We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place to visit”

Jardin Botanico de Bogota Jose Celestino Mutis
Book In Advance
More Info
US$79.00*
and up
Private Tour: Botanical Garden José Celestino Mutis of Bogotá
Ranked #8 of 316 things to do in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A massive and well-maintained botanical garden with a variety of different areas, including an exhibit of 5,000 indigenous orchids.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
195 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Amazing place to visit”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is an Amazing place to visit, when you go there, it sits down and surrounded by trees and you do not even know or feel like you are in a huge city like Bogota of 8 mil persons. They have so many plants and greenhouses, so much to see, it is a wonderful place to visit, worthwhile and a must see.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JM0003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    673
    308
    83
    17
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice to see the fauna”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

It is nice to see the flora and fauna of Colombia. I went with my spanish class, and since I'm not that interested in plants and stuff, I didn't find this too interesting. Our guide was also speaking in spanish, so that complicated some things for me. Although I'm glad I went.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikkel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Nice walk. Not sure if there is an English tour but I tried to follow along to the best of my ability to the Spanish guide.
A nice way to spend an afternoon if you don't get rained out. Also, very affordable.
Butterfly conservatory was closed when I went though.

Helpful?
2 Thank ri-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dont be disaappointed”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The Botanical garden was nice but with all the vegetation in Colombia and it being the source of all roses shipped to US I was expecting more. The best part of the Garden was the enclosed tropical garden and Orchids. Roses were ordinary and I have seen better elsewhere. 60 and over are free to enter.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank PRasuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
877 reviews
434 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 520 helpful votes
“Be sure to visit the butterfly garaden”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

If you have extra time in Bogota, this is a lovely spot to visit. The plant and flower displays are well marked. Don't miss the Butterfly house! Nice bathrooms are available too.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jardin Botanico de Bogota Jose Celestino Mutis also viewed

 

Been to Jardin Botanico de Bogota Jose Celestino Mutis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing