We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
JW Marriott Hotel Bogota
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rosales Plaza(Bogota)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,182)
Filter reviews
2,182 results
Traveller rating
1,836
272
35
23
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,836
272
35
23
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungela minathe concierge levelgreat hoteltamarithe financial districtlobby barroom servicebusiness or pleasureluxury hotelbreakfast buffet isbusiness centerbusiness tripgreat roomi highly recommend this hotelrooms are spaciouszona g
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,139 - 1,144 of 2,182 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2011

A new hotel with a great location within a brief walking distance of Zona Rosa and Zona G. The facility is top notch, although there were a few things not working correctly in the room (and I strongly suspect hadn't been working since the hotel opening last year).

Conceirge staff is excellent and very knowledgeable.

Front desk staff varies by person with most "good", some "excellent", and a few not up to J W Marriott standards.

For those not comfortable with taxis, the hotel will arrange drivers. Ours was very professional, and spoke fluent english.

We were able to use the Executive lounge with our Marriott status and it was a treat. Food was consistantly outstanding. The staff, while certainly acceptable, lacks the overall "warmth" and professionalism of the Quito J W Marriott for example. Having said that, this observation was consistent across most of the service encountered in Colombia. Not a criticism, but not something that is going to "wow" you. Do not expect an Argentine service experience which sets the standard in my book.

Hotel securty is strong but not obtrusive. The people repeatedly demonstrated that tight security can be accomplished professionally and with a smile!

Right next door to the hotel and part of the same building is an outstanding coffee shop with an outdoor plaza called Juan Valdez Café (one of many in this chain). Think of Starbucks with a Latin flare. Well worth spending a few hours people watching and enjoying an outstanding latte.

For Americans who have been influenced by a barrage of violent media stories over the past 15 years, my sense is the security situation has improved markedly in Bogotá and especially in the area where the hotel is located. Each person needs to make his/her own assessment, and we felt very comfortable strolling to Zona Rosa and Zona G for dinner on four occasions. Even as late at 9:00 PM, we would encounter single women walking who appeared to live in the area. Just like any big city, some basic street smarts are recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonTravelers00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo S, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2016

Dear BostonTravelers00:

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.

I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities and service experience were what you expected and deserve.

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Staying at this hotel in Bogota was on the whole very enjoyable - there were a couple of minor negatives but with some time, I am sure they will be ironed out.
Starting with the good points - the hotel gives a good impression of security, with security guards + dog at the front door checking everyone who enters. Front desk staff were very friendly and efficient and spoke excellent english.
Room - spacious, nicely decorated, with very comfortable beds. I also liked how responsive the air-con system was (was easy to get the room to the temperature I wanted, something that not all hotels can manage efficiently), and the room was very quiet. TV - nice big screen and good choices of internationl-language options.
Gym - great cardio machines (especially good treadmills) - the newness of the whole hotel is very apparent here as the equipment was so new (and barely used it seemed). There was a limited amount of weight machines/free weights, but more than enough to workout with.
Whole hotel was very clean, with nice bar/public areas.
Driver - Fransicso (speaks English and Germany) was fantastic and worth booking by name. He collected me from the airport and i would strongly recommend arranging an airport pickup from the hotel.

Negatives : food was a bit patchy (breakfast I thought was great, other meals not great.).

Concierge arranged transport for me - first one (from airport - see above) was great - the second, not to good - having been charged extra for an english-speaking driver to take us round the city to a the main sights and some meetings , it was very disapointing to see how little he spoke (my v minimal spanish turned out to be better than his english).

Overall, i really enjoyed my stay in this hotel and it will be my first choice when next back in Bogota

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biztraveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo S, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2016

Dear biztraveller58:

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.

I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities and service experience were what you expected and deserve.

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

We stayed at the JW Marriott in Bogota for 10 days in February, 2011.
The staff was very helpful and attentive. The front desk staff spoke English very well. The waitstaff in the restaurants did not speak English very well. All were cordial and tried to help in anyway possible.
Upon arrival at the hotel, each person entering the hotel is met at the door by a guard and a bomb sniffing dog. You are then "wanded down" by another guard.
While some might consider this an inconvenience, I was pleased to have the security of knowing precautions were being taken to keep me and other guests safe.
Once in the hotel, you were treated as you would expect by any 4-5 star hotel.
The hotel has a wonderful spa and the massage there was one of the best I have ever had. The fitness area was first class.
If you need transportation to and from the hotel, the staff will take care of getting you that transportation. You never flag a cab in Bogota. When traveling in Bogota, you always let the hotel where you are staying or the restaurant where you are dining, call a cab for you.
The cabs are inexpensive and the drivers are willing to wait for you as long as necessary.
And don't rent a car.... the traffic is horrendous and the drivers are crazy.
As in any large city, you should be careful where you go and what you do.
But you should not be afraid to travel to Bogota. Just be careful.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacksonsfan090909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo S, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2016

Dear jacksonsfan090909:

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.

I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities and service experience were what you expected and deserve.

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

looks and feels very clean and new.
pros:
- location is great
- rooms and bathrooms are spacious
- good breakfast, and generally nice resto and bars
- great pool, gym, spa (the showers in the spa changing rooms are amazing - highly recommend!)
- staff polite and generally helpful (see below)
- good consierge

cons:
- room decoration is extremely bland - a real missed opp considering that the hotel is new and that they could have done something much more modern and unique
- staff, while polite, are not "5 star" trained. examples:
+ we arrived very early (7am) from our overnight flight from new york. we had notified the hotel that we would be checking in early. we were very tired.
when we arrived, they informed us that there would be a 100% of the room rate early check-in fee! mariott did not mention this when we booked, or when we emailed them subsequently, so we were quite annoyed to have to deal with this disagreeable situation, especially after having very little sleep on the flight.
we voiced that a full nights charge was outrageous given the circumstances, but the manager on duty kept reiterating that it was there policy and did not offer any other solutions.
this is not how you build customer loyalty or brand preference. it's not what i'd expect at a 5 star hotel - and not what four seasons, ritz carlton etc. would have done.
WE were the ones who had to ask if we could at least use the spa to freshen up and if they could store our bags (they did not offer this themselves!!!).
i would like to reiterate that no one was rude, but that lack of any empathy or proactive action to make the guest feel welcome was very sad to see.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank _mona_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo S, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2016

Dear _mona_NewYork:

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.

There are always many aspects we need to work on to make our hotel better and you have certainly helped us do that. We do look forward in the hope of being able to welcome you back in the near future to enjoy our improvements and give us the opportunity of serving you as you very well deserve

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

My wife worked for Marriott for 18 years and I am very well traveled - we both agree - this hotel was outstanding in every way. The excellent service started way before our actual trip with the concierge graciously helping us with dinner reservations and day trip/touristic advice ahead of time. The hotel was designed so well throughout, from the cool/modern lounge, to the fantastic brunch buffet, to the fabulous spa, to the generously sized rooms- the whole hotel just exudes casual luxury. The service was impeccable - the room service, the restaurants, the business center, etc. One note- we felt like the only tourists in a sea of business travelers, but we didn't care.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HPRIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo S, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2016

Dear HPRIC:

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.

I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities and service experience were what you expected and deserve.

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews