We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend!”
Review of Lancaster House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lancaster House
Ranked #40 of 269 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The staff was very helpful and professional. The room was very clean and spacious, although the lighting could have been a bit better. Nothing that you could turn off from the bed, but that's just me being lazy. The complimentary breakfast was better than most 5 star hotels. I only stayed for one night but it was a very nice stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Natalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaGold, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Natalie A, I am pleased to read your review. All your comments are important to us. We are certainly glad you chose us and of to have you as our guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

Easy access location, large comfortable suites, friendly service, very helpful English speaking concierge, friendly room service checked on us throughout the day and left nightly chocolates in the suite

Room Tip: Baths come with shower or tub, ask for your favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Myrna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaGold, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Myrna E, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are certainly glad you chose us, and hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Quick synopsis:
Incredible staff at an above average property. Not so great location.

I stayed at Lancaster House for two nights in January of 2014. About 20 minutes from the El Dorado airport, we were greeted by warm smiles at the door by Jonathan and at the front desk by Carolina. Both had much better English than I had Espanol. We were escorted to our suite and given the full run down. I immediately approached the guest services desk about a problem I was having with viva Colombia tickets and eventually totally helped by the gentleman working guest services with my airline ticket challenges. I don't remember his name but he was very helpful. After settling into the room which was a suite on the sixth floor, we went to the bar downstairs and had a great time with Freddy and Miguel. Freddy was very knowledgeable and gave us our first taste of Aguardiente (sp) I prefer the one from Medellin, that is without sugar. It was pretty late after a long day of traveling, so we ended staying in and having many club Colombia premium beers before bed.
The next day we set out for a walk around the neighborhood to really no avail. It must be a medical district bc all around us was clinics and hospitals. However, Jonathan at the front desk hooked us up with a driver danilo who was all smiles but little English. He took us all over which was fun. The next day we tried the Gatsby restaurant downstairs. It was slammed with business clientele, and it took us forever for chicken and tuna salad. It was really busy. Jonathan was replaced with Daniel who was super cool, and also hooked us up. Staff was Tops!
At check out, Carolina was so nice and pretty, I wished we weren't leaving.
All in all 4.1/5. If you are headed to Bogota, great place to stay!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Zghoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaGold, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Zghoward, I am pleased to hear that your stay with us was. Thank you for letting us know which of our staff was helpful with you. We share all comments with our staff. Just to clarify to readers we are located in a neighborhood near restaurants, stores, business and some medical buildings. We are certainly glad you chose us and hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Bogota.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This was wedding gift from my wife's sister and her spouse.
The service was excellent, though a bit of confusion on what meal was included in the package.
If you choose the sauna be careful they fill the kettle with enough water. After 15 min the water had evaporated and the eucalyptus oil became concentrated and started to burn our eyes.
Room was outstanding, very romantic, we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaCaDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaGold, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear DaCaDad, I am glad to read that you had an outstanding romantic stay with us. We hope to have you as our guest on your next trip to Bogota.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I was fairly impressed by the price and features that we got for our junior suite at first; it was the perfect setting for our one night stay. But then when we needed to start our day early we were surprised with no hot water. We were told to wait for 10 minutes but not even after an hour of waiting was the problem resolved.

Plus, no personal apologies from the staff, front desk or management. Very poor experience.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank jdmedina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaGold, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear JDMedina, I am so sorry to read about your experience. It is true that on December 24 there was a problem with the boiler. Immediately our concierge sent a note to all our guests advising them of the problem, and letting them know that everything was being done to fix this. The problem was solved shortly after.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Excelent hotel an Service. Suites are very spacious and equipped. I don´t have the opportunitty to lunch at restaurant. Great Location, great service, welcoming, elegant, warm, trained and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalyl313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaGold, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Nataly313, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you received excellent service throughout your stay. We are certainly pleased you chose us, and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

There were some mishaps, such as the room I reserved was not what I was originally given (was shy a bed which they rectified), the pre-arranged driver never showed up to pick us up from the airport (a taxi is actually half the price anyway), & incorrect charges on our bill, upon check out (which they corrected). These things were frustrating, but their head of customer service a Mr. Fausto Penata was always there to fix any problem we had. He even went so far as to walk us to the local Trans (bus) stop to help us make sure we knew where it was, how much to pay and which was the correct bus for us to take, all in a 3 piece suit...this was above and beyond. The free breakfast offered is a huge spread and even has an omelet station! And it's open to 10:30 which is later than most so you can sleep in a bit & still grab a bite. The hotel is a good taxi ride or bus ride away from all of the sites that are located in "Old Bogota", but the bus is less than $1 and taxis drive by the front of the hotel non-stop (easy to hail one) and cheap too, about $15 to most sites. The good part is the area the hotel is in is safe....we walked home from many bars at wee hours and never felt uncomfortable. The room service is 24 hours and the food is really good & reasonably priced. My only problem with it was the language barrier, even when I would read the Spanish right off the menu they still had trouble understanding our orders..they would pass the phone to like 4 different people before our order was actually taken, but like i said the food was excellent and available at 3 in the morning, you just can't beat that! I wish they had small hand towels, to dry ones hands after washing them, drying your hands with your bath towel wasn't fun as it was never completely dry to use after a shower, and the elevators seemed too small for the amount of traffic from the staff using them. I wish they had the TV's in the living room instead of the bedroom, which was awkward for a group of friends traveling together, but these things are not that big of a deal. The rooms have no a/c, but there are fans in the bedrooms & in November this wasn't an issue for us. There wasn't a single English speaking channel on the television (not even CNN or BBC, which I can usually find all over the globe!) I would go back, as the pros far out weighed the cons. And the main pros for us were location, location, location! (and Fausto too!)

Room Tip: Take taxi's everywhere. They are cheaper than the hotel car, and the driver's are friendlier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pickle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaGold, Guest Relations Manager at Lancaster House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Picklewacket, Thank you for your indpeth review. I am sorry you had some mishaps during your stay, but as you state our head of customer service was there to correct anything and help you with your needs. Providing each guest with a personalized stay is of the outmost importance to us. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Bogota.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Usaquén
Hotel Bogota 100
Hotel Bogota 100
#24 of 269 in Bogota
728 reviews
Chapinero
Hotel Vilar America
Hotel Vilar America
#38 of 269 in Bogota
408 reviews
Hotel B3 Virrey
#33 of 269 in Bogota
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Usaquén
Bogota Plaza Summit Hotel
Bogota Plaza Summit Hotel
#23 of 269 in Bogota
791 reviews
Morrison 114 Hotel
#4 of 269 in Bogota
728 reviews
Chapinero
Casa Real 93
Casa Real 93
#116 of 269 in Bogota
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster House

Address: Paralela 106B | 28, Bogota 110911, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bogota
#13 Green Hotel in Bogota
#22 Business Hotel in Bogota
#22 Luxury Hotel in Bogota
#22 Best Value Hotel in Bogota
#26 Family Hotel in Bogota
Price Range: £28 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster House 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lancaster House is an all-suite, seven-story, Art-Deco style hotel in northern Bogota. It is located in the upscale neighborhood of Chico-Navarra, near major business, commercial and residential districts, and only 20 minutes from the International Airport. The hotel offers 55 very ample suites ranging from 500 to 900 square feet. There are 45 Junior Suites with one bedroom and one bathroom, and 10 Master Suites with two bedrooms and two bathrooms. Suites on the second floor offer an outdoor private terrace as well. All suites feature a living room that includes sofa-beds, LCD's, Home Theaters, dining room and full kitchen. For your convenience, suites offer complimentary high-speed internet, Wi-Fi, international Satellite TV channels, mini-bar, direct dial, and a safety box. The hotel has 2 restaurants. Gatsby Restaurant offers international cuisine, and monthly culinary festivals. Bistro 106 serves light fare meals, and pizzas in a casual environment. Kosher and Vegetarian meals are available on request. The Chimney Bar features international cocktails, and live music. A business center is equipped with computers, Wi-Fi and broadband internet connection, faxes and more. Six conference rooms are ideal to host business and social events. Fitness center contains cardiovascular, weight-training equipment and a sauna. Other services provided by the hotel include 24-hour room service, turn down service, concierge desk, Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, underground parking, 24/7 security surveillance, and transportation. Lancaster House is ideal for families, business guests and others needing extra space; as well as for those who need extended stay services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lancaster House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster House Hotel Bogota
Lancaster Hotel Bogota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing