We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Real

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Real
Ranked #106 of 268 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We recently stayed here when visiting Bogota and really loved it! It was nice to be in a small hotel where the staff knew you personally and accommodations were cozy and comfortable. The location was safe for strolling around and there was even a park to visit a block away. Everyone working there really wants you to be happy and won't hesitate to go out of their way to make it happen! We looked forward to returning to our room at the end of the day.
Much of the staff speak very good English and gave great advice to us regarding transportation, directions etc. And the breakfast was outstanding!! Fresh fruit and fruit juices, eggs how you like them, tamales, baked goods everyday...so good. We will plan to stay again on future visits to Bogota.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    74
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
26
83
22
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

While I was staying they were doing constructions on the sixth floor so it was a little bit loud in the mornings but I guess thanks to that we had a good deal for the room. service was impeccable. Breakfast is rich. rooms are comfortable. I don't like the area parque 93, I prefer the old town, but if you are here for business this is a good option.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank exclea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here on two occasions at the end of November, initially for three nights and then a week later for another two nights. This is the first hotel “Economic Traveller” has given an “Excellent” status. Why, because the management and staff of the hotel provide what we all want, “Excellent Service”.
This is a relatively small sized, reasonably priced hotel which is located in an upmarket area of Bogota, close to many good quality shops, restaurants and bars.
As the hotel is in a built up area you do not have much of view from the rooms, but they are all large self contained suites with lounge area, en suite and kitchen facilities.
The rooms are on 6 floors serviced by a lift and a distinctive spiral staircase, the largest rooms being 01 and 02 on each floor. (ie 301 or 402 etc.) There is an underground secure car park one floor down from the reception area.
We had several meals in the restaurant area, including breakfast and dinner and found the food and service to be very good. Wifi is available free throughout the hotel and there is a business centre on the ground floor.
But without doubt the level of care and service offered to guests was outstanding. One example occurred when we asked for a taxi to be ordered for us to spend an afternoon visiting parts of the original Bogota city. Because the hotel could not find an English speaking driver, the manager, at no cost to ourselves, arranged for one of his staff who does speak English to accompany us to avoid any security issues. Well done Casa Real. Do we recommend? What do you think!

Room Tip: Rooms (suites) ending 01 and 02 are larger and located at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EconomicTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We recently visited Bogota and had a great stay at the hotel. The hotel is very homey and comfortable....you don't feel like you are in a big box hotel. The difference maker was the staff from the moment we walked in the hotel ( 7 hours before normal check-in) to every interaction, we were greeted with a friendly group of employees eager to assist and make our stay enjoyable. So nice to be greeted each morning and the staff genuinely cares about how your visit has been and your plans for the day. Only drawback was that mattress is a little hard. A subsequent visit would 100% include staying at this property. Also important to mention the proximity to the Parque 93 area and great recommendation for a tour guide (Oscar).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gingercayenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendoza, Argentina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I definitely prefer the little touches you get when you find a good, small-medium sized family run hotel. And that's exactly what we got at Casa Real.
The location is very good, right near Parque de la 93. But the casual atmosphere and friendly staff - from the owners, Felipe and his mother Maria, right down the line - is amazing. They not only helped us with where to go and what to see in Bogota, but also gave great advice for our next destinations, Manizales and Salento.
Most other guests we met had been to Casa Real before, and have stayed there every time they've been in Bogota since. Next time I'm in Bogota, I will be one of these people!
Great stay. Thank you to the team there - you were amazing!

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Brent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This is a clean, adequate, hotel. It is not a great hotel. Price, however, was very reasonable. Rooms are good sized and very clean. The included breakfast is adequate.

Casa Real was recommended to me for its supposedly excellent location, two blocks from Parque de la 93, which is sorrrounded by numerous restaurants. The problem is that I was not able to find one good restaurant among them. Several of the restaurants are outlets of big US fast food chains, others are a little better but not by much. Various restaurants had live and very loud music playing. In general Parque de la 93 is sorrounded more by a loud bar scene for youths, instead of good restaurants or cafes for adults who want to enjoy a nice dinner or simply have a quiet conversation and relax.

A better choice would have been one of the hotels located closer to Centro Comercial Andino and the T Zone, which is a pedestrian area with restaurants that are not not much better than those around Parque de la 93, but at least not as loud and with a nicer ambiance, I think.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francisco2pr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
100 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I had a very nice stay recently at Casa Real. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was great, and the location was excellent with all sorts of great bars and restaurants within a short walk. Breakfast was also great, featuring made to order omelettes and waffles. Overall I felt the hotel offered a great value.

One word of caution. WhileI was there (May 2013) there was a lot of construction going on at the hotel. It looked like they are in the process of renovating the rooms. For the most part, the work was confined to the hours of 9-5, so didn't interfere with sleeping, however, I also needed to do work and make calls from my room during business hours a couple of the days, and this was virtually impossible with the loud construction taking place in the neighboring room. I know that renovations sometimes need to be done. My only complaint is that this was not pointed out to me when I booked the hotel.

I am sure the work will be done soon, and would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms (farther from the lobby) are likely better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBEB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catalinaholguin, Public Relations Manager at Casa Real, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of Casa Real staff I want to thank you for writing this amazing review! You point out all the things that make Casa Real a great stay: our friendly staff, confortable rooms and great location. Bogota is the kind of city where location makes the difference between a great and memorable stay or a really unconfortable stay. We are indeed making renovations in order to offer more versatile and confortable rooms. I wish you happy travels and a prompt return to Bogota!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Atton Bogota 93
#10 of 268 in Bogota
1,190 reviews
Chapinero
84 DC
84 DC
#13 of 268 in Bogota
399 reviews
Chapinero
The Click Clack Hotel
The Click Clack Hotel
#33 of 268 in Bogota
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel B3 Virrey
#32 of 268 in Bogota
845 reviews
Hotel Suites Real 97
#120 of 268 in Bogota
61 reviews
Usaquén
Hotel Bogota 100
Hotel Bogota 100
#31 of 268 in Bogota
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Real

Property: Casa Real
Address: Calle 93a # 9A-53, Bogota 110221, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bogota > Chapinero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 268 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Real 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Real is renowned for its warm and friendly service. Our guests also love our priviledged location. One block away from Park 93, Casa Real is in the heart of the city's business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing