We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place to stay!”
Review of North House Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
North House Hostel
Ranked #82 of 290 Speciality Lodging in Bogota
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I stayed in this hostel at the beginning and the end of my trip in Colombia and it wasn´t a problem to leave very much of my luggage there. The staff, especially Oscar is super helpful and friendly. I think the place has almost everything you need: Clean and good facilities (although the showers weren´t very good), fast internet, a garden to relax, very comfortable beds, good kitchen and a good pizza place right next door. Public transportation and a huge supermarket are in walkable distance and there are many bars and restaurants in the neighboorhood. The hostel itself is a bit quite and the main attractions of Bogota are quite far away and it takes about 45 minutes by bus to get there...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelleKamelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

A quiet hostel.

The staff were kind of awkward and acted more like guests. Quite quiet. Good cleanliness. Showers aren't the best but do the job. Good kitchen. Decent value. Excellent location. Good value. Very safe area.

Rooms are decent enough, although some are quite dark. Make sure you bring a lock for the locker!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Pros:
- Oscar, the guy at the reception during the day is very helpful and extremely nice. He helped us with info on what to do in the city, called for reservations for our tickets to go to Salento, overall very helpful.
- Location is ideal if you want to be near the best eating places and party district in Bogota.
- Buses are easily accessible and Transmilenia station is about 10 minutes walk

Cons:
- Worst shower in all of South America. No joke. The shower has a 45 seconds rule. Turn on the hot water, when it is steaming hot, turn the cold water on tad bit, and get in the shower and count up to 45. Get out as soon as it is 45, the shower is about to turn ice cold. Shut off both knobs (hot and cold) and start over. I know this, coz I had no choice but to shower here multiple times. Miserable. 
- The room in the back, which we stayed in, double room with private bathroom, has storage as soon as you enter the room. The open storage has lots of stuff including a Potty.
- Cleaning starts really early in the morning and the walls are paper thin, sleeping in is not much of an option.
- If you don’t like cats (like me), stay away from this place

I would recommend this place based on the location and the very helpful and nice staff. After staying at 3 different Hostels in Bogota, I think, English speaking and helpful staff is what I would look for and not so much the room and quality of the rooms on a budget.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GotSumS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Located in a very safe area of Bogota, North House is a nice place to stay if you actually want to wander around on your own after dark. There are plenty of shops and bars in the immediate vicinity, and the pleasant Parque Virrey is only a short walk away. Tends to have an older than usual clientele. Downside: very, very few books to read!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
Thank Danny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

What a wonderful experience. Better than I had imagined.

Inside you´ll find very friendly and knowledgeable staff (good English language skills) and a very clean establishment. The kitchen and social areas are large and fully equipped. Great backyard with lovely, lush flowers for relaxing, chatting, having a smoke. The rooms are pretty standard hostel bunk-bed rooms, but there seemed to be more space than usual--maybe higher ceilings? Mattresses were in great shape. Linens and towels were included in the price and seemed pretty new. Bathrooms were the size of a normal home bathroom. They weren´t perfect--some broken tiles--but, there was always one available whenever I needed it. Hot water is also available 24/7. There are two computers with internet for free guest use. Interesting mix of guest nationalities.

Located in the Zona Rosa, there is a lot to do in this neighborhood. A lot of the shops and restaurants are quite exclusive and expensive, but there are plenty of budget friendly options, too. Right next door is a pizza place. Across the street is San Martin University, so there is always an interesting crowd hanging around outside.

I stayed here one night only with my daughter. The purpose of my trip was to take care of some Colombian visa business at the office of Ministerio de Relaciones Exteriores. It´s about a 30 or 45 minute walk or a $5,000 peso taxi ride. I definitely recommend this hostel for other foreigners who are living in Colombia and have to stay overnight in Bogotá for their visa "tramites". I hope not to have to go through the visa process again anytime soon; but if I do, I´ll stay at North House again.

For tourists in Bogotá, I would recommend dividing your stay in Bogotá between this hostel in the north of the city and another hostel in the Candelaria neighborhood. Sorry that I don´t have one to recommend in Candelaria. I can warn you against Alegria´s Hostel, though. That place is a nightmare!

Definitely, whether you are travelling from abroad or within Colombia, count on the North House!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annezwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

If you want to stay somewhere safer than La Candelaria in Bogotà then the Zona Rosa area is probably your best bet. It's a really smart modern area and the streets seem really safe. There are loads of malls, shops, bars and restaurants. The downside and reason most backpackers choose La Candelaria is that things round here are comparatively quite expensive.

This hostel is near the Los Heroes TransMilenio stop. It's small and has a small but we'll kept garden. We had a double room and use of the shared bathroom, which was fine. The hostel seemed fairly empty and quiet when we were there. Overall it's an adequate hostel but nothing amazing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Choccy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

In large Latin American cities, there is a "price to pay" for being located in "the high rent district" (which in this case refers to "Zona Rosa"--the preferred location for enjoying nightlife in Bogota).

North House Hostel "bucks the trend" through offering the same low prices for dorm beds as found in Candelaria (historic city center), while offering a safe environment and ideal location (Northern end of Bogota).

Choose this hostel if you enjoy going for walks (day or night) in safe and well-maintained parks (near the location of many Embassies and Consulates), or in/around the vibrant nightlife zones of "Zona Rosa" and "Parque 93".

p.s. The owner (Andy) is a good guy!

Room Tip: Dorm Rooms are 6 guests/room...or...10 guests/room... "Splurge" a little, and pay a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrPaulTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oscar a, Manager at North House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Good afternoon, thanks for write this reviewed this is our motivation to improve the hostel every day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
AK Hostel 82
#147 of 290 in Bogota
1 reviews
12:12 Hostels
#12 of 290 in Bogota
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
82Hostel
#33 of 290 in Bogota
171 reviews
Chapinero
Top Tours Accomodations
Top Tours Accomodations
#51 of 290 in Bogota
7 reviews
La Candelaria
Kozii hostel D.C
Kozii hostel D.C
#6 of 290 in Bogota
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North House Hostel

Address: Calle 78, 24-10, Bogota, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 290 Speciality Lodging in Bogota
Price Range: £9 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North House Hostel is Bogota's newest hostel. Minutes away from the "Zona Rosa" and "Zona-T" famous for nightlife, dining and shopping. We are located in a safe neighborhood in the north of Bogota. Free wifi, bakery, laundry, guest kitchen, garden. Dorms from $6, Private from $15. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your North House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing