We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, I would go back...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lancaster House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lancaster House
Ranked #37 of 267 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good hotel, I would go back...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

There were some mishaps, such as the room I reserved was not what I was originally given (was shy a bed which they rectified), the pre-arranged driver never showed up to pick us up from the airport (a taxi is actually half the price anyway), & incorrect charges on our bill, upon check out (which they corrected). These things were frustrating, but their head of customer service a Mr. Fausto Penata was always there to fix any problem we had. He even went so far as to walk us to the local Trans (bus) stop to help us make sure we knew where it was, how much to pay and which was the correct bus for us to take, all in a 3 piece suit...this was above and beyond. The free breakfast offered is a huge spread and even has an omelet station! And it's open to 10:30 which is later than most so you can sleep in a bit & still grab a bite. The hotel is a good taxi ride or bus ride away from all of the sites that are located in "Old Bogota", but the bus is less than $1 and taxis drive by the front of the hotel non-stop (easy to hail one) and cheap too, about $15 to most sites. The good part is the area the hotel is in is safe....we walked home from many bars at wee hours and never felt uncomfortable. The room service is 24 hours and the food is really good & reasonably priced. My only problem with it was the language barrier, even when I would read the Spanish right off the menu they still had trouble understanding our orders..they would pass the phone to like 4 different people before our order was actually taken, but like i said the food was excellent and available at 3 in the morning, you just can't beat that! I wish they had small hand towels, to dry ones hands after washing them, drying your hands with your bath towel wasn't fun as it was never completely dry to use after a shower, and the elevators seemed too small for the amount of traffic from the staff using them. I wish they had the TV's in the living room instead of the bedroom, which was awkward for a group of friends traveling together, but these things are not that big of a deal. The rooms have no a/c, but there are fans in the bedrooms & in November this wasn't an issue for us. There wasn't a single English speaking channel on the television (not even CNN or BBC, which I can usually find all over the globe!) I would go back, as the pros far out weighed the cons. And the main pros for us were location, location, location! (and Fausto too!)

Room Tip: Take taxi's everywhere. They are cheaper than the hotel car, and the driver's are friendlier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pickle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaGold, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Picklewacket, Thank you for your indpeth review. I am sorry you had some mishaps during your stay, but as you state our head of customer service was there to correct anything and help you with your needs. Providing each guest with a personalized stay is of the outmost importance to us. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Bogota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    634
    297
    91
    35
    26
See reviews for
220
308
87
313
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed the first full week of November 2013. At the end of a hard day this is a great place to retreat. Intelligent, practical, and gracious. We will return.

Pros - great service, great location, great price
Cons - While key staff were fluent in English, I wish the restaurant wait staff knew a few more basic English words - beef, pork, chicken, vegetable, cheese, etc.

Our room was street side. With the windows open the ambient traffic sound was not bothersome (we slept well) or intrusive (did not wash out conversation or TV audio). With the windows closed the sound was minimal. With respect to the sensitivities of others, the street side is not a deal breaker.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank viacognito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaGold, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Viacognito, I am pleased to read that your week-long stay with us was great and that the service and comfort of the hotel was what you expected. I will make sure all of our restaurant staff has basic English knowledge. We hope to welcome you again in your next visit to Bogota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

An excellent hotel for anyone visiting or working in Bogota. Suites are very spacious and well equipped. The staff are very able and friendly. The restaurant is good. However, the hotel is certainly a lot more than the 6 miles from the airport stated! Make sure you leave a good hour for the US$55-60 return shuttle. Nevertheless, with the rates offered, it is a very good place to stay providing you know how far it is from the airport!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Merely_the_Vehicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaGold, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Merely the Vehicle, I am glad that our staff and services allowed you to enjoy your stay with us. I want to take the opportunity to mention that we do not claim to be an airport hotel. We are located in northern Bogota at the upscale neighborhood of Chico-Navarra. I hope the next time you visit Bogota we can welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Had a karaoke birthday party at one of their events rooms. Turned up and got a surprise with all the confetti/decorations and even a cake. When asked if we can get some background music hotel obliged with a laptop and the whole DJ set.

Staff go out of their way to make you happy.

A first rate hotel in terms of service but the lobby & lobby toilet seriously need some renovation. Would choose it for location + service but not ambiance.

onechineseincolombia.com

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaGold, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Jessica w, I am glad to hear that your birthday celebration was a success and that our staff made sure you received everything you asked for. Thank you for the comments about up-grades, these have been shared with our general manager. I hope you can celebrate many more birthdays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
356 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stayed for four nights October 2013. I found the hotel to be clean and orderly. There is always enough staff and security at all times. The Manager on duty is there almost every day till about 9pm. Doorman always available to open the door for you. Rooms are large, bedroom nice size. The whole room including the bathroom are clean. Nice touch is the in closet "electronic room safe" in every room. This is a non-smoking property which was very nice.

I would stay at the Lancaster again, and I recommend it to travelers from the USA, it has competent management and maintenance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main street (106B) which runs in front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainKuddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaGold, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear CaptainKuddles, I am pleased to read that your stay with us was a pleasant one. We are glad you chose us as your hotel in Bogota and hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

My husband and I have just spent the month of September at the hotel and cannot speak highly enough of the service we received from every single member of staff. We were studying Spanish at a University in Bogota and the hotel is right opposite the Transmileno bus stop which is really convenient. We stayed in a junior suite which had a basic kitchen with a big fridge which was extremely useful. The wi-fi is free and when we had a minor problem with the connection they installed a router in our room! Breakfast was excellent- we could not believe our good fortune when we saw All Bran amongst the cereals- and when we had dinner in the restaurant it was very good. If you are there on a Wednesday don't miss the Manager's cocktail event! The hotel is in a good area and we enjoyed walking to different places from the hotel. We had an excellent month there and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: It's on a very busy road so ask for a room away from the front. The junior suites are ideal thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhoslyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaGold, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Rhoslyn, I am very satisfied to rad that your month long stay with us was superb. We are certainly glad you chose us and hope to have you again as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The hotel was comfortable even though the room was hot, even for Bogota. But reception sent us a fan, which helped a little. The bed was a bit hard, but I've stayed in other hotels in Bogota and they all seem to have hard beds. The room was separate from the living area, which added privacy.
The staff was very helpful and nice, specially Sra. Mireya (bar and dining area) and Fausto. The reception and dining was pretty slow though.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank FMDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaGold, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Dear FMDA, I am pleased to hear that Mireya and Fausto were very helpful during your stay. I share all share reviews with our staff so that they know what our guests feel and comment. I am sorry your room was hot, the air condition towers we have for every room should have been in your suite. I will be making sure this does not happen in the future. We are glad you chose us and hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Usaquén
Hotel Bogota 100
Hotel Bogota 100
#33 of 267 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Hotel B3 Virrey
#34 of 267 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
BioHotel Organic Suites
#5 of 267 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Morrison 114 Hotel
#6 of 267 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Usaquén
Charlies Place Hotel
Charlies Place Hotel
#64 of 267 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Ibis Bogota Museo
#45 of 267 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster House

Property: Lancaster House
Address: Paralela 106B | 28, Bogota 110911, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Bogota
#11 Green Hotel in Bogota
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bogota
#21 Luxury Hotel in Bogota
#22 Business Hotel in Bogota
#26 Family Hotel in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster House 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lancaster House is an all-suite, seven-story, Art-Deco style hotel in northern Bogota. It is located in the upscale neighborhood of Chico-Navarra, near major business, commercial and residential districts, and only 20 minutes from the International Airport. The hotel offers 55 very ample suites ranging from 500 to 900 square feet. There are 45 Junior Suites with one bedroom and one bathroom, and 10 Master Suites with two bedrooms and two bathrooms. Suites on the second floor offer an outdoor private terrace as well. All suites feature a living room that includes sofa-beds, LCD's, Home Theaters, dining room and full kitchen. For your convenience, suites offer complimentary high-speed internet, Wi-Fi, international Satellite TV channels, mini-bar, direct dial, and a safety box. The hotel has 2 restaurants. Gatsby Restaurant offers international cuisine, and monthly culinary festivals. Bistro 106 serves light fare meals, and pizzas in a casual environment. Kosher and Vegetarian meals are available on request. The Chimney Bar features international cocktails, and live music. A business center is equipped with computers, Wi-Fi and broadband internet connection, faxes and more. Six conference rooms are ideal to host business and social events. Fitness center contains cardiovascular, weight-training equipment and a sauna. Other services provided by the hotel include 24-hour room service, turn down service, concierge desk, Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, underground parking, 24/7 security surveillance, and transportation. Lancaster House is ideal for families, business guests and others needing extra space; as well as for those who need extended stay services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Lancaster House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster House Hotel Bogota
Lancaster Hotel Bogota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing