We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming little hotel”
Review of Hotel Casa Galeria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Casa Galeria
Ranked #4 of 302 Bogota B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming little hotel”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Casa Galeria is small and intimate, on a fun street in the old/student area of Bogota. NO-one who worked there when we visited spoke a word of English, but that didn't matter. They were absolutely lovely and through a combination of charades and pictionary we managed to communicate everything we needed to. They made delicious breakfasts for us every day as well as a bonus hot drink one evening when it was chilly. No idea what the drink was, but it was delicious. They also brought us extra blankets and even a HOT WATER BOTTLE when it was cold at night. We'd definitely return.

Room Tip: Request a room with ensuite. Don't be afraid to ask for an extra blanket.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevoHawtho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Casa G, Gerente at Hotel Casa Galeria, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por alojarse con nosotros, fue un gran gusto haberles atendido, y nos encanta saber que el mejor idioma para comunicarnos es el de la cordialidad, amabilidad y servicio, Para los noches frías de Bogotá ofrecemos Canelazo, es la bebida que tomaron, es la bebida típica, elaborada con panela, aguardiente y astillas de canela.

Esperamos verlos pronto de nuevo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    22
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
43
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pereira, Colombia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hospitality I received at Casa Galeria was above and beyond what I expected. I felt right at home. The staff was incredible in helping me with my very hectic 1 day in Bogotá - I was in the process of getting a visa and wanted to see a little of the city as well. I arrived at 1am because of a delayed flight and I felt welcome the second Claudia opened the door. On the day I left, Claudia even woke up to make me breakfast at 4:30am - that's very rare these days! The location is great - not too far from all of the attractions in La Candelaria - although late at night it can get a bit dodgy. During the day, everything is safe and lively.
I will have to return to Bogotá frequently and I would be happy to stay at Casa Galeria each time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadicniko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Casa G, Gerente at Hotel Casa Galeria, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Google Translation
Es para todo el equipo un placer hacer sentir a gusto a nuestros Huéspedes y mostrar lo más lindo de Colombia: Su gente.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

A great place to stay, mostly because of the wonderful staff who make you feel at home. This is not a luxury stay but it fits perfectly with the area. Beautifully painted courtyards and great cafe conjoined. You are right in the heart of it here but feel safe at all times. Best thing for me was the wonderful conversations with the staff over breakfast! I will definitely stay here again when I come to the Candelaria.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seem OK, mine was the closest to the cafe and the street but I never heard a sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadbadAdze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Casa G, Gerente at Hotel Casa Galeria, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Google Translation
¡Gracias por escribir! En el hotel también nos alegró mucho tu visita, Nos alegra que hayas disfrutado la estadía y los partidos! Sin duda una persona muy especial.

De parte de todo el personal en Casa Galería esperamos que vuelvas pronto.
¡Este es tu hogar en Bogotá!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed 7 days at Casa Galeria during our visit to Colombia.

Hotel Casa Galeria is a small rustic hotel/hostel located in the old part of Bogota called "La Candelaria". The hotel is a little hard to find even for taxi drivers because it is located in an alley way where no cars are allowed. Casa Galeria is in walking distance to most attractions in the old town of Bogota like the Gold Museum, Botero Museum and Cerro de Monserrate to name a few.

The rooms are simple but clean and the beds are comfortable, the rooms have a TV, Safe and WiFi. The bathrooms are shared with another room and are very small. On our visit the hotel was not busy so we had no neighbors nor did we have to share the bathroom, however sharing the small bathroom would have been very uncomfortable, even awkward, we could not have given casa Galeria 4 stars.

Breakfast consist of eggs with bread, juice and coffee. It is not a big breakfast but it is sufficient although it gets a little repetive after a week.

The staff and owner are very friendly and helpful and will assist you with any question you might have. The hotel has a little coffee shop, open daily until 6 pm.

There are several restaurants around Casa Galeria and the area felt safe, there is a large police presence however pay attention when you walk around, unfortunately tourist are targeted by thieves and con-artists. Keep your important papers in the hotel safe.

There are several universities in the area with students expressing their opinion with graffiti; most buildings are covered with graffiti and tags, even the historical buildings.

The airport has a ATM at the departure area upstairs if you need Colombian pesos.

We took several tour in and around Bogota. We found Colombia to be beautiful. We highly recommend Andres Alvarez who can organize all your needs; Andres.alvarez@bogotapass.com

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingdutchmanblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Casa G, Gerente at Hotel Casa Galeria, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Google Translation
Hola Flyingdutchmanblue

Sobre el comentario del menú del desayuno, podías solicitar cambios o cualquier plato al ama de llaves. Sin embargo, tomamos en cuenta tu recomendación, ya que nuestro compromiso es hacer de Casa Galería un espacio con todo el calor de hogar posible.

Agradecemos destacar la sencillez de la casa, pues es la típica casa doméstica de la época Republicana, y queremos mantener la sencillez con la comodidad para nuestros huéspedes.

Esperamos que puedan volver y aprovechar lo mejor de Bogotá en una próxima oportunidad

Saludos.
Jeanet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed in Casa Galeria for 5 nights and had a wonderful time. Located right in the heart of the old town (La Candelaria), the hotel is well placed to reach all of the city centre attractions including the Museo del'Oro and the Sancctuary at the top of Monserrate. Claudia and all of teh team made us feel very welcome and went out of their way to help us, cooked fabulous breakfasts and ordered cabs whever we needed to go. The room was comfortable and clean and the service very homely.

In good weather the couyrtyard is delightful.

Thank you all for such a friendly stay.

Room Tip: Room 1 was lovely, but there are rooms further back in the hotel that are a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanet H, Gerente at Hotel Casa Galeria, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. It was a pleasure having you. We are glad you enjoyed your trip around the city

Remeber, This is you Home in Bogotá. Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

this was our first stop in Colombia and I must say one of the best. the staff also prepared breakfast for us - freshly squeezed juices, freshly made arepas etc. the location is really nice - it's a walking distance to the most interesting spots. the hotel is a small cute house with several rooms and a common kitchen and dining room. it has also a room with a computer and internet. everything was clean and neat and felt really natural.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zmaja1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanet H, Gerente at Hotel Casa Galeria, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thanks alot for your comment. was a pleasure to having you.
We Hope you come back soon. This is your Home in Bogotá.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

a really lovely little B&B. staff are very friendly and accommodating, however only Jeanet speaks English, so if you don't speak Spanish you might have a bit of trouble.
Location is great, we could easily walk to the museum areas and even walked to the gondola base of Monserrate. There are a lot of students and bars around this place, so lots of options for the evening.
My only real complaint is that they state on their website that there's 24/7 coffee but there wasn't. There was no hot water to make tea with either. I knock them down for this b/c we would have really appreciated some tea or coffee during the day when the thunder showers rolled in.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Hotel B3 Virrey
#31 of 265 in Bogota
872 reviews
Usaquén
Bogota Plaza Summit Hotel
Bogota Plaza Summit Hotel
#22 of 265 in Bogota
740 reviews
Hotel Casa Deco
#13 of 265 in Bogota
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Candelaria
Muisca Hotel
Muisca Hotel
#98 of 265 in Bogota
240 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel de la Opera
Hotel de la Opera
#34 of 265 in Bogota
522 reviews
Usaquén
Hotel Bogota 100
Hotel Bogota 100
#28 of 265 in Bogota
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Galeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Galeria

Property: Hotel Casa Galeria
Address: Carrera 2 # 12B-92, Bogota 110221, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 302 B&Bs / Inns in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Casa Galeria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel and live at home. Located in the Callejón del Embudo historic center of Bogota is a House of Cultural Heritage, evokes the Republican era, the late eighteenth century, rooms with antique furniture restored, each room appointed with art technique, permanent art exhibitions by local artists . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Casa Galeria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing