We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, one of the best in Bogota”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Bogota
Ranked #1 of 269 Hotels in Bogota
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Beautiful hotel, as nice or nicer than the JW in Mexico City. Was a little disappointed at check-in. No rooms on Exec floors (7 and 9) and they wouldn't put me in a suite despite gold status. Have high floor on my Marriott pref, but ended up in a corner room on a lower floor. I have to admit though it's quite a room, despite the view literally into the office building next door (watched a guy play Solitare). Big bathroom with separate tub/shower. Nice high shower head with plenty of pressure. Mix of wood floors and carpet. The Exec lounge is staffed by lounge dragons outside who strictly enforce the 1 guest limit. They also charged for second drink at night. The view in the lounge is decent and the food is top of the line, though I prefer the simple foods so it was a little fancy for my tastes. 2 pieces of clothing can be pressed free of charge for Exec floor or gold/plat elites. Diana in the business center was outstanding and helped with a meeting I hosted there. About $40/hr for a 12 person conference room with laptop hookup into the flat screen, coffee, water and snacks. Despite the non-upgraded room on a low floor, I definitely plan to stay here every time I come back. In my opinion it's a small hotel and that may be an issue in getting upgrades, but the new hotel feel and staff are top notch

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C1sheepdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo S, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2016

Dear C1sheepdog:

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.

There are always many aspects we need to work on to make our hotel better and you have certainly helped us do that. We do look forward in the hope of being able to welcome you back in the near future to enjoy our improvements and give us the opportunity of serving you as you very well deserve

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,988)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,059 - 1,065 of 1,988 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2010

From reception to check-out, this spanking-new hotel was terrific. Security at the entrance is thorough and reassuring, and the lobby, which includes a pair of glass tube and live flame torches on the divider by the reception desk, is spacious and dramatic. Service during my late evening check-in was professional, polite, friendly and efficient.

My room on the 8th floor was great -- spacious, beautifully designed with Colombian decorative touches, and thoughtfully appointed. The bathroom was large and sparkling clean with separate toilet, tub and stall shower with strong water pressure. The bed was incredibly comfortable and fitted with soft, top-quality linens and pillows; also good lighting and an iHome docking clock radio. Nice work desk/chair and 42" LCD TV with plenty of international channels. Wireless internet, though not free, is available in 1 and 2 hour increments as well as a 24 hour pass, with the 1 hour option useful for catching up on email.

Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was exemplary -- large choice of well-prepared items that included an assortment of Colombian baked goods (e.g. almojabanas, buñuelos and pan de bono) and exotic local fruits cut open for scooping with a spoon. Smiling service, comfortable, well-lit, high-ceilinged room, and good strong coffee.

Check-out was a breeze -- and when I realized I didn't have pesos for a taxi, they quickly arranged for a cab to the airport and a voucher I could charge to the room: problem solved.

A first-class hotel in every way, providing cossetting, secure and stylish accommodation in a wonderful, hospitable city. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sputnik_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo S, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2016

Dear Sputnik_NYC:

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.

I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities and service experience were what you expected and deserve.

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

The hotel has been open about 2 months and it is clear that Marriott has made a huge investment. The high quality is evident everywhere and they clearly spared no expense. You can often get a room for $210-225 and in most other world markets, you'd probably pay $400+. If you want style and class, this is the hotel for you. (Note: The Charleston hotels are similar but at a much higher price usually so this is clearly the better value)

The hotel is fairly new so the staff is still getting a handle on things but I was very impressed. You will find the staff more formal here than in some other hotels in Bogota but that's to be expected. They take security VERY seriously here so if that is a concern to you, this is a good choice.

As with all hotels in Bogota, the staff will be in and out of your room all day long checking things so if you want privacy, absolutely make sure you put the do not disturb sign up.

Overall, I would rate this hotel highly for a business trip and if you want a romantic weekend.

Side note: They charge 32,000 COP for daily internet service and it is achingly slow. You will only be able to do basic internet tasks. Want to watch YouTube? Forget it!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonInHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo S, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2016

Dear JonInHouston:

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.

I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities and service experience were what you expected and deserve.

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Just finished an awesome trip to Colombia and stayed at the JW Marriott in Bogota which was clearly planned as the premier hotel in the capital. The JW opened just a month before my stay, so everything was brand new and squeaky clean. It was quite the place to be for the well heeled and there was no lack of handsome, well attired Bogotanos hanging around the bars and restaurants to check out the new place in town.

The architecture of the hotel is somewhat postmodern, but the real treat is in the styling which is very beautiful in an international style with a cool understated Colombian feel to the lobby and outdoor cocktail lounge areas. There's also a great coffee shop (Juan Valdez) on the corner of the hotel with a large outdoor area which has a great buzz filled with local university students and office workers.

There's no question the hotel employees are immensely proud to work for the hotel, and are all dressed immaculately in creaseless uniforms. The staff are very enthusiastic to help and there's no lack of 'holas' when walking between the front door and the guest elevator. Since my stay coincided with the presidential inauguration there was also a huge police and military presence at the hotel. The security felt a little invasive, but tight security is simply a fact of life in contemporary Colombia. The police are very friendly and a simple 'buenos dias' is enough to get a smile.

The best thing is the location. It's a short walk to shopping on Calle 82, or restaurants on Calle 68, and it's also within walking distance to Carrera 14 where you can catch the TransMilenio downtown to La Candelaria where the main museums are located. It's also within an afternoon's walking distance of Parque 93 along some lovely Bogota boulevards. The edgy / bohemian Chapinero is also within walking distance, and there's a mall only 1 block from the hotel which has a currency exchange.

One of the other great things about the hotel is their understanding of 'gringos' concerns about getting to know Bogota. While I don't mind winging it on public transit or mixing a 5 star experience with empanadas on the street, the hotel clearly understands a lot of travelers want an English speaking driver to get to/from meetings or tourist spots. They arranged a very charming driver to accompany me to some of the wonderful tourist locations including Monserrate and Villa de Leyva.

The room has everything expected of a hotel of this caliber including a separate bathtub and a lovely turndown service.

Overall, a true five star experience with friendly, real world employees to make a very comfortable and uniquely Colombian experience.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mmppwwzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo S, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2016

Dear mmppwwzz:

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.

I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities and service experience were what you expected and deserve.

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank CAROLINA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank monicalozadah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Service
1  Thank Nmart205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo S, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Hilton Bogota
#9 of 269 in Bogota
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Usaquén
W Bogota Hotel
W Bogota Hotel
#15 of 269 in Bogota
619 reviews
Bogota Marriott Hotel
#6 of 269 in Bogota
2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Bogota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Bogota

Address: Calle 73 8-60, Bogota 110221, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 269 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range: £125 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Bogota 4.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Bogota Hotel is located at the heart of Bogota's financial and entertainment district. Our 5-star luxury hotel's location is ideal, close to corporate offices of major companies, the finest restaurants and bars of Zona G, Zona T, and 93rd St Park. Within our hotel, you will find an array of gastronomic and entertainment options. Get creative at The Market, a casual restaurant where you can choose from a variety of fresh ingredients to build you own pizzas, burgers, salads, and more. Indulge yourself at Tamarine, a chic restaurant that offers Asian fusion cuisine. Enjoy an authentic Japanese gastronomic experience at Nau Sushi Lounge, and try a variety of Sake based cocktails in a trendy and warm ambience. Relax and have fun at Circo, the spotlight where Bogota's upcoming music artists showcase their talents every night. Our hotel features a fully equipped fitness center, an indoor lap pool, an indoor Jacuzzi, a full service Spa with steam rooms, saunas, and six massage rooms. At the executive lounge on the 9th floor guests can have a complimentary breakfast, and in the evenings they can enjoy hors d'oeuvres and cocktails. All guest rooms at JW Marriott Bogota feature streaming speed Internet access, soundproof windows, and 300-thread count Egyptian cotton linen sheets to offer maximum comfort. Next time you visit Bogota on business or leisure, stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Bogota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing