We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to crash in Bogota”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Masaya Hostel Bogota
Ranked #1 of 290 Speciality Lodging in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Spent two nights here on the back end of a 3 week trip to Colombia. My two friends and I stayed in one of the dorms near the back, and the beds were way more comfortable than any of the hostels we stayed in on the trip. The little privacy curtains were great for keeping out other people's bright reading lights. In the evenings it was nice to find a good group of people in the inner courtyard lounge with the TVs (it helped that Pulp Fiction was on in the background). We even got in a few dartboard games in the 2nd courtyard.

The location was alright for being in the historic district, and a few steps from the Banco de la Republica if you're really into Botero works. The plaza down from the hostel is just ok, but at the very least lively. All in all I would stay here next time I'm town.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmart134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

202 - 208 of 633 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Way to noisy, because of the neighbours. Very loud music every single night, we stayed here 3 nights in double bedroom nr 1. Staff says its not their fault, but the neighbours. Very overpriced, small room, bed was terrible! Location is good, but after 3 nights loud music we definetly will not go back here!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark140719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas P, Propriétaire at Masaya Hostel Bogota, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your opinion! We take very seriously your opinion into consideration.
We changed the bed settings to better accommodate our customers.
Independently we are very sorry for the noisy experience you had while staying with us! This was caused by the inauguration of the restaurant next door during the Christmas season.

We are very sorry for the inconvenience that as caused during your stay.
Thank you for your feedbacks; this helps us improving the service we offer daily.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I spent 1 night on 2 different occasions and everything is well thought to make you feel like home.
The place is clean, big and offers different accomodation: private rooms, dormitorios (for girls/ for boys/ mixed), a bar/ restaurant, 3 computers to go online, and surely I forgot other commodities!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwadolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I picked Masaya hostel for a two night stay in Bogota. The place was located in a nice section of Bogota and the rooms were clean. I enjoyed the clean rooms and the staff were nice. However, the service could have been more attentive.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed here one night while in Bogota. We had a room with a private bath. Very clean and worked well for us. I will say the walls are a bit thin, but after 10 PM the staff enforces quiet time. A nice breakfast was provided with our rate package. Wifi worked well and the common areas were quite nice.

The front desk staff was very helpful and arranged a nice tour of the Catedral de Sal for us. The hostel's location was great for walking and exploring and was a couple blocks from public transit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNSQ575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I stayed here for a few nights while in Bogota, I had a really good time there. The area in La Candeleria is really good, with much too see around. The staff was extremely helpful and too some time to recommend me the best places to see in Bogota! The only reproach I can make is that the hostel was REALLY quiet at night, we couldn't drink after 10 pm and had to talk really quietly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hagegebenjamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

However contradictory it sounds, it is true: every bed has curtains all around, which is the first I've seen so far.
Other than that: great location (although really hard to find, with a lot of Calle 12: 12c, 12d, etc). I just ended up asking 2 policias to get there (so some command of Spanish would be needed).
Wifi quite ok, and there're 2 stationary (free) computers in the common room.
Also very clean, but towels are around 2$ (if you don't have yours).
Location-wise very convenient to stay in Candelaria, and staff is very helpful

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olya_Sanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Chapinero
Hotel Vilar America
Hotel Vilar America
#38 of 269 in Bogota
403 reviews
Hotel B3 Virrey
#33 of 269 in Bogota
910 reviews
La Candelaria
Explora Hostels
Explora Hostels
#3 of 290 in Bogota
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Candelaria
Fernweh Photography Hostel
The Cranky Croc Hostel
#6 of 290 in Bogota
304 reviews
La Candelaria
Casa Bellavista Hostel
Casa Bellavista Hostel
#9 of 290 in Bogota
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masaya Hostel Bogota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masaya Hostel Bogota

Address: Carrera 2 # 12-48 | La Candelaria, Bogota 111711, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 290 Speciality Lodging in Bogota
Price Range: £9 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Masaya Hostel Bogota 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a new generation Hostel, Masaya Hostel Bogota wisely mixes the spirit of a hostel with hotel comfort. In a national heritage listed Colonial house of 750 m2 and in the heart of la Candelaria, Masaya Hostel Bogota has superior comfort, a wide offering of services and a variety of planned events to soak you with Colombian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Masaya Hostel Bogota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing