We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Masaya Hostel Bogota

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Masaya Hostel Bogota
Ranked #1 of 239 Speciality Lodging in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice and fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I stayed there 3 days and it was great! There is a restaurant next to the hostel that offers very nice tapas!!! It is located in the Candelaria, which is basically the historic center of Bogota... Ask what you want to the staff... they will help you

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    145
    44
    15
    6
See reviews for
19
163
159
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Just like the title of this really. Liked the hostel, friendly and helpful staff and good breakfast but our room couldn't pick up with (wife and I had private room) which was annoying as we were trying to plan ahead. But seemed like pretty much everywhere else it was fine

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brianshortall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas P, Gérant at Masaya Hostel Bogota, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Good afternoon,

Thank you for choosing Masaya as your accommodation during your stay in Bogota.
2 years ago, we decided to begin our project in one of the best place of the capital: La Candelaria. We want to share our experience with our customers and it's a very nice satisfaction for us that you appreciated our concept!!!!
we are sorry for the problem of connection during your stay

You can also discover “la Buena Onda” of Masaya Santa Marta in the Caraibe Coast!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Despite plenty of options (some considerably cheaper) email decided to stay here based on the positive feedback we researched online.

Firstly I would like to say that the hostel is very well located for those wishing to explore beautiful La Candelaria and the rooms and decor are very appealing.

However we were disappointed with the poor service we received from the reception staff which included amongst other things; them receiving a laundry order from us (local charge which was absolutely fine) but I did did not expect the same bag of laundry to be returned to me 2 days later still unclean having already paid upfront. This was disappointing and also inconvenient as we were departing that afternoon. In fairness to the guy on the desk he did refund us after our remonstrations.

One of the attractions at the time of the booking was also the bar which was currently under mass refurbishment along with the first courtyard (again not a problem on itself, but some notice would have been nice, particularly as the refurb work seemed to be active from early hours, containing into early evening almost directly outside of our room.)

A simple heads-up at the time of booking or check in would have been appreciated.

If returning to Bogota I would stay elsewhere before trying Masaya again and advice others the same.

The wifi also did not work as advertised during our stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RjE_BHX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas P, Gérant at Masaya Hostel Bogota, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Good afternoon,

We take very seriously your opinion into consideration. It’s true that actually we renovate the bar of the hostel during your stay but now the bar it’s over and totally new.

About the laundry, we spoke with the staff to avoid this type of mistake next time. We hope that you appreciated the atmosphere of the hostel and that you spent a pleasant stay in Bogota and Colombia!!

We are sorry for the inconvenience that as caused during your stay; this helps us improving the service we offer daily.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

A very nice place to stay in Bogota. The staff is really friendly and makes sure that it is not too noisy at night, which I really appreciated. There is a lot of common space to hang out if you want to and breakfast was good! I also loved the shower. It was a normal one (not an electric one) with great water pressure and nice temperature. I would definitely go back!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Wijga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas P, Gérant at Masaya Hostel Bogota, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for your advise about the hostel! We are very satisfied that you appreciated the cleanliness, the comfort and the professionalism of our employees of Masaya.
Avoid the noise during the night is very important for us to assure the tranquillityt!!

You can follow us on our Facebook page: Masaya hostel Bogota!!

Best regards and see you soon in Masaya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hostel was in a central location in la candelaria. The staff provided suggestions for activities and restaurants. Good common space, 3 computers and internet that works in the common areas. The breakfast is good as well, but is not included in the price of a shared room.

The rooms were decent - be sure to mention what type of room you want - dorm, double, all girls, etc. It is not a party hostel so good for the traveler who doesn't want to be kept up all night by loud revelers. I stayed next to a large dorm with 10 beds and they were quite loud, so be sure to bring ear plugs. Also, there was only one bathroom with 2 working showers for all the women in the hostel - so you may have to wait in line.

Overall, the experience was very good and I would stay there again if I was passing through Bogota but would assure I got a private room. If you can, bring along your own towel, albeit a rental is quite cheap.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas P, Gérant at Masaya Hostel Bogota, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your opinion! We are satisfied that you appreciated your stay in our hostel. It's true that our hostel is not an party but a cultural hostel with our different activities around the culture of the country (dancing class, karaoke, concert with local artist...)

You can follow us on our Facebook page: Masaya Bogota and discover our hostel Masaya Santa Marta in the Coast Caribe!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

However, one of the staff told us to walk through a tough slum to get to Montserrate...and we nearly got mugged! its only a $3 cab ride...why they didn't recommend this is beyond me...felt it was terribly irresponsible of them to suggest this when even locals don't do this! aside from that, i had a brilliant stay...enough to make up for the near mugging. Lots of places to socialize..garden...bar...kitchen...pool table, tv room, courtyard! the rooms...LOVE the bunk beds with curtains! Tidy bathroom though the shower needs hooks! Great location, in Candelaria in the heart of Bogota walking distance to everything...but don't walk to montserrate...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicolas P, Gérant at Masaya Hostel Bogota, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for choosing Masaya as your accommodation during your stay in Colombia! we are very satisfied that you appreciated the service and the cultural activities of our hostel!!!
we hope that you spent a good time in Colombia!!

You can follow us on Facebook "Masaya hostel Bogota" to see all the news about the hostel and the country!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Awesome setup with tons of common space to chill out. Full kitchen, some sort of renovations going on when I was there, I think they are adding a bar/kitchen but don't quote me on that. Construction wasn't overly distracting. Front desk people were great and helpful. Only downside is noise travels and an almost unbelievable rate into rooms. They do a good job of asking people to be courteous of others later in the evening, but in your room you can hear even faint conversation (at least this was true in the rooms off the back courtyard). Hostel has a cat with 3 small kittens to keep you company. Usually keep to their own, but are quite happy to be pet and played with. Drinks are reasonably priced as well. Insulation is poor, so if you're a cold sleeper, consider extra sleeping sheets/bag. You could probably ask the front for one as well.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ebell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Hotel Casa Deco
#13 of 267 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel de la Opera
Hotel de la Opera
#41 of 267 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Usaquén
Hotel Bogota 100
Hotel Bogota 100
#35 of 267 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Bogota Museo
#45 of 267 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
La Candelaria
Fernweh Photography Hostel
La Candelaria
Casa Bellavista Hostel
Casa Bellavista Hostel
#12 of 239 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Masaya Hostel Bogota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masaya Hostel Bogota

Property: Masaya Hostel Bogota
Address: Carrera 2 # 12-48 | La Candelaria, Bogota 111711, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 239 Speciality Lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Masaya Hostel Bogota 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a new generation Hostel, Masaya Hostel Bogota wisely mixes the spirit of a hostel with hotel comfort. In a national heritage listed Colonial house of 750 m2 and in the heart of la Candelaria, Masaya Hostel Bogota has superior comfort, a wide offering of services and a variety of planned events to soak you with Colombian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Masaya Hostel Bogota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing