We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business first Customers second: Dishonesty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Continental BlueDoors
Ranked #128 of 267 Hotels in Bogota
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Business first Customers second: Dishonesty”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This hotel is actually extremely nice and upon arrival I have never been so thrilled with a room. We were placed in a massive two bedroom apartment size suite for only $130 for one night. About 7 AM in the morning is when the troubles began.

First we heard a banging on our door at 7 AM while sleeping that we ignored. We then received multiple calls at 7 AM before eventually answering. the operator asked us to open the door. I refused, stating that I was sleeping and asked not to be disturbed again. A few minutes later came some more banging on the door and my friend eventually opened the door.

The staff at this time explained that we would be forcibly moved to another room due to ¨construction.¨ When I asked them to elaborate, they explained that they were working on ¨the water.¨

A few hours later, we walked in front of the hotel, only to see that in fact a commercial was being filmed in our room. We were woken up multiple times at 7 AM, forcibly moved to another room, and blatantly lied to about the reason.

The hotel did agree to provide a free nights stay as compensation for the lies and poor service. I in fact never confronted them about the fact that they had blatantly lied to me.

This review could have easily been 5 stars. The hotel is great. However, I do not appreciate being lied to, nor do I appreciate being woke up multiple times at 7 AM and forced to move to another much smaller room so that they can film a commercial.

Honesty goes a long way. Perhaps next time that would be the best policy, rather than lying.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Evancity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    88
    26
    16
    11
See reviews for
36
77
18
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

If want a good nights sleep like we did after a long day in transit then this isn't the place for you. They warn about construction noise but that wasn't the problem....the noise on the street at night is very loud and made us feel a little unsafe in our surroundings. Lots of screaming and yelling all night for two nights in a row....very little sleep. Rooms are new and clean and staff helpful, but extras were added to our bill that we didn't have so watch out for that when you check out. Close to some main tourist attractions.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Renovated and very spacious rooms/suites. In the city center near many universities. Near 2 principal TRANSMILENIO bus stations, so lots of traffic. Breakfast: service good, food limited but OK. I am an experienced traveler and knew exactly what to expect, but lots of ppl Friday nights after U's classes & noise. Needs to install insulated double-pane windows. FRI. NITE is PARTY TIME if you are into that. If you want quiet...LOOK for a hotel in the north of BOG. NOT the safest area of BOG, but close to Monserrat and museums.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

This apartment/hotel is very comfortable with all the comforts you need to enjoy your stay - hot water, comfortable bed, kitchenette, cable tv etc. It is close to shops and Museo de Oro transmillenio stop. A short walk takes you to the main Plaza and tourist information.
We found the staff to be very helpful and polite. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cristin0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Reading some reviews people complained about the noise? maybe its where my room is located or being used to noisy streets of San Francisco, but it was SUPER quiet in our hotel room....almost eerily quiet so that was absolutely no issue for us.Saw some complaints about the breaksfast? Really? They had a ton of fresh fruit, turkey,ham,pigs in a blanket ,pastries, yogurt,cereal,eggs made to order, coffee,hot chocolate,tea, I mean what in the hell else are you looking for in a free breakfast?caviar?filet mignon omlettes? The staff was super nice and helpful, anytime i need a recommendation they were happy to tell me the scoop and everytime it was dead on! the location is great we walked EVERYWHERE or hopped on the Transmillenio or bus, so simple!! the location couldnt have been any better. The hotel room was large, modern, clean, maid service came everyday and cleaned our dishes. Wish they had CNN International on Direct TV, also the security charge was never explained to me when i booked the trip, I ended up paying about an extra $100 over the 10 days from what i was told it would cost on booking.com, i tried to figure out the extra charges, but after a while I was over it. People said it gets quiet or dangerous after 9pm in the area?? Really? there was always hundreds of college kids alll over the streets all the time, never felt "deserted" and there is more security than i have ever seen in my life......even the private security guards had canines (never seen rent a cops with attack dogs before), plus there is tens of dozens of police officers on every block and then there are military soldiers with huge M-16s all over the place, actually think this would be a tough area to away with a crime if your criminal.....your going to run into a law enforcement official on every block.....much safer than many streets of cities here in California. Overall was very impressed with the hotel

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 415er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Spacious apartments, (bathroom bit small) bit noisy though. Very friendly personnel, sometimes a bit clumsy, internet starting up cumbersome and clearly hackers around...
Good breakfast and amazing architecture. Walking distance !! from all center/Candelaria highlights and the mountain of Montserrate. Botero and Gold museum.
This is an excellent start for your Bogota citytrip! At a great price.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank golfingaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Hotel bh Bicentenario
#83 of 267 in Bogota
157 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel Augusta
Hotel Augusta
#80 of 267 in Bogota
328 reviews
Hotel Regina
#124 of 267 in Bogota
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Candelaria
Hotel de la Opera
Hotel de la Opera
#31 of 267 in Bogota
536 reviews
Hotel Casa de la Vega
#78 of 267 in Bogota
57 reviews
La Candelaria
Muisca Hotel
Muisca Hotel
#97 of 267 in Bogota
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental BlueDoors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental BlueDoors

Property: Hotel Continental BlueDoors
Address: Avenida Jimenez 4-16, Bogota, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Continental BlueDoors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the impeccable hospitality and spacious, apartment-style accommodation of the newly renovated Hotel Continental Bogota. As might be expected of a hotel in the heart of Colombia’s cosmopolitan capital, this modern boutique is as versatile and sophisticated as the city it serves – a refined choice for executives seeking an unparalleled meeting experience or leisure travelers escaping on a luxury holiday in Bogota. Perfectly located in Bogota’s historic city centre, just steps from the Famous Museo del Oro and minutes from the picturesque La Candelaria district, the Hotel Continental is also convenient to the University of the Andes, Monserrate, and Plaza de Bolivar, yet quiet and intimate enough to ensure an eminently relaxing experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Continental BlueDoors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental All Hotel Bogota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing