We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best JWMarriott ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Bogota
Ranked #1 of 267 Hotels in Bogota
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
“The best JWMarriott ever!”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Thank you to all JW Marriott staff in Bogota. I have spent in your hotel a week a month during the last five years and the time has come to recognize your service and to say I'm absolutely happy with the experience I've had staying with you. You make me feel as if I were at home. The Executive lounge is excellent and a great place to unwind after a busy day. The gym is also wonderful. I recommend your hotel to all businesspersons visiting Bogota!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGrandolini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel_Belloni, Director General at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear guest,
It is so great to know you find exactly what you need for your business travels in Bogota. Thank you for your loyalty and please know that it is our pleasure to offer you the best experiences that make you feel right at home.
We hope to have you with us soon and thank you for your recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,547
    247
    25
    19
    14
See reviews for
182
328
104
1,029
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I was in Bogota on business and my stay here was wonderful. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. The room was well-appointed and remarkably quiet. There is a decent sized gym and a pool and spa. The pool is just a lap pool in the basement, but very well done. There is a great breakfast buffet with fresh fruit and juices. As someone from the US it was hard for me not to want to add my own milk to my coffee, but you cannot do that in Bogota. The hotel has a ready supply of taxis you can charge to your room which makes that biz travel expenditure accounting much easier as Bogota taxis do not take credit cards and do not give receipts! Truly a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Upper floors are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel_Belloni, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear guest, we are glad you had a smooth stay during your stay with us and that all we provide for you was suitable for your busy schedule. It is nice to know you enjoyed our health club and hope you might have had the chance to try one of the many massages we have for you. Thank you for your comment and we hope to host you again on your next trip to Bogota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

the JW was good but for the price (over 300 USD) you expect something exceptional which wasn't the case. Good concierge and excursion service but average bar service. Also the reception service was not up to standard. Room was spacious and clean but lots of noice from running water, so mixed experience certainly not value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank michiel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel_Belloni, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience with us. We appreciate your feedback and rest assured that we will take it into consideration so that you will not encounter these inconsistencies on your next visit. It is nice to know you enjoyed the excursion suggested by our concierge as well as the establishments of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This was my first trip to Colombia and, as a single female who speaks maybe 100 words of Spanish, I was a bit wary of staying in Bogota without a familiar touchstone -- as a Marriott Gold member I thought I would be most comfortable at the JW. My taxi driver from the airport was unfamiliar with the hotel until I showed him the address, then he said it was the "nuevo" Marriott. The JW is in an upscale part of Bogota, near parks, restaurants and shopping, and is farther from the airport than the Marriott. The rooms are what you would expect at a luxury hotel -- nice comfortable beds, lots of pillows, large marble bathrooms, high-end amenities. The staff are great, the concierge in particular. Both concierge staff members I dealt with spoke English, and they were very helpful in arranging a customized city tour with a driver who spoke English, RT transportation to a shopping/restaurant area, etc. Based on prior experience in Ecuador, I am always wary about just hailing a cab in South America and I felt confident with the safety of the taxis associated with the hotel. The executive lounge had good food for breakfast and evening heavy hors d'oeuvres, including several choices from local cuisine (and great aji sauce). All in all, an excellent experience and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elanor_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel_Belloni, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear guest,
We are glad you got the chance to come and experienced the warmth of the Colombian people as well as the service we provide to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible. It is nice to know you enjoyed your stay at the JW Marriott and found it just as you expected it, we will pass on your regards to our concierge staff as well as the executive lounge. We will be more than glad to host you again and thank you for choosing the JW Marriott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conroe, TX
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Bogota has had work stoppages and protests in the downtown area. The JW Marriott is located a good distance from the protest areas. The food is good in the restaurants and fairly priced. The spa is outstanding. Had a 90 minute Swedish Message that was outstanding and reasonably priced. Highly recommend the property.

Room Tip: Have stayed at this property on numerous occasions. All reforms have been really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAU-Conroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel_Belloni, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience with us. Let us assure you that these inconsequential protests are absolutely nothing to worry about and you are more than safe with us. It is nice to know you enjoyed your massage as well as the food we offered. We hope to have you back with us soon and thank you for choosing the JW Marriott Bogota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craryville, New York
1 review
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Visited Bogota for three days on business. Room was spacious and comfortable, modern and clean. Lobby is beautiful. Breakfast was very good. Bar service was very friendly and responsive. No complaints and would definitely recommend to business travelers and tourists alike.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dcolby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel_Belloni, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear guest,
It is rewarding for us to know that you had a nice stay, enjoying your spacious room, friendly service and quality of your breakfast. Thank you for your recommendations and know that is it a big pleasure for us to make you feel right at home. Thank you for choosing the JW Marriott on your business trip to Bogota and we hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This hotel is very nice. The decor is tasteful and modern. Rooms are spacious and the beds are super comfortable. The location is perfect if you want to be in downtown Bogota--walking distance to great restaurants and good shopping. Those concerned with safety will find this hotel has very good security. Room service was prompt and delicious. Internet speed was adequate. I really only had two issues with this hotel. First, the service and friendliness of a few hotel staff. I encountered people who were less than helpful. For example, I went to the reception desk to get change for a 20K peso bill (~$10 USD). I like to carry a few smaller bills for tips and taxi's. I made the request a got back two 10K bills. I asked the women (did not get her name, but she is the only person with braces on her teeth) if she could give me a few 1K bills and gave her a 10K bill. She literally rolled her eyes, grabbed the bill and came back with two 5K bills, no 1K's. I just took the bills and walked away. No big deal, but I really could have done without all the attitude for a simple request. The second issue was regarding taxi's and discrepancy in the agreed upon price. The hotel will arrange a taxi for you and will default to the hotel taxi, which is fine but approximately double the price of a regular taxi. You can request that the hotel call you a taxi from a reputable taxi company and they will (as foreigner, you should always call for a taxi vs. flagging one down off the street.). I specifically requested a non-hotel taxi, but was given a hotel taxi. I asked if it would be the same price 25K pesos (which is ~$12 USD) to the airport and was told yes. Got to the airport and the drive wanted $25 USD, double the price. I told the driver to call the hotel since I only had 25K pesos as I was leaving the country. It was all sorted out in the end and I paid the agreed upon price of 25K pesos, but this happened several times during my stay. So my advice, is quickly jot down the price so there is no misunderstanding. Also if you hire a driver by the hour, note the start and end time by the clock in the car (just take a quick picture with your phone camera when you enter the car). Again, the drivers always seem to over inflate the actual time you used their service so unless you have some proof you are stuck paying whatever incorrect time the driver quotes at the end of the trip. On a more positive note, the staff on the executive floor was great. Especially Paola who was at the executive floor reception desk. She was helpful, profession and very nice. Always addressing me by name and asking if there was anything she could do to help. Also, the bellboys were super. Unfortunately I do not have any names, but all of them were great. They always greeted me as I was entered the hotel and addressed me by name, which I thought was amazing. Despite the few service hiccups, I enjoyed my stay. I think this has become my go-to hotel when staying in Bogota. Also, taxi from airport to hotel was $25K pesos (~$12 USD). There is a taxi stand at the airport with fixed prices. You should pay in pesos, so either exchange money (there is a currency exchange booth in the baggage claim area) or use ATM prior to going to the taxi booth.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevator if need quietness to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Runwayg1irl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel_Belloni, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us. It is nice to know you enjoyed the establishments as well as the location of the hotel and we’ll be sure to pass your regards on to the staff at the Executive Lounge.
Your comments regarding out front desk agent come as a surprise to us as our associates drive themselves to offer the best service possible, so we will follow up on this matter to clear up any inconsistencies. We apologize for the misunderstanding in transportation pricing and we will make sure this information is passed on with clarity in order to prevent future confusions. Thank you for your feedback as this provides the best insight on how to provide you with a spotless stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Bogota Victoria Regia
3.6 mi away
Bogota Marriott Hotel
Bogota Marriott Hotel
#7 of 267 in Bogota
2,301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Bogota
Hilton Bogota
#10 of 267 in Bogota
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
NH Collection Bogota Hacienda Royal
2.9 mi away
W Bogota Hotel
W Bogota Hotel
#16 of 267 in Bogota
586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Casa Medina Bogota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Bogota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Bogota

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Bogota
Address: Calle 73 8-60, Bogota 110221, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 267 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Bogota 4.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Bogota Hotel is located at the heart of Bogota's financial and entertainment district. Our 5-star luxury hotel's location is ideal, close to corporate offices of major companies, the finest restaurants and bars of Zona G, Zona T, and 93rd St Park. Within our hotel, you will find an array of gastronomic and entertainment options. Get creative at The Market, a casual restaurant where you can choose from a variety of fresh ingredients to build you own pizzas, burgers, salads, and more. Indulge yourself at Tamarine, a chic restaurant that offers Asian fusion cuisine. Enjoy an authentic Japanese gastronomic experience at Nau Sushi Lounge, and try a variety of Sake based cocktails in a trendy and warm ambience. Relax and have fun at Circo, the spotlight where Bogota's upcoming music artists showcase their talents every night. Our hotel features a fully equipped fitness center, an indoor lap pool, an indoor Jacuzzi, a full service Spa with steam rooms, saunas, and six massage rooms. At the executive lounge on the 9th floor guests can have a complimentary breakfast, and in the evenings they can enjoy hors d'oeuvres and cocktails. All guest rooms at JW Marriott Bogota feature streaming speed Internet access, soundproof windows, and 300-thread count Egyptian cotton linen sheets to offer maximum comfort. Next time you visit Bogota on business or leisure, stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Bogota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing