We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice but wife didn't work in our room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Masaya Hostel Bogota
Ranked #1 of 299 Speciality Lodging in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just like the title of this really. Liked the hostel, friendly and helpful staff and good breakfast but our room couldn't pick up with (wife and I had private room) which was annoying as we were trying to plan ahead. But seemed like pretty much everywhere else it was fine

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank brianshortall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas P, Gérant at Masaya Hostel Bogota, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Good afternoon,

Thank you for choosing Masaya as your accommodation during your stay in Bogota.
2 years ago, we decided to begin our project in one of the best place of the capital: La Candelaria. We want to share our experience with our customers and it's a very nice satisfaction for us that you appreciated our concept!!!!
we are sorry for the problem of connection during your stay

You can also discover “la Buena Onda” of Masaya Santa Marta in the Caraibe Coast!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 646 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Despite plenty of options (some considerably cheaper) email decided to stay here based on the positive feedback we researched online.

Firstly I would like to say that the hostel is very well located for those wishing to explore beautiful La Candelaria and the rooms and decor are very appealing.

However we were disappointed with the poor service we received from the reception staff which included amongst other things; them receiving a laundry order from us (local charge which was absolutely fine) but I did did not expect the same bag of laundry to be returned to me 2 days later still unclean having already paid upfront. This was disappointing and also inconvenient as we were departing that afternoon. In fairness to the guy on the desk he did refund us after our remonstrations.

One of the attractions at the time of the booking was also the bar which was currently under mass refurbishment along with the first courtyard (again not a problem on itself, but some notice would have been nice, particularly as the refurb work seemed to be active from early hours, containing into early evening almost directly outside of our room.)

A simple heads-up at the time of booking or check in would have been appreciated.

If returning to Bogota I would stay elsewhere before trying Masaya again and advice others the same.

The wifi also did not work as advertised during our stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank RjE_BHX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas P, Gérant at Masaya Hostel Bogota, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Good afternoon,

We take very seriously your opinion into consideration. It’s true that actually we renovate the bar of the hostel during your stay but now the bar it’s over and totally new.

About the laundry, we spoke with the staff to avoid this type of mistake next time. We hope that you appreciated the atmosphere of the hostel and that you spent a pleasant stay in Bogota and Colombia!!

We are sorry for the inconvenience that as caused during your stay; this helps us improving the service we offer daily.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

A very nice place to stay in Bogota. The staff is really friendly and makes sure that it is not too noisy at night, which I really appreciated. There is a lot of common space to hang out if you want to and breakfast was good! I also loved the shower. It was a normal one (not an electric one) with great water pressure and nice temperature. I would definitely go back!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Wijga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas P, Gérant at Masaya Hostel Bogota, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Good morning,

Thank you for your advise about the hostel! We are very satisfied that you appreciated the cleanliness, the comfort and the professionalism of our employees of Masaya.
Avoid the noise during the night is very important for us to assure the tranquillityt!!

You can follow us on our Facebook page: Masaya hostel Bogota!!

Best regards and see you soon in Masaya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hostel was in a central location in la candelaria. The staff provided suggestions for activities and restaurants. Good common space, 3 computers and internet that works in the common areas. The breakfast is good as well, but is not included in the price of a shared room.

The rooms were decent - be sure to mention what type of room you want - dorm, double, all girls, etc. It is not a party hostel so good for the traveler who doesn't want to be kept up all night by loud revelers. I stayed next to a large dorm with 10 beds and they were quite loud, so be sure to bring ear plugs. Also, there was only one bathroom with 2 working showers for all the women in the hostel - so you may have to wait in line.

Overall, the experience was very good and I would stay there again if I was passing through Bogota but would assure I got a private room. If you can, bring along your own towel, albeit a rental is quite cheap.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas P, Gérant at Masaya Hostel Bogota, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your opinion! We are satisfied that you appreciated your stay in our hostel. It's true that our hostel is not an party but a cultural hostel with our different activities around the culture of the country (dancing class, karaoke, concert with local artist...)

You can follow us on our Facebook page: Masaya Bogota and discover our hostel Masaya Santa Marta in the Coast Caribe!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

However, one of the staff told us to walk through a tough slum to get to Montserrate...and we nearly got mugged! its only a $3 cab ride...why they didn't recommend this is beyond me...felt it was terribly irresponsible of them to suggest this when even locals don't do this! aside from that, i had a brilliant stay...enough to make up for the near mugging. Lots of places to socialize..garden...bar...kitchen...pool table, tv room, courtyard! the rooms...LOVE the bunk beds with curtains! Tidy bathroom though the shower needs hooks! Great location, in Candelaria in the heart of Bogota walking distance to everything...but don't walk to montserrate...

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas P, Gérant at Masaya Hostel Bogota, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Good morning,

Thank you for choosing Masaya as your accommodation during your stay in Colombia! we are very satisfied that you appreciated the service and the cultural activities of our hostel!!!
we hope that you spent a good time in Colombia!!

You can follow us on Facebook "Masaya hostel Bogota" to see all the news about the hostel and the country!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Awesome setup with tons of common space to chill out. Full kitchen, some sort of renovations going on when I was there, I think they are adding a bar/kitchen but don't quote me on that. Construction wasn't overly distracting. Front desk people were great and helpful. Only downside is noise travels and an almost unbelievable rate into rooms. They do a good job of asking people to be courteous of others later in the evening, but in your room you can hear even faint conversation (at least this was true in the rooms off the back courtyard). Hostel has a cat with 3 small kittens to keep you company. Usually keep to their own, but are quite happy to be pet and played with. Drinks are reasonably priced as well. Insulation is poor, so if you're a cold sleeper, consider extra sleeping sheets/bag. You could probably ask the front for one as well.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank Ebell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This hostel was very friendly and relaxed, it was a nice place to spend the evenings just lounging around - it was cool how all the common areas were open-air, although when it started raining that was not the best.
The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, and the location was great - it was easy to walk to different tour offices and all the museums, as well as lots of restaurants and cafés.

A few things were not 100% ideal - the bunk beds were *very* low, and I am not that tall, so someone taller would probably be really uncomfortable. Also the bathroom was a walk down and up a lot of stairs, which is a bit difficult in the middle of the night! They did have the nicest showers I've ever seen in a hostel, though!
Generally very clean and well-maintained though. Would recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isobel206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas P, Gérant at Masaya Hostel Bogota, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Good afternoon,

Thank you for your comments!! We hope that you spent a pleasant time in Bogota. It's a nice reward for us that you enjoyed your experience in our hostel.

You can follow us on our Facebook page: Masaya hostel Bogota to see all the news about masaya and Colombia!

You can also live the local experience of masaya Santa Marta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Chapinero
Hotel Vilar America
Hotel Vilar America
#35 of 268 in Bogota
447 reviews
La Candelaria
Explora Hostels
Explora Hostels
#5 of 299 in Bogota
210 reviews
La Candelaria
Fernweh Photography Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Cranky Croc Hostel
#7 of 299 in Bogota
305 reviews
La Candelaria
Casa Bellavista Hostel
Casa Bellavista Hostel
#13 of 299 in Bogota
258 reviews
La Candelaria
Kozii hostel D.C
Kozii hostel D.C
#6 of 299 in Bogota
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masaya Hostel Bogota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masaya Hostel Bogota

Address: Carrera 2 # 12-48 | La Candelaria, Bogota 111711, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 299 Speciality Lodging in Bogota
Price Range: £20 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Masaya Hostel Bogota 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a new generation Hostel, Masaya Hostel Bogota wisely mixes the spirit of a hostel with hotel comfort. In a national heritage listed Colonial house of 750 m2 and in the heart of la Candelaria, Masaya Hostel Bogota has superior comfort, a wide offering of services and a variety of planned events to soak you with Colombian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Masaya Hostel Bogota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing