but beware of that late night snacking, it can cost!

Its in a great location, I never felt unsafe walking to malls etc although the hotel's "airport shuttle" is no bargain when used to just get around Bogota. A dating agency? Maybe yes! there were a lot of girls in the hotel bar but I never asked.

Room Tip: avoid anything with a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hammer997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I booked this hotel via the Expedia website. If you're a single traveler, I highly recommend that you take advantage of their rooms that do not have a bathroom included. If you don't see it on the website, call the hotel & ask. There's a community bathroom/shower that is shared by four separate bedrooms. The entire week I was there, I never had to wait to use it. Think about it, how much time do you really spend in the bathroom? It's a lot cheaper this way.

They have dedicated taxi drivers that will take you wherever you need to go. Mr. Carlos was an excellent tour guide and his English is near perfect. The staff was friendly and they went out of their way to ensure I was taken care of. Take advantage of Raul's knowledge & expertise. His English is perfect and he knows where all the hot spots are.

Breakfast was included, and was delicious... including eggs made to order. Nearby there are a couple of shopping malls within walking distance: Santa Ana and Hacienda Santa Barbara. Hacienda has a post office, and a money exchange. There's also a quaint little Arabic restaurant in the food court that is well worth the trip.

The only suggestion I could make to the hotel is that they choose darker curtains for the rooms. Being that the curtains (in my room) were white, I would wake up at the crack of dawn every day due to the sunlight being in my face. Also, if you're a light sleeper, ask for a room away from the major street. Trucks and cars are zooming past at all hours of the night and some beep their horns no matter what time it is.

I give the hotel a 4 out of 5 rating due to the fact that I got my money's worth and then some, and I would recommend this hotel to any of my friends or family that decided to visit Bogota.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the major street. The walls are thin and the room is not sound-proof; the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DirtyRed78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights in january at Charlies place in Bogota; i have to begin saying that i booked with my travel agent and overpaid ; the costs of the hotel should be around $50-$70 dollars a night which is extremely cheap considering that breakfast is included ( eggs, fruit, coffee freshly made for you).

There is hot water in the showers and the tiles and toilettes are new and in good clean condition.

The rooms are very spacious and the beds are clean and comfortable to sleep in.

The front desk was very helpful with taxi services and changing money and any ulterior additional information.

Wifi is also included.

Definitely value for money in Bogota.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stolarchos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

I recently stayed at Charlie's Place once again, this time for twelve days and eleven nights. I very much enjoyed my time at the hotel meeting many guests during breakfast time, watching U.S. football and South America soccer in the bar, as well as playing some chess and billiards with Nelson. The room was clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced. Moreover the rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi services therefore I was able to check my email everyday as well as read several U.S. newspapers each morning. My stay in Bogota at Charlie's Place seemed to move very rapidly and the bi-lingual staff was more than helpful and friendly. The hotel is centrally located and I would recommend Charlie's Place to any type of traveler to the Bogota area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7IronNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

For the price of $110.000 COP per night in the northeast area you really can't go wrong. This comes to about $61 USD including tax. I stayed Wed. & Thurs night. My room was the smallest one with a shared bathroom. The first night no one else was there so I had the bathroom to myself. The breakfast is cooked to order but it's eggs with ham, toast, juice and a coffee or hot chocolate. It's just enough to get me going. By the way, this included airport pick up which is about 10 miles or a 30 minute ride depending on the traffic. I did tip the driver 5000 COP at least. The second day I showered there was little hot water available. The excuse I got was because of the construction going on nearby. Still, you need to have hot water for your guests. I like to take warm showers not cold. This is the only reason I'm taking off points. The wi-fi capability was excellent this time. Four years ago I kept losing the signal. I was told they had another router to serve more rooms.

The staff was very attentive and courteous to me addressing me by my last name. As far as making local calls, if you dial a landline the first minute is free. So, I would make it a quick and end the call. You can dial cell numbers but they charge way too much. You are better off walking a block south on 9th St (Novena) and use the service of a small store. It was 200 COP per minute to any cell number regardless if that person lived in another city. The only problem is once they are closed at 9pm then you're on your own.

The surrounding area is in a safe neighborhood. You can walk 3 blocks north to the upscale Santa Ana mall. There's a Carrefour there and plenty of restaurants on the 3rd floor.

Overall, I would recommend this place for those on a budget who still prefer to be in a safe area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Treasurehunt Gi... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Usaquén
Hotel Bogota 100
Hotel Bogota 100
#30 of 265 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Ibis Bogota Museo
#47 of 265 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Usaquén
Tryp by Wyndham Bogota Usaquen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster House
#38 of 265 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Hotel Casa Paulina
#122 of 265 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Hotel Suites Real 97
#121 of 265 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlies Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlies Place Hotel

Property: Charlies Place Hotel
Address: Carrera 8d # 106-84 | Barrio Chico Miranda, Bogota 110131, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bogota > Usaquén
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 265 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlies Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet and family run hotel & spa located in a residential neighborhood in the North of Bogota. Minutes from Park 93 and Usaquen. The hotel is within walking distance of the Santa Ana Mall, the Santa Fe Hospital, the Santa Barbara Mall, the Teleport Business Center and the World Trade Center. We are 20-30 minutes away from the El Dorado International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charlies Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing