We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful, brand new 5 star in Zona Rose District of Bogota”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Bogota
Ranked #1 of 267 Hotels in Bogota
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Delightful, brand new 5 star in Zona Rose District of Bogota”
Reviewed 6 November 2010

The new JW Marriot is a truly 5 star hotel in the heart of the fashionable Zona Rosa District of Bogota. The rooms are large and well appointed, and the serivce was excellent (I don't give that compliment out very often). I will stay there again next time I am in Bogota.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gearhead85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo S, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, 5 October 2016
Dear Gearhead85:

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.

I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities and service experience were what you expected and deserve.

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,540
    247
    25
    19
    14
See reviews for
179
328
103
1,026
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

This brand new JW Marriott is now the best hotel in Bogota. JW has assembled an exceptional staff with of collective abundance of hotel experience and it shows from the moment you arrive. Upon arrival, you are greeted by the professional and friendly security staff which to me is a good sign. They do a comprehensive screening job without delaying your entry into the hotel. The lobby lounge is very elegant yet relaxing. Comfortably designed with couches, HD Tv's, a great bar with a solid staff, it was quite relaxing and enjoyable.
The front desk staff is wonderful. They handled every question and need I had. A very personal and professional staff. Ms. Diana Orrego was exceptional at her duties as she was more like a personal assistant and very helpful.
The room was very nice and the bed was outstanding. The bathroom is tastefully designed for form and function with natural stone accents. The shower was awesome. I was in a standard room however it was designed more like an upgraded room at other hotels.
The spa was great. Steam room, jacuzzi and indoor pool was top notch. The massage therapy was very relaxing. Very good staff.
The Executive Lounge was incredible. Ms. Stephanie Del Risco is the lounge manager and she runs one of the best lounges I have ever attended. Her staff is exceptional, the appetizers are heavenly and Ms. Risco herself is attentive, professional and makes a wonderful martini. The lounge is a perfect getaway within the hotel itself.
Overall the hotel will provide all that a business or leisure traveler will need and enjoy. The elegant feel is throughout the hotel and if this is important to you as it is to me, then this is the spot to be while in Bogota. The entire staff speaks perfect english. The hotel was also very well priced for all that you experience. Happy and safe travels....

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MI6007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo S, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, 5 October 2016
Dear MI6007:

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.

I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities and service experience were what you expected and deserve.

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

The Hotel is new and well furnished with nice soft touches but still maintaining the feel of a business mans hotel choice. The Staff are great , from the security and the dogs to the reception, restaurant staff to the cleaning staff all except the concierge who are Incredibly Wonderful ! The rooms and bathrooms are moderately large but well appointed. Good Beds and Pillows. Breakfast is Great and Quality of food in its F&B high. Location is good but not walking distance to any tourist destination although taxis are cheap and even the hotel taxis are very reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo S, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, 5 October 2016
Dear francc:

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.

I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities and service experience were what you expected and deserve.

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Beautiful hotel, as nice or nicer than the JW in Mexico City. Was a little disappointed at check-in. No rooms on Exec floors (7 and 9) and they wouldn't put me in a suite despite gold status. Have high floor on my Marriott pref, but ended up in a corner room on a lower floor. I have to admit though it's quite a room, despite the view literally into the office building next door (watched a guy play Solitare). Big bathroom with separate tub/shower. Nice high shower head with plenty of pressure. Mix of wood floors and carpet. The Exec lounge is staffed by lounge dragons outside who strictly enforce the 1 guest limit. They also charged for second drink at night. The view in the lounge is decent and the food is top of the line, though I prefer the simple foods so it was a little fancy for my tastes. 2 pieces of clothing can be pressed free of charge for Exec floor or gold/plat elites. Diana in the business center was outstanding and helped with a meeting I hosted there. About $40/hr for a 12 person conference room with laptop hookup into the flat screen, coffee, water and snacks. Despite the non-upgraded room on a low floor, I definitely plan to stay here every time I come back. In my opinion it's a small hotel and that may be an issue in getting upgrades, but the new hotel feel and staff are top notch

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C1sheepdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo S, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, 5 October 2016
Dear C1sheepdog:

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.

There are always many aspects we need to work on to make our hotel better and you have certainly helped us do that. We do look forward in the hope of being able to welcome you back in the near future to enjoy our improvements and give us the opportunity of serving you as you very well deserve

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

From reception to check-out, this spanking-new hotel was terrific. Security at the entrance is thorough and reassuring, and the lobby, which includes a pair of glass tube and live flame torches on the divider by the reception desk, is spacious and dramatic. Service during my late evening check-in was professional, polite, friendly and efficient.

My room on the 8th floor was great -- spacious, beautifully designed with Colombian decorative touches, and thoughtfully appointed. The bathroom was large and sparkling clean with separate toilet, tub and stall shower with strong water pressure. The bed was incredibly comfortable and fitted with soft, top-quality linens and pillows; also good lighting and an iHome docking clock radio. Nice work desk/chair and 42" LCD TV with plenty of international channels. Wireless internet, though not free, is available in 1 and 2 hour increments as well as a 24 hour pass, with the 1 hour option useful for catching up on email.

Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was exemplary -- large choice of well-prepared items that included an assortment of Colombian baked goods (e.g. almojabanas, buñuelos and pan de bono) and exotic local fruits cut open for scooping with a spoon. Smiling service, comfortable, well-lit, high-ceilinged room, and good strong coffee.

Check-out was a breeze -- and when I realized I didn't have pesos for a taxi, they quickly arranged for a cab to the airport and a voucher I could charge to the room: problem solved.

A first-class hotel in every way, providing cossetting, secure and stylish accommodation in a wonderful, hospitable city. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sputnik_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo S, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, 5 October 2016
Dear Sputnik_NYC:

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.

I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities and service experience were what you expected and deserve.

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

The hotel has been open about 2 months and it is clear that Marriott has made a huge investment. The high quality is evident everywhere and they clearly spared no expense. You can often get a room for $210-225 and in most other world markets, you'd probably pay $400+. If you want style and class, this is the hotel for you. (Note: The Charleston hotels are similar but at a much higher price usually so this is clearly the better value)

The hotel is fairly new so the staff is still getting a handle on things but I was very impressed. You will find the staff more formal here than in some other hotels in Bogota but that's to be expected. They take security VERY seriously here so if that is a concern to you, this is a good choice.

As with all hotels in Bogota, the staff will be in and out of your room all day long checking things so if you want privacy, absolutely make sure you put the do not disturb sign up.

Overall, I would rate this hotel highly for a business trip and if you want a romantic weekend.

Side note: They charge 32,000 COP for daily internet service and it is achingly slow. You will only be able to do basic internet tasks. Want to watch YouTube? Forget it!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonInHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo S, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, 5 October 2016
Dear JonInHouston:

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.

I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities and service experience were what you expected and deserve.

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Just finished an awesome trip to Colombia and stayed at the JW Marriott in Bogota which was clearly planned as the premier hotel in the capital. The JW opened just a month before my stay, so everything was brand new and squeaky clean. It was quite the place to be for the well heeled and there was no lack of handsome, well attired Bogotanos hanging around the bars and restaurants to check out the new place in town.

The architecture of the hotel is somewhat postmodern, but the real treat is in the styling which is very beautiful in an international style with a cool understated Colombian feel to the lobby and outdoor cocktail lounge areas. There's also a great coffee shop (Juan Valdez) on the corner of the hotel with a large outdoor area which has a great buzz filled with local university students and office workers.

There's no question the hotel employees are immensely proud to work for the hotel, and are all dressed immaculately in creaseless uniforms. The staff are very enthusiastic to help and there's no lack of 'holas' when walking between the front door and the guest elevator. Since my stay coincided with the presidential inauguration there was also a huge police and military presence at the hotel. The security felt a little invasive, but tight security is simply a fact of life in contemporary Colombia. The police are very friendly and a simple 'buenos dias' is enough to get a smile.

The best thing is the location. It's a short walk to shopping on Calle 82, or restaurants on Calle 68, and it's also within walking distance to Carrera 14 where you can catch the TransMilenio downtown to La Candelaria where the main museums are located. It's also within an afternoon's walking distance of Parque 93 along some lovely Bogota boulevards. The edgy / bohemian Chapinero is also within walking distance, and there's a mall only 1 block from the hotel which has a currency exchange.

One of the other great things about the hotel is their understanding of 'gringos' concerns about getting to know Bogota. While I don't mind winging it on public transit or mixing a 5 star experience with empanadas on the street, the hotel clearly understands a lot of travelers want an English speaking driver to get to/from meetings or tourist spots. They arranged a very charming driver to accompany me to some of the wonderful tourist locations including Monserrate and Villa de Leyva.

The room has everything expected of a hotel of this caliber including a separate bathtub and a lovely turndown service.

Overall, a true five star experience with friendly, real world employees to make a very comfortable and uniquely Colombian experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmppwwzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo S, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, 5 October 2016
Dear mmppwwzz:

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property.

I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities and service experience were what you expected and deserve.

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Bogota Victoria Regia
3.6 mi away
Bogota Marriott Hotel
Bogota Marriott Hotel
#7 of 267 in Bogota
2,299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Bogota
Hilton Bogota
#10 of 267 in Bogota
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
NH Collection Bogota Hacienda Royal
2.9 mi away
W Bogota Hotel
W Bogota Hotel
#16 of 267 in Bogota
585 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Casa Medina Bogota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Bogota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Bogota

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Bogota
Address: Calle 73 8-60, Bogota 110221, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 267 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Bogota 4.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Bogota Hotel is located at the heart of Bogota's financial and entertainment district. Our 5-star luxury hotel's location is ideal, close to corporate offices of major companies, the finest restaurants and bars of Zona G, Zona T, and 93rd St Park. Within our hotel, you will find an array of gastronomic and entertainment options. Get creative at The Market, a casual restaurant where you can choose from a variety of fresh ingredients to build you own pizzas, burgers, salads, and more. Indulge yourself at Tamarine, a chic restaurant that offers Asian fusion cuisine. Enjoy an authentic Japanese gastronomic experience at Nau Sushi Lounge, and try a variety of Sake based cocktails in a trendy and warm ambience. Relax and have fun at Circo, the spotlight where Bogota's upcoming music artists showcase their talents every night. Our hotel features a fully equipped fitness center, an indoor lap pool, an indoor Jacuzzi, a full service Spa with steam rooms, saunas, and six massage rooms. At the executive lounge on the 9th floor guests can have a complimentary breakfast, and in the evenings they can enjoy hors d'oeuvres and cocktails. All guest rooms at JW Marriott Bogota feature streaming speed Internet access, soundproof windows, and 300-thread count Egyptian cotton linen sheets to offer maximum comfort. Next time you visit Bogota on business or leisure, stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Bogota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing