We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at a very reasonable rate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonesta Hotel Bogota
Ranked #25 of 265 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Sevilla
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great hotel at a very reasonable rate”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

As we discovered, outside of Cartagena, Colombia offers some of the lowest rates for quality accommodation anywhere in the world, and the Sonesta was no exception. A cool, modernist building in the Barrio Norte, just across from the Centro Comercial UniCentro, the rooms are fantastic with floor-to-ceiling windows (the staff lower the mechanized blinds each afternoon for privacy). Our only complaint with the room design was that the 2cm lip at the base of the walk-in shower is insufficient and water tends to flood the bathroom floor faster than it can drain via the shower drain, which means you will be doing some improvised mopping with a spare towel each morning. The included breakfast buffet was superb and the free WiFi worked perfectly. We had no security concerns at the hotel, or anywhere else in Bogotá for that matter. The closest TransMilenio Station is "Cl 127," which is a pleasant 1.5Km walk west of the hotel (with some nice places to eat and a grocery store next to the station). We used the TransMilenio extensively...it is a rather confusing/counter-intuitive system and the crush of humanity for most of the day rivals that of the Moscow or Tokyo metros at rush hour...whatever you do, do stock up on fare cards during the brief low periods as the line for tickets at other times at the Cl 127 station can exceed an hour. For our late night ride back to BOG, we used the hotel's car service (COP 40K each way) which was a massive improvement over the taxi ride from the airport and well worth the extra expense (do not even think of trying to take the TransMilenio to/from BOG if you have luggage). Overall, a great hotel and highly-recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrotamundosBetis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesar R, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear TrotamundosBetis

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, all of us are really glad to hear that you had such a great time in our hotel and in our city, regarding the issue in the bathroom we are already working on that, in order to prevent that a situation like that happen again. We would like to thank you for all of your comments and we hope to see you again at Sonesta Bogota really soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    285
    56
    18
    11
See reviews for
121
179
57
451
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Sonesta is part of a commercial building, called METRO 127.On the second floor, there is a hall for private events, such as birthdays, etc. Big parties, loud music until 1-2 a.m., and afternoon rehearsals. A nightmare for guests. Next day, they finally gave me a quiet room, at the other side of the building. I've find out, too late, that only in the rooms ending with numbers 31,32,33,34,35,36,37 and 38 ( or something like that ) you will be able to sleep. Considering I've got this information from members of the staff, I assume that previous reviews were posted by TA members who stayed in these rooms, or have been lucky enough to miss those parties.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesar R, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Mr. ABrasil

We would like to thank you for your comments and truly apologize for all the inconveniences that you had in our property, I would like to confirm to you that right now we are taking the right measures so we do not disturb our guest with the social events organized at the hotel due our principal goal is for you to have a really pleasant stay in our hotel, we hope to see you soon again at the hotel.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I stayed at Sonesta for a weekend while friends were visiting me in Bogota. First I have to say that I was very impressed with the staff and the room itself. Very clean, nice bathroom, and quiet. Room service was fantastic, easy access to Unicentro Mall (walking distance) and short taxi drive to Zona Rosa. Lots of places to eat and a good central location for lots of attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesar R, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Mrs. Jennifer G.

We would like to thank you for all your nice comments, all of our team is very glad to hear them because our principal goal is to make our guest feel like they are at home, thank you very much and we hope to have you in our hotel really soon again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Don´t dude in stay in this awesome hotel, is confortable, excellent service, rooms are clean and the people who works here are pretty nice and very efficiency. Food is great !!!! Sonesta Bogota I´ll see you until next time!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRR-GM, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Mr. Jose,

Please receive warm regards from Sonesta Hotel Bogota; it is fantastic to know that you are a frequent visitor of our beautiful city, thank you for sharing your opinion on tripadvisor.com. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoy our food at our restaurant and that you enjoyed the comfort of our guest rooms; at the same time we really appreciate your comments about our associates that make every effort possible to delight our guest. Once again thank you for your comments and we are looking forward to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Cesar Recalde R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

If you are ever in Bogota for business, this is a hotel to stay at, great location, a major mall across the street, 6 restaurants with in the same building, a major gym and spa. But the best things great staff, you I'm always happy when you see people who care. The even shine you shoes [FREE] any time. Good prices and a nice comfortable bed, great shower and more.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter, view is not the main item, and the elevators are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrp57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRR-GM, General Manager at Sonesta Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Please receive warm regards from Sonesta Hotel Bogota; it was a great pleasure to have you as our guest, thank you for your recent review of our hotel on tripadvisor.com. We are delighted to hear your opinion about our Hotel. To know that you recommend our hotel as “A great business hotel” tell us that our staff and hotel exceeded your expectations and that we have created a memorable experience for you. Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to your next visit to our City.

Best regards,


Cesar Recalde R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Well designed hotel with good sized rooms. Close to restaurants and mall. Its quiet and no noise from the roads. Wifi is free and has good with and coverage. Most of all us that the service is friendly fast and sincere.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Axel F E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRR-GM, General Manager at Sonesta Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Mr. Axel,

Please receive kind regards from Sonesta Hotel Bogota; it was a great pleasure to have you as our guest, thank you for your recent review of our hotel on tripadvisor.com. We are delighted to hear your opinion about our Hotel. To hear that our staff was friendly fast and sincere, it´s of great satisfaction for us. Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to your next visit to our City.

Sincerely,

Cesar Recalde R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I stayed at the Sonesta for a business trip that was booked by my local business partners. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the room and the staff. Overall, I couldn't have been happier with the room and the hotel restaurant. The hotel restaurant specializes in Peruvian food - it was great! The hotel is well located with a variety of other restaurant options in the immediate area. There is a casino in the same building as the hotel but it was really not up to American standards.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRR-GM, General Manager at Sonesta Hotel Bogota, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Mr. Steve,

Greetings from Sonesta Hotel Bogota; thank you for sharing your opinion on tripadvisor.com. We are delighted to hear that you had a great time at our hotel and that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms. It is fantastic to know that our guests find our hotel complex as very convenient for entertainment, shopping and comfort. Once again thank you for your comments and we are looking forward to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Cesar Recalde R.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Morrison 114 Hotel
#5 of 265 in Bogota
700 reviews
Usaquén
Bogota Plaza Summit Hotel
Bogota Plaza Summit Hotel
#24 of 265 in Bogota
739 reviews
BioHotel Organic Suites
#4 of 265 in Bogota
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster House
#38 of 265 in Bogota
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Hotel Bogota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel Bogota

Property: Sonesta Hotel Bogota
Address: Carrera 15A # 125-26, Bogota 110111, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bogota > Usaquén
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 265 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Hotel Bogota 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SONESTA BOGOTA HOTEL The Sonesta Bogota Hotel opens the doors to a modern and exclusive hotel in the north of Bogota opposite the Unicentro Shopping Mall and with a cutting edge design and sophisticated personalized services. Accommodation in the capital of Colombia designed for business travelers and visitors seeking a comfortable hotel for their vacations and getaway breaks to Bogota. Book a great place to rest with the maximum guarantees in this Bogota hotel with free Wi-Fi, restaurant, meeting rooms, car park... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sonesta Hotel Bogota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing