We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with some important flaws”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Estelar Windsor House
Ranked #64 of 267 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A hotel with some important flaws”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I stayed in the Windsor for 19 nights as I was in a business trip in Bogota. It's quite a long time to be in a hotel. You cannot expect everything to be perfect over such a long period of time, and yet there are some things that the Windsor could do much better. To begin with, the person in charge of cleaning my room threw away stuff without me requesting it. Not once or two or three times, but four. The first time were a bunch of newspapers that I had brought from the UK and that I hadn't read it yet. They were in my desk and that person understood that they were rubbish. The other three times were bottles of waters that I was using. Despite my complain, they kept throwing away my bottles.

Other issue was security: my room had a window to an interior corridor, and twice that window was left open by the person cleaning my room. It was like leaving the door wide open - unaceptable.

Breakfast was not very varied and although some of the food in the room service was good, other was simply unedible - like some carpaccio that I ordered one day, which was simply disgusting.

Laundry came a couple of hours later than I was told, which caused me to cancel an appoitment.

And finally the parties. There were two other people in my team and one of them, who was staying two floors above me, had to change hotel because in the sixth floor there were parties a couple of days per week with music quite loud till very late.

All in all, a dissapointing experience. The front door of the hotel shows five stars on it but the quality of the service is far from it. The worst part of it was the feeling that I had to be complaining every single day for a new reason, which is a very tiring experience.

Having said that, the staff always tried their best to deal with these issues but... sometimes the only thing they could do was apologize. And an apology is ok the first time, but after the problems come back again and again, is simply not enough

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mateo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    68
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
27
36
17
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland, EEUU
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Nice hotel in the north of the city, ~45 minutes from the new airport. Decent rates, breakfast included, great omelets, nice but small bar in the foyer. Rooms are large with the typical hard wood floors and comfortable beds. Internet worked great. Great hotel for business people.

Room Tip: I would ask for the suite room and face away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpgaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This hotel is quite particular. Is very good located, near to parque de la 63. Rooms are big, but without air conditioning (as most hotels in Bogota). Access to rooms is a bit complicated with lifts taking you in different directions. Breakfast is good, service as everywhere in Colombia is great. The restaurant for dinner (a la carte) is very good. Choose the Raviolis or onion soup as they are really good.

Room Tip: Do not choose facing the street as they are quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamiroMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The room was large and included work space. Decor is rather plain but adequate. Free Wi Fi. Reasonable breakfast, good staff. No A/C, but lack is not crucial. Iron and board included in room Overall good value.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoram_Shimoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edm
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I stayed in this hotel because of its location. It was generally a very nice hotel with good service. However, I found it difficult to get a good nights sleep. The beds were quite hard and this is the first hotel in recent memory that didn't have air conditioning. You could keep the room cool by leaving the window open, but between the construction adjacent to the hotel that finished late and started early, plus a particular car alarm I didn't sleep well.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I have completed several stays in the Estelar Windsor House. This is a conversion from a condominium building to a hotel. That is the reason for the unusual design with an internal atrium and cast iron staircases reminiscent of Victorian London. When being assigned your room seek one of the suites, but not one of the two story ones. Once you become used to the big window fronting your living room, the setup is actually quite practical. The location is in a very neighborhood in which you can walk around and feel comfortable. The staff gets to know you and is very friendly. take the time to smile and get to know them. There is a gym, but the equipment is old and some needs replacement. Overall, this is a pleasant option for a stay in Bogota.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeFreqTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

On my first trip to Bogota the company put me up close to the office in the safe surrounds of this northern nquarter of this sprawling city.

I lived three days in this narrow strip. The hotel was absolutelyt fine. Almost all you'd expect from a business hotel: comfort, safety, good wifi but not much in the way of natural beauty or exercise options.

The room - I had suite 512 - was huge. A vast lounge but with windows oddly facing inside to the hotel corridor. A blind preserves privacy, but is still strange. The wood-floored suite then opens onto the bedroom with a decent-sized bed and window overlooking neighbouring flats.

The bathroom has a large bathtub with jets as well as....the wardrobes - never seen those in a bathroom before.

I ate breakfast here. had it on the outside terrace (see pic) and it was varied and plentiful. The terrace is heated.

Overall a pleasant three night stay, but not over-excited about it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fulhamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Chapinero
Hotel Estelar Parque De La 93
Ramada Bogota Parque 93
#89 of 267 in Bogota
170 reviews
Movich Hotel Chico 97
#60 of 267 in Bogota
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Estelar Calle 100
#100 of 267 in Bogota
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estelar Windsor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estelar Windsor House

Property: Hotel Estelar Windsor House
Address: Calle 95 No 9-97, Bogota 110211, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Bogota
#37 Luxury Hotel in Bogota
#48 Business Hotel in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estelar Windsor House 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Estelar Windsor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ghl Hotel Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing