We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JW in BOG - Excellent as always - BEWARE Local Cons near hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Bogota
Ranked #1 of 268 Hotels in Bogota
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I've stayed at the JW in BOG every time I've been in Bogota. In fact, I've spent more time at this hotel than any other in the world, bar none.

The staff and accommodations are second to none. On site security is excellent. There's nothing about the JW that isn't excellent. I can't say enough good things about the property.

BEWARE, however, once you leave the property of any of the major hotels in this area, of which there are many (Hilton, etc) Con games are everywhere. Someone may watch you leave the hotel and direct their associates for the intercept. It happened to me yesterday!

In my case, the person who approached me was a well-dressed, professional bearing gentleman who identified himself as a officer from the Policía Nacional, complete with identification. He was claiming to being conduct immigration spot checks in area. All will seem innocent at first, and in fact he will appear incredibly helpful, and then it will move to how much currency are you carrying, have you purchased jewelry while here, etc. I have been working with the Colombia Policía Nacional now for 5 years and he had me fooled up to a point. And, when on foreign soil, one is very hesitant to disobey the police. It's a near-perfect scam for that reason!

Any hesitancy on your part to comply may result in a sudden appearance of an associate who will play the bad cop in the good cop / bad cop routine. When the bad cop appeared, I challenged them to show ID. The bad cop had none and I demanded to see the good cop's ID again. When he displayed it, I ran my finger over it and felt the raised areas where it had been fabricated. I declared them as 'No Policía' and extricated myself immediately.

Upon reporting the incident to the Policía Nacional, I found that they know who many of the characters are in this area, but their hands are tied. The victims, all foreign visitors, will not follow through with the Colombian judicial system to have them prosecuted. They want to complain, but not do their duty to support the Policía.

So the first step is avoidance. No member of the Policía Nacional will ever approach you in the area regarding immigration or customs issues. They must also carry their badge if out of uniform along with their ID. If approached, demand to see an ID and badge and don't settle for a quick glance. Look at it closely. Ask questions. Demand answers. There is a police station within 2 blocks of the JW and Hilton (Calle 72 & Carrera 7). It is located in the center median of the street making it most prominent. Find out where it is before you go out so you know where it is. Insist on going to the police station if approached. Walk away from the person and toward any business that has a video. Video is plentiful. They do NOT want to be on camera.

If out walking, stop suddenly and turn around. Look for anyone who may be following you to react. Try reversing and walking in the opposite direction from time to time.

They are good. It is how they make their living. Generally, they are not violent, just very good actors. Don't make it easy for them.

And, if it happens to you, and it can, report it to the police and support their efforts. They can't do it alone.

The Policía Nacional in Colombia are some of the most dedicated and hard working police professionals you will find. They are trained to be friendly, helpful, and communicate well with the public. They are your friends here when you are visiting.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon_E_Diago, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest,
First of all, we want to tell you that it is our pleasure having with us and thank you for taking the time to tell others about your experience, your feedback is extremely important.
As you mentioned, NO ONE on the street should ask anybody for ID let alone any purchases you have made during your visit, if any one does it should be under the roof of a government managed establishment. We are sorry you had to experience this and we encourage you and all visitors to Bogota to be slicker than the “smart guys” and mistrust anyone who looks the slightest bit suspicious. We look forward to hosting you again and once again thank you for telling other travelers about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

821 - 827 of 2,108 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

I know it is cliche, but "you get what you pay for" is very apparent in Bogota. Having first booked a lesser hotel (which I left after first night) it was a pleasure to stay at the J.W. From the time you enter the hotel, to the time you leave, you are treated first class. Everything you expect from a 5 star hotel, but the Spa is very special. There is a large steam room, Jacuzzi, lap pool, fabulous shower with 5 shower heads, 4 on sides and one on top. The entire area is spotless. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon_E_Diago, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear guest,
It is great to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that the service provided to you by our associates was up to your standards of what a 5 star hotel should be, it is nice to know our Health Club was pleasing to you and we look forward to hosting you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Very luxurious and a great find. Bogota itself is a delightful city and this is probably it's finest hotel. Stayed here for business and found the food, beds and service all absolutely top notch - as good as anything I've seen in the US or Europe. Even the bomb sniffing dogs are friendly.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon_E_Diago, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit. It is wonderful to know you find us a fantastic hotel in the city of Bogota and that the services provided were pleasing to you, we do everything we can to make you feel welcome. We hope to have you back with us once again and thank you for choosing the JW Marriott on your business trip to Bogota.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is not the most beautiful JW Marriott, but it is comfortable. Unlike the lower end Marriott hotels such as Fairfield Inn, everything is ala carte. You pay for Internet service and breakfast, for example. This is hard to believe nowadays, especially in Colombia where most hotels offer both as part of the room rate. We stayed here on points for one night. The points did not include the aforementioned. We paid an additional US$60 for the privilege of staying on the concierge floor that included Internet and an excellent light dinner and breakfast buffet. So the hotel was nice but the experience overall was disappointing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon_E_Diago, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay with us. We are sorry the hotel did not meet your expectations, thank you for your visit and we hope you consider visiting us once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Bogota JW Marriott is hands down the nicest hotel I've ever stayed at (and I have stayed at quite a few hotels). There are endless fresh cut flowers in vases all over the hotel. The decor is modern and interesting. The hotel staff is friendly and very professional. I loved the room. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was exquisite. There is a gym and spa and also a place where you can do a currency exchange. The breakfast buffet is outstanding. I'd love the opportunity to stay here again. If you're in Bogota, you shouldn't consider staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlackCat_TravelPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon_E_Diago, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing us for your visit to Bogota. It is great to know you enjoyed your stay and it is more than our pleasure to offer you the best possible service. We are glad you liked the flower décor around the hotel as well as the establishments available to you. We certainly hope to have the pleasure of hosting you once again, and very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The JW Marriott Bogota Hotel is is a great location. Safe and has a Excellent staff with Updated rooms and a pleasure to stay at. The staff on the concierge level is one one best at the the J W Marriott Hotel chain . When I think of going to Bogota I know I am going to stay at the JWMarriott.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon_E_Diago, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing the JW Marriott on your visit to Bogota. We are glad that the location of the hotel as well as the safety and service were pleasing to you, it is always a pleasure to serve you and offer you the best JW experience. We look forward to hosting you again and thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

the staff was very accommodating the rooms were very nice the food was very good unless they always say you pay for what you get. this is an upscale hotel and going to pay a premium price. you will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deacon Vince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon_E_Diago, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us and other travelers about your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that the food was pleasing to you. We hope to have you with us again soon, and thank you for choosing the JW Marriott Bogota

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Hilton Bogota
#9 of 268 in Bogota
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Usaquén
W Bogota Hotel
W Bogota Hotel
#15 of 268 in Bogota
661 reviews
Bogota Marriott Hotel
#6 of 268 in Bogota
2,446 reviews
Morrison 114 Hotel
#2 of 268 in Bogota
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Bogota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Bogota

Address: Calle 73 8-60, Bogota 110221, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 268 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range: £121 - £365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Bogota 4.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Bogota Hotel is located at the heart of Bogota's financial and entertainment district. Our 5-star luxury hotel's location is ideal, close to corporate offices of major companies, the finest restaurants and bars of Zona G, Zona T, and 93rd St Park. Within our hotel, you will find an array of gastronomic and entertainment options. Get creative at The Market, a casual restaurant where you can choose from a variety of fresh ingredients to build you own pizzas, burgers, salads, and more. Indulge yourself at Tamarine, a chic restaurant that offers Asian fusion cuisine. Enjoy an authentic Japanese gastronomic experience at Nau Sushi Lounge, and try a variety of Sake based cocktails in a trendy and warm ambience. Relax and have fun at Circo, the spotlight where Bogota's upcoming music artists showcase their talents every night. Our hotel features a fully equipped fitness center, an indoor lap pool, an indoor Jacuzzi, a full service Spa with steam rooms, saunas, and six massage rooms. At the executive lounge on the 9th floor guests can have a complimentary breakfast, and in the evenings they can enjoy hors d'oeuvres and cocktails. All guest rooms at JW Marriott Bogota feature streaming speed Internet access, soundproof windows, and 300-thread count Egyptian cotton linen sheets to offer maximum comfort. Next time you visit Bogota on business or leisure, stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Bogota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing