We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stay hotel when you travel to Bogota”
Review of GHL Hotel Hamilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GHL Hotel Hamilton
Ranked #41 of 267 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Must stay hotel when you travel to Bogota”
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Spend 2 night at Hamilton Hotel in Bogota. One of the best hotel in town with good location. There are a lot of nice restaurant and pub etc Night life in surroundlng this area is great and hard rock cafe is merely 2 mins walk. The room is excellent and it is value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cytan1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    92
    20
    6
    7
See reviews for
46
100
25
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

Spend 2 night at GHL Hamilton in Bogota, never again..... Arrived at the hotel at 2 pm and had to wait for the room to be ready till 4pm in the lobby which is very small....
When my room finally was ready ( I was very tired from the trip), I went straight to bed, as soon as a pulled away the covers I saw used up sheets (some time ago it was white color but now dirty grey) with wholes, but even worse there were so many black hairs on the sheets.... Called downstairs to change it. The night itself was a nightmare, the windows are very thin and don`t block the noise from outside, you can hear the music from all the bars in the area. At 4am my neighbor had a visit from a hookers (the doors and walls are also very thin....) At 7am the construction work started, the hotel never mention that it`s been renovating (I made my reservation on the phone).
After a long day of sightseeing (7pm) I was back to my room, which had a strongest smell of paint. Call downstairs, answer : open the window, they are painting 4th floor!!!!!

I was very disappointed for that amount of money that they chargde for this runed down room...... Spend the rest of my stay at Marriott on Eldorado

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danna01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aruba
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Returned back to the hotel after 2 years, and happy to comment that hotel still offers great service, with great staff.
Ordered room service this time, and was pleased with the presentation and effective order taking.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NPSTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

I was in Hamilton Court for just one night in my trip back from San Andres, so a great location was fundamental. The hotel is from a walking distance to two of the most famous shopping centers of Bogota (El Retiro and Andino), and has lots of bars and restaurants in the neighborhood. It also has a nice staff, who helped me arrange a city tour for the day. The room is really spacious and comfortable. And differently from what I have read here, there is free internet in the room. Would definetely come back again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanessavilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2010

I stayed here twice at the start and end of my trip. I was a little annoyed how they expected me to ring up each time I needed the internet. And they charged internet by the hour. For the price I paid for the room, it made it very poor value. My first visit was on the 4th floor and the noise from the car park was terrible. Car alarms continuously going off every time it rained... and it does rain quite a bit in Bogota! Breakfast was also a touch disappointing. I requested some washing done and one my shirts came back with the original stain that I had from spilt food whilst on the plane.
On my second visit back (I was returning to London). they learnt I was stranded in Bogota so they increased the price! I left the following day and moved to another hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattsw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

GHL Hamilton Court is a compact hotel with qualities that mostly for business travellers would preffer, but it is a good choice for tourists too, because it is comfortable and is located in a very nice neighborhood.

PROS: situated in Zona Rosa (very nice area with lots of high level shops, malls, bars and restaurants, very good for a walk and for pleasure times); spacious rooms; very helpul and polite personel; clean; reasonable price for the area ("A" class in Bogotá).

REGULAR: breakfast (has the basic but could offer more variety without any special effort)

CON: not exactly a negative, but the hotel has two types of suites that are considered (by the hotel) equal in quality: a suite with living room and bedroom in the same area, and a suite with living and bedroom separated. The hotrel books and charges both suites as if they were identical in terms of quality, but the suite with living and bedroom in the same area is much better. The suite with separated rooms are older, bed is smaller and aircon is noisy. So, ask for the "all in one" suite when you stay there, or demand a discount if if stay at the other one.

FINAL OPINION: Highly recommended for those who want to be in a high level neighborhood without paying much for it, and don't mind if the hotel is not brand new.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DioPortoAlegre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2009

Set in the heart of the shopping district (Zona Rosa), this small hotel offers excellent service and is great value. Although some of the rooms could use a little update, they are quite spacious and have a sitting area. The staff is extremely helpful, including booking me a hair appointment at a salon down the street. Breakfast was quite yummy, although with so many great restaurants a short walk away, I recommend trying some of the local spots. Would recommend this hotel and would return back.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jahesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Hotel Morrison 84
#74 of 267 in Bogota
440 reviews
NH Bogota Boheme Royal
#51 of 267 in Bogota
434 reviews
Chapinero
84 DC
84 DC
#13 of 267 in Bogota
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Saint Simon
#114 of 267 in Bogota
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GHL Hotel Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GHL Hotel Hamilton

Property: GHL Hotel Hamilton
Address: Carrera 14 No. 81-20, Bogota, Colombia (Formerly Hamilton Court)
Region: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Bogota
#78 Business Hotel in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — GHL Hotel Hamilton 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your GHL Hotel Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Court Bogota
Hamilton Court Hotel Bogota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing