We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location”
Review of Ibis Bogota Museo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ibis Bogota Museo
Ranked #52 of 268 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The first thing I would like to mention is the great location, right across from the Museo Nacional and very close to all the amenities you might need. There are a lot of affordable restaurants in the area and we tried all the street food as well, without any health issues. Street food seemed very tasty and affordable.
The room is very small and not a lot of storage space. Would have loved to have a bit more space, we felt that we were always bumping into things when walking around the room. Other than the liquid soap no other toiletries are offered( no shampoo, conditioner or moisturizer). found the liquid soap to be of low quality as well. we had a very good view of the mountains though
It was hard to find hotel staff who spoke English. do use an app for translation for communication purposes
Breakfast buffet was not included for us, but when we did go for the buffet it was hard to find a place to sit( between 8am and 9am) and there were a lot of empty trays around. had to wait to get the soup bowls, coffee to be refilled etc.
The service was excellent in terms of room cleaning etc. Found the room to be in great shape when we returned from our trips every day. The staff are indeed friendly
what I missed the most in the room was- a bit more space, a fridge or a microwave would have been great
what I loved most- location, location, location, the view from the room and the smiling faces around. would recommend this place to everyone

Room Tip: get a mountain view room at the end which means that you have easy access to the glass walled corne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vinsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 1,437 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

I really enjoyed this hotel. A full breakfast buffet was included and was fantastic. The location was great. It is within walking distance to Old Town and a major bus/transit stop is in front of the hotel. I will stay here if I return and I do plan to return.

Room Tip: I requested a room on a high floor. Instead, I was close to the elevator. Still, the hotel room are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wesboy1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I spend one week in this hotel and really felt confortable. Museo Nacional is on the other side of the street, the area is quiet with some bars and restaurants. The room is confortable, clean and spacious. the breakfast is self service, with fruits, bread, coffee, and many other things. People working there are very kind and helpful. Definitely a good option for your stay in Bogota'. I would surely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manuela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The best of this Hotel is that it's very good located in Bogotá. It's a few blocks to city center (wallking distance) and principal museums (Museo del Oro, Botero and the Nacional is just in front of hotel). The sourrondings are quiet and safety, and you can found many good restaurants.
The service of hotel is basic but complete and if you ask for a high level room you going to get an nice view from Bogota.
The price is affordable (around 50 or 65 u$s) so is a good value for your money in Bogotá

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarianoSchein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This is business hotel in Central Bogota, a little north of the historic colonial center of La Candelaria. The choice of hotel was made by working sponsors in Bogota and not by me. Having stayed in a number of Ibis hotels in South America, its décor is typical Ibis – rooms are small, relatively comfortable, with simple and functional furnishings. Amenities are non-existent. There is no baggage rack to place suitcase, so you have to use the seating bench space provided; room has no coffee maker, no drinking glasses, no iron, and there is only a hand soap dispenser and liquid soap dispenser in the bathroom. No hand towels or wash cloth are provided, and on two days of my six day stay, no bath mat provided. When wet, the bathroom floors are very very slippery, and quite dangerous. There is an in-room safe, and that was functioning.

The hotel lobby is quite spacious and bright. The small bar and restaurant extend from the lobby, and open as well on to an outdoor terrace. Breakfasts were quite sufficient. Each day there was a fresh platter of sliced fruit. Some days, not all, there was a basket of fruit containing bananas, apricots, mangoes, passionfruit and apples. Limited hot food was available: a rice dish with pieces of sausage and chicken, and a dubious scrambled egg with some greyish looking bits, which was not appetizing at all. A selection of cold meats and cheeses was also provided. I had late dinners there on two evenings. The rice dish with vegetables was very salty and far too heavy on the soy sauce which made it almost inedible. The traditional soup, Ajiaco made from potato, corn and chicken and served with avocado and rice, was really delicious! Service overall is very slow, and getting a coffee made during the day is even slower. The boys there need good customer service training – they seem more interested in playing around together, and asking for a cappuccino seems to be disruptive to their fun. Internet wifi was available throughout the hotel and rooms, and seemed to function well, even thought it was tediously slow later in the evenings. There were at least 5 power blackouts when I was there, but power was quickly restored within seconds or a few minutes. On checkout, even though I used no additional services of the hotel apart from printing flight boarding passes and paying for the cost of the paper, I was asked to pay an additional $25 US of charges. I asked for explanation and voiced my disagreement, and on checking, the checkout person found that the additional charges were incorrect. This is very poor service. The hotel needs to give very careful attention to quality of service and to detail of care.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTraveller08901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I always like to stay in Ibis for its location, price and consistency. You could expect what you will get the moment you book the hotel. However, this is not so true for this ibis.
My room is 1411. Its rain shower water pressure is so low that I couldn't get a good warm shower; the wifi is another failure, crawling like snail; towel wasn't change on the second day; hairs in toilet (not mine).
There wasn't a fridge provided in the room, so, I called up reception asked for some ice cube, but was asked to go down to restaurant to collect on my own. What ironic is, there is a paper left on my bed, stated that if I have a problem, they can solve it in 15 mins.
Location is ok, though quite long walk to the old city, but doable.
Check-in and check-out were slow, especially during peak hour.
Not every staff speak english.
I don't think I will come back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_freak_mas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I'd say this is my favorite Ibis but they are reliably all the same - - that is why I like the brand. I spent 5 nights at the hotel.

The location is excellent on Carrera 7 (a major street in Bogota) at the south end of the central business district surrounded by residential and office buildings, and universities, plus, of course, the National Museum directly across the street. The Museum of Modern Art is quite near too; ditto the bullring, which you can see from a window in the hotel hallway.

The area is filled with the kinds of shops and food establishments that office workers and students use. The highrise buildings directly across Carrera 7 are filled with retail of all sorts on the ground level inside the buildings.

I drink the water in Bogota but if you want to buy some there is a mini market directly across Carerra 7. For even more options go about 1/4 mile north on 7th to an Exito superstore (where there is a large electronics department if you need to pick up a big screen TV...or a gadget for your mobile device).

To me Ibis does a 5-star job of executing a 3 1/2 star room (amenities-wise). I especially like the desk space and extra shelving. The power plugs are well-positioned for use. The room is well lit. (It is BYO your own face tissue and wash cloth but that is true in many hotels too).

I was in room 1213, which looks north up Carrera 7. I think every room has a good view of some part of the city. Next time I will get a room looking south so I can see the Colpatria Tower light show.

The breakfast room is large enough to handle a crowd. The staff actively worked to keep the food replenished. They offered fairly well-cooked scrambled eggs plus one other hot item, cereals, yogurt, fruit, meats, cheeses, breads, rolls.

Fyi - at 4am when I checked out there was a crowd at the front desk! Apparently I am not the only person with a ridiculously early plane. The taxi driver I talked to earlier insisted one had to leave for the international airport 3 hours early even on a Saturday morning. It’s less than 30 minutes to the airport but the airport was very crowded when I got there. Besides getting through the line for your airline you first have to stand in line to get the tax exemption form. I can report that airport stores open up at 5:30am. The shop workers all greet each other as they open up their store gates. The concourse is their ‘street.’

And if you are in Bogota for business, dress very formally in dark suits. Local businessmen appear to have custom-made suits, very old-school; women are in dark clothes but some contemporary fashion choices appear to be acceptable.

If you want to blend in as a tourist wear dark clothes. Bogotanos do wear bright colors but mainly as a accent. It’s a long-pant climate and jeans are Ok.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandiinChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
NH Bogota Metrotel Royal
#71 of 268 in Bogota
466 reviews
Usaquén
Hotel Bogota 100
Hotel Bogota 100
#26 of 268 in Bogota
744 reviews
Chapinero
Hotel Vilar America
Hotel Vilar America
#35 of 268 in Bogota
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Usaquén
Charlies Place Hotel
Charlies Place Hotel
#73 of 268 in Bogota
294 reviews
NH Bogota Urban 26 Royal
#86 of 268 in Bogota
189 reviews
Hotel B3 Virrey
#33 of 268 in Bogota
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bogota Museo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bogota Museo

Address: Transversal 6, 27 - 85 | Centro Internacional, Bogota 11001, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bogota
#8 Best Value Hotel in Bogota
#47 Romantic Hotel in Bogota
#68 Business Hotel in Bogota
Price Range: £25 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Bogota Museo 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Bogotá Museo is located in Centro Internacional, the largest business district in Bogotá, to one side of the Museo Nacional, 15 minutes from the historic center of "La Candelaria" and 45 minutes from the airport. The rooms are equipped with bathroom, TV, soundproofed windows, safe and central air conditioning. The "Comes & Bebes" restaurant and bar has a 24-hour fast food service. We also have free Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the hotel and covered parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis Bogota Museo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bogota Museo Hotel Bogota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing