We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint Boutique Hotel Porton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Porton Bogota
Ranked #98 of 268 Hotels in Bogota
Retiro, Colombia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quaint Boutique Hotel Porton”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Located on a quiet, residential street only a few blocks from Andino Mall and Zona T (Zona Rosa) attractions, Hotel Porton offers great (albeit quirky) food and lodging. Completing a renovation, you will find a combination of sumptuous elegance in reception, the salons, bar and dining room finishing touches that are rather tacky.

The entry to the hotel has a grand feeling, with marble reception desk, chandeliers and wall sconces. This is further carried out in a long, cozy salon, decorated with comfortable overstuffed couches and chairs in various groupings, pretty framed art and huge (fake) floral arrangements.

At the far end of the salon, the business center offers two HP computers and a (black and white) HP Laser Printer for guests' use with free internet. On the other side, the salon merges with the dining room ("Le Jardin Perdu") and Olmo's Bar.

The dining room continues the feel of elegance, with double linen-covered tables perfectly set to receive guests in the French manner. The adjoining bar gives the feeling of a cozy upscale English club with wood-paneled walls.

We paid for a suite, a fact which I confirmed on check-in. On the way to the room, I quipped with the bellman, "You're sure this is the best room in the house..." This invited disaster, as we were shown to an ordinary, square room with the King-size bed taking up most of the space.

I collapsed on a chair, saying, "You've got to be kidding! This certainly is no suite!" He called down to reception, apologized for a "mistake" and showed us to a room where at least the bedroom was separated by a wall from the living room.

"If you don't like this, let me show you another." And he proceeded to show us several more "suites," finally ending with a corner room which was the best of the selection.

A step below furnishings of the salon, the living room's facilities include a parson's table work desk, brightly lit by a halogen desk lamp with 3 nicely upholstered (armless) chairs, a modern chrome glass-top coffee table, a nice double sofa (covertible) and a modern leather upholstered folding chair. The room is softened by placing the sofa and coffee table on a Persian area rug.

Next to the entry door is a black granite counter with a coffee maker, microwave, wetbar sink and selections of spirits and snacks offered to guests at astronomical prices. The counter tops warm cherry-wood cabinets housing a mini-fridge.

The bedroom was nicely furnished with a King bed with carved wood headboard topped by finely matted and framed Austrian/German 18th-century architectural prints. The mattress was ultra-hard and no feather pillows were offered. The corner room sported windows on two sides, with roll-down shades and excellent heavy drapes fastened with ties that block out all unwanted light when closed. Although the view was through some trees, it was nothing special.

Truly luxurious, the bathroom is marble throughout, including the floors, walls, double sink and huge, marble-framed mirror. Undersink cabinets match the double bedroom closet and the wetbar cabinets.

On the commode side of the bathroom is a large, glass-doored walk-in shower. On the opposite side, there is a huge fiberglass tub (not Jacuzzi) with hand-held shower head.

Wrapping up the room description, overhead halogen lights in the living room ad bedroom are OK, but way too bright. The alternative is double wall sconces on either side of the bed: one is a general fluorescent lamp emitting an eerie color, the other a flexible spotlight reading lamp. Neither effectively lighting the room. So the choice is ultra-bright overheads or gloomy sconce lighting.

Correspondingly, there is motion-sensor lighting for the hallways comes on as you proceed down the hall. These are super-bright lamps giving everything a harsh, unpalatable look. I imagine the hallways have not yet been fully decorated with pictures and the like and they imparted a cheap look.

Besides this, all of the walls (hallways, guestrooms etc.) are newly painted in high-gloss pale sunflower. Really a Motel-6 appearance.

Breakfasts were included with my reservation. A continental buffet is set up in Olmo's bar, including juices, cheese, viennoiseries (pain au chocolat, croissants, raisin rolls), yogurt, cold cereal varieties and a couple chafing dishes with such things as small pancakes (cold; no syrup).

We took our selections into the posh dining room and sat on a nicely-upholstered sofa to have excellent cafe con leche poured at the table. Eggs are offered al gusto. Regrettably, we had no other opportunity to try the food offered here for other meals. The menu looked interesting, with its French bent and seemed somewhat pricey.

Other amenities: free wireless internet; free off-street parking.

Service was unhesitatingly excellent, as I would expect in a Latin establishment.

Room Tip: As indicated, only a corner room suite would satisfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    30
    8
    0
    4
See reviews for
17
30
8
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wadhurst, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We held two business networking events in the Hotel Portón Bogotá in November 2013. This hotel was very well located and also very safe. It was beautifully decorated and a very comfortable venue to hold an event. The staff were very friendly and the service excellent which made our stay very pleasant. The food in the restaurant was delicious with a varied menu and very helpful and professional staff. The rooms were comfortable and smart and the degree of cleanliness was excellent. There are good restaurants and shops near the hotel where we could go without a problem. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone that needs accommodation for a business event or visit to Bogotá.

Nora A
Europartnerships Ltd.
Warwick, Uk

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nora A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

I celebrated my wedding in the Hotel Porton Bogota in November. As soon I visited the hotel the first time, I knew it was our hotel. Is beautiful, in a very good location and quiet. The decoration is amazing, when you are in the lobby you feel in a living room of a luxury mansion. The menu they offered to us was delicious. All our requirements were met and our wedding was amazing. We had our civil ceremony there, later a session of photos in the lobby and after the dinner and the party in one of their saloons. Everything went so good. The stuff from the hotel are very professional and kind, the events manager and the lady in charge of the flowers have a lot of experience. They gave us the honey moon room as a present because we organized our wedding in the hotel, the room was very big and very elegant. I highly recommend this beautiful hotel, is unique.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

I stayed here for 1 week on business. This hotel was classically decorated, clean and decently comfortable. The location is in a safe, well-off neighborhood and the hotel also had security guards- although I never felt like it was needed. My room was a bit dark and stuffy, it seemed like there was no reliable climate control. The bed was comfortable. The restaurant was fine, with a decent breakfast. The food selection for dinner was very limited and heavy on pasta. I enjoyed the restaurants in Bogota city much more.

Most of the staff were friendly, but some were very aloof and not welcoming. The staff did not appear to speak proficient English- I understand I am in their country and cannot speak Spanish-- but as a business traveler this stands out compared to the other places I have been worldwide and it is a mark against a hotel's service in my book.

I did not have time to sight-see on this trip so I cannot speak to the hotel's proximity to local attractions, but it is a long drive to the U.S embassy and the airport. The traffic in Bogota overall is horrendous however. I would recommend this place to a friend, keeping in mind my comments about service and the rooms. This may not be an issue for many people.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WistfulThinking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmira, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

I stayed here for two nights on a business trip and enjoyed the stay. It's situated in a very nice part of Bogota that's clean, safe and euro feeling. The deluxe room was comfortable, decent sized with a very firm bed. The decor in the hotel overall is an interesting collection of antique, elegant furniture that makes it feel warm and somehow from a more adventurous time. Free wifi. The dining room is upscale, as is most of the hotel, but doesn't feel stuffy. Staff was very friendly with just enough English to get by...but don't expect long conversations if you don't know Spanish. Large shopping mall with high end brands a few blocks away. Some nice restaurants in the area. Was treated to a meal at the nearby Club Colombia--be sure to try the national soup dish called Ajiaco...delicious.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaterMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimberley, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

I stayed at the Porton in early Oct, 2012. First this is nothing like your normal corporate hotel. It is almost like staying in a huge home. Friendly checkin, very relaxing restaurant and interior lobby/sitting area. Restaurant was excellent for both dinner and breakfast. My room was very large, the bed was huge. There is no heat or air conditioning which you normally don't need in Bogota but if you have to open a window there is quite a bit of noise from the surrounding area. I will go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Centexwes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

I booked this hotel last minute based on reviews. I was very pleasantly surprised by the location near Zona Rosa's hip restaurants, shops and safe top notch neighborhood. The hotel itself has an English manor house traditional decor. The room was spacious with nice linens and free internet access. The service was friendly and competent. I will return and recommend this property to anyone who enjoys a boutique hotel atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoseMHern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Chapinero
84 DC
84 DC
#12 of 268 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Chapinero
B.O.G. Hotel
B.O.G. Hotel
#63 of 268 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel bh El Retiro
#99 of 268 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Chapinero
Hotel Estelar Parque De La 93
Hotel Retiro 84
#148 of 268 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porton Bogota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porton Bogota

Property: Hotel Porton Bogota
Address: Calle 84 7, 7-55, Bogota 110221, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 268 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Porton Bogota 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the north of the city, at the exclusive area of La Cabrera. Close to the main corporate and financial centers, the most exclusive shopping centers and the best of dinning entertainment and nightlife.Our classic, detailed and refined style, definitely makes every space of the hotel a special place to satisfy the most demanding standards, for both corporate and leisure. Hotel amenities include 1 restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. 1 Bar, fitness center, business center, 1,060 square feet of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Porton Bogota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing