We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hostel with bunk beds (dormitorios) close to Zona Rosa (preferred nightlife zone)”
Review of North House Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
North House Hostel
Ranked #100 of 296 Speciality Lodging in Bogota
Reviewed 20 November 2012

In large Latin American cities, there is a "price to pay" for being located in "the high rent district" (which in this case refers to "Zona Rosa"--the preferred location for enjoying nightlife in Bogota).

North House Hostel "bucks the trend" through offering the same low prices for dorm beds as found in Candelaria (historic city center), while offering a safe environment and ideal location (Northern end of Bogota).

Choose this hostel if you enjoy going for walks (day or night) in safe and well-maintained parks (near the location of many Embassies and Consulates), or in/around the vibrant nightlife zones of "Zona Rosa" and "Parque 93".

p.s. The owner (Andy) is a good guy!

Room Tip: Dorm Rooms are 6 guests/room...or...10 guests/room... "Splurge" a little, and pay a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrPaulTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oscar a, Manager at North House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Good afternoon, thanks for write this reviewed this is our motivation to improve the hostel every day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2012

This hostel has the best location in Bogota! It's a walking distance from Zona Rosa, where are all the bars, good restaurantes and nightclubs in the town. It's also very close from a Transmilenio Station. So in 20 minutes you can get to La Candelaria to visit the older part.

I wouldn't recommend any other Hostel in Bogotá!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PauloBrunet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oscar a, Manager at North House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Thanks paulo we had a great time with you guys and thinking about the nigthlife here in the zona rosa we have a great club with salsa party and free salsa clases, with one free beer every thursday salsa party and free salsa clases, and every tuesday we have a gringo tuesday for multicultural and exchange, language. thanks
att oscar ackermann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The kitchen is not equiped at all. If you ask for a way to enlight the oven the staff looks strange at if you do not have your own lighter. The dorm I was in was headed out to the main street. Not too bad if it hadn´t been for the pizza restaurante just outside. One of the three showers was flooded for 2 days with no info. The two other showers was next room to the kitchen. The two rooms was seperated by a glass door... The staff has close to no clue for where anything is, or how long it take to get there, and if they think they know they are not able to tell you. They have no sense of directions or timing. The staff use the computers to play music videoes (youtube) loud and if you ask them to turn it down bacause you try to have an conversation with anyone they do not understand why... The house phone could be ringing for long period of times because the staff could not hear it for all the loud music they played. When I called them that did not answere till the 5th phone call; i wish I had taken the hint. Some of the staff barely spoke english. In the dorm where I was there was no electrisity. Don´t they know that backpackers have lots of gadgets that they need to recharge? The door bell sounds like a fire alarm so everyone is, after a few days, told to just knock on the door. Why don´t they just disable it, kind of solve the problem once and for all?

Only good thing about this place it that it is in a safe area. But even so, the next time I will rather stay in a not-that-safe-area than at this place. The pizza place at ground level is good though, and cheap, and the service is good too. This hostel has something (a lot) to learn from the pizza place.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oscar a, Manager at North House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

thanks mr sverras for write this reviewed, we are very sorry to make you uncomfortable, but in this moment we are changing the staff, and the management style, right now we have change the showers, the ring, the internet service, we are improving the hostel and our principal concern are the guests again very sorry for this but this hostel is getting renewed every day. thanks for all.
att oscar ackermann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We splurged on the only private room with private bath, located off the backyard(60,000). After many hours, the hostel owner revealed there was no room key & no locker. The kitchen was filthy & had dishes piled everywhere & ashamedly the owner cleaned it himself, when he revealed he was having difficulty keeping cleaning help. Using the washing machine at 9pm caused a fuse to blow & there was no one available to assist us. In the lovely backyard, there was a party until 4AM, with loud laughter & techno music. The lounging furniture was horribly dusty. There was so much cigarette smoking, even indoors.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank homefreeUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We stayed in this hostel for the location near Zona Rosa and this is the only good side about it.
The hostel in general was dark (bad ilumination), the staff was new and have very few notions about the town or its surronds.
The toilets and the kitchen were dirty and stayed dirty for more than 24h.
A member of the staff was all the time in the internet using the computer destined to guest and playing loud music all over the night.
It's cheap and is near Zona Rosa, but is not woth staying there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JomarB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Nobody cleans the hostel, the guy who works there even know how we get in Montserrat and Usaquen by bus and where Villa de Leyva is. The worst hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank acariocaviajante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

I would say this place is about typical for a hostel, some annoyances, but overall worth the $12 bucks a night or so for a bed. I asked for the solo room and when I got there they said there was a problem with it, but the dorm ended up working out find anyways. They aren't the friendliest staff, but overall it worked fine. Location was perfect for the neighborhoods around there, a little far from the historic district, but safe.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mountj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Violeta Park Hostel
#71 of 296 in Bogota
35 reviews
Hotel B3 Virrey
#32 of 268 in Bogota
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Suites Real 97
#127 of 268 in Bogota
64 reviews
Chapinero
Hotel Vilar America
Hotel Vilar America
#36 of 268 in Bogota
437 reviews
Tequendama Suites Bogota
#234 of 268 in Bogota
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North House Hostel

Address: Calle 78, 24-10, Bogota, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 296 Speciality Lodging in Bogota
Price Range: £8 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North House Hostel is Bogota's newest hostel. Minutes away from the "Zona Rosa" and "Zona-T" famous for nightlife, dining and shopping. We are located in a safe neighborhood in the north of Bogota. Free wifi, bakery, laundry, guest kitchen, garden. Dorms from $6, Private from $15. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your North House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing