We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At last, our first "Excellent" review”
Review of Casa Real 93

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Real 93
Ranked #114 of 268 Hotels in Bogota
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here on two occasions at the end of November, initially for three nights and then a week later for another two nights. This is the first hotel “Economic Traveller” has given an “Excellent” status. Why, because the management and staff of the hotel provide what we all want, “Excellent Service”.
This is a relatively small sized, reasonably priced hotel which is located in an upmarket area of Bogota, close to many good quality shops, restaurants and bars.
As the hotel is in a built up area you do not have much of view from the rooms, but they are all large self contained suites with lounge area, en suite and kitchen facilities.
The rooms are on 6 floors serviced by a lift and a distinctive spiral staircase, the largest rooms being 01 and 02 on each floor. (ie 301 or 402 etc.) There is an underground secure car park one floor down from the reception area.
We had several meals in the restaurant area, including breakfast and dinner and found the food and service to be very good. Wifi is available free throughout the hotel and there is a business centre on the ground floor.
But without doubt the level of care and service offered to guests was outstanding. One example occurred when we asked for a taxi to be ordered for us to spend an afternoon visiting parts of the original Bogota city. Because the hotel could not find an English speaking driver, the manager, at no cost to ourselves, arranged for one of his staff who does speak English to accompany us to avoid any security issues. Well done Casa Real. Do we recommend? What do you think!

Room Tip: Rooms (suites) ending 01 and 02 are larger and located at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EconomicTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

We recently visited Bogota and had a great stay at the hotel. The hotel is very homey and comfortable....you don't feel like you are in a big box hotel. The difference maker was the staff from the moment we walked in the hotel ( 7 hours before normal check-in) to every interaction, we were greeted with a friendly group of employees eager to assist and make our stay enjoyable. So nice to be greeted each morning and the staff genuinely cares about how your visit has been and your plans for the day. Only drawback was that mattress is a little hard. A subsequent visit would 100% include staying at this property. Also important to mention the proximity to the Parque 93 area and great recommendation for a tour guide (Oscar).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gingercayenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I definitely prefer the little touches you get when you find a good, small-medium sized family run hotel. And that's exactly what we got at Casa Real.
The location is very good, right near Parque de la 93. But the casual atmosphere and friendly staff - from the owners, Felipe and his mother Maria, right down the line - is amazing. They not only helped us with where to go and what to see in Bogota, but also gave great advice for our next destinations, Manizales and Salento.
Most other guests we met had been to Casa Real before, and have stayed there every time they've been in Bogota since. Next time I'm in Bogota, I will be one of these people!
Great stay. Thank you to the team there - you were amazing!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Brent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This is a clean, adequate, hotel. It is not a great hotel. Price, however, was very reasonable. Rooms are good sized and very clean. The included breakfast is adequate.

Casa Real was recommended to me for its supposedly excellent location, two blocks from Parque de la 93, which is sorrrounded by numerous restaurants. The problem is that I was not able to find one good restaurant among them. Several of the restaurants are outlets of big US fast food chains, others are a little better but not by much. Various restaurants had live and very loud music playing. In general Parque de la 93 is sorrounded more by a loud bar scene for youths, instead of good restaurants or cafes for adults who want to enjoy a nice dinner or simply have a quiet conversation and relax.

A better choice would have been one of the hotels located closer to Centro Comercial Andino and the T Zone, which is a pedestrian area with restaurants that are not not much better than those around Parque de la 93, but at least not as loud and with a nicer ambiance, I think.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francisco2pr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I had a very nice stay recently at Casa Real. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was great, and the location was excellent with all sorts of great bars and restaurants within a short walk. Breakfast was also great, featuring made to order omelettes and waffles. Overall I felt the hotel offered a great value.

One word of caution. WhileI was there (May 2013) there was a lot of construction going on at the hotel. It looked like they are in the process of renovating the rooms. For the most part, the work was confined to the hours of 9-5, so didn't interfere with sleeping, however, I also needed to do work and make calls from my room during business hours a couple of the days, and this was virtually impossible with the loud construction taking place in the neighboring room. I know that renovations sometimes need to be done. My only complaint is that this was not pointed out to me when I booked the hotel.

I am sure the work will be done soon, and would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms (farther from the lobby) are likely better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBEB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catalinaholguin, Public Relations Manager at Casa Real 93, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear Guest,
On behalf of Casa Real staff I want to thank you for writing this amazing review! You point out all the things that make Casa Real a great stay: our friendly staff, confortable rooms and great location. Bogota is the kind of city where location makes the difference between a great and memorable stay or a really unconfortable stay. We are indeed making renovations in order to offer more versatile and confortable rooms. I wish you happy travels and a prompt return to Bogota!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My wife and I recently visited Bogota as part of our first trip to Colombia and, in selecting this hotel in Bogota, one of our first requirements was to stay in what we felt to be a safe neighbourhood. In Casa Real, close to Parque 93, we made an excellent choice in that regard. Not only is the area safe to walk around, both during the day and the night, but the hotel is within a couple of minutes walk of the restaurants of Parque 93, and within 15 minutes walk of the shopping facilities of Zona Rosa. La Candelaria is a bit further, but ultimately only a 10,000 peso taxi ride away.
We stayed on 3 separate occasions and hence have had the pleasure of staying in both the Junior and Senior suites - both ridiculously large on comparison with other hotels in which we've stayed over the past 4 months. We didn't necessarily need the kitchen facilities in the rooms, but the overall level of comfort provided compared favourably with anywhere else we've stayed in South America. The bathrooms and showers were excellent and, although the Jacuzzi had seen better days, our happiness wasn't really dependent on that!
They provide a really good breakfast buffet for a hotel of this size, and decent evening food if the weather prevents the short walk for the afore-mentioned Parque 93 amenities.
Others have mentioned the straightforward nature of the hotel's transfer to and from the airport, and we also took advantage of the trip to Zipaquira, an arrangement which worked well for us.
We have limited to non-existent Spanish but, so friendly were all the staff, they felt like family by the time we finally tore ourselves away from this peaceful oasis in the noisy city of Bogota. After 5 highly enjoyable weeks in Colombia we will return, and certainly this hotel will be the first place we stay.

Room Tip: Whilst none of the rooms are especially noisy, those at the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Villabloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catalinaholguin, Public Relations Manager at Casa Real 93, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time and writing about this issue you had with one of the drivers. Casa Real strives to have warm, helpful and honest staff. I am terribly sorry about the issue you had with said driver (not the father of anyone at Casa Real). While we have a clue about who this person might be, we would really appreciate if you could help us identify him, take the necesary corrections and retunr you the extra money paid. Could you please contact us? About the fee to the airport, I am afraid Bogota is a city 8 times as big as Cartagena. All the taxis in town charge a legal surcharge to the airport. The ride from Casa Real to the Airport is close to 45 minutes and the total cost should be around what you paid: 10 dollars = 20.000 pesos . I wish you happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

I'll try to be concise here, after just over two nights at Hotel Casa Real 93. On the upside the location is excellent; less than a five minute walk (entirely safe) from Parque 93 and the multitude of bars and restaurants surrounding it. The Jr. Suite is very spacious for a room in this upscale area that one is likely able to book for $110 ~ $132 per/nt, the bed large and firm, sheets very nice, and a good sized bathroom with a smallish jacuzzi/tub. Breakfast was more than adequate. The primary downside to this hotel is that its interior is an acoustically poor design; the multistory atrium feature and tiled floors causing all sounds to be magnified within. All sounds...
If you are a light sleeper (as I am) or place a premium on peace and quiet within your room, perhaps reconsider this choice. If you think the noise will not be a bother, then it's a good value for the location.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tellis923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catalinaholguin, Public Relations Manager at Casa Real 93, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks for taking the time to write about Casa Real. We really appreciate the comments as well as the recomendations. We are currently undergoing a few renovations and one the top priorities is, indeed, to implement acoustic adjustments to the main hall. I do hope we have the pleasure of having you once again at Casa Real. I wish you happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Hotel Suites Real 97
#125 of 268 in Bogota
64 reviews
Hotel B3 Virrey
#33 of 268 in Bogota
915 reviews
Usaquén
Hotel Bogota 100
Hotel Bogota 100
#26 of 268 in Bogota
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster House
#38 of 268 in Bogota
1,170 reviews
Usaquén
Bogota Plaza Summit Hotel
Bogota Plaza Summit Hotel
#21 of 268 in Bogota
820 reviews
Tequendama Suites Bogota
#234 of 268 in Bogota
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Real 93? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Real 93

Address: Calle 93a # 9A-53, Bogota 110221, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bogota > Chapinero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 268 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range: £19 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Real 93 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Real is renowned for its warm and friendly service. Our guests also love our priviledged location. One block away from Park 93, Casa Real is in the heart of the city's business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Real 93 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing