We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel, great location, great people!!!”
Review of Sayta Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sayta Hostal
Ranked #10 of 290 Speciality Lodging in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Sayta was the first hostel i stayed in when i arrived in South America and still remains my favourite after nearly four months of travelling! It´s very clean, the beds were comfortable and the dorm was spacious! The location is excellent, the building is beautiful and the staff are incredibly nice and helpful! I was very reluctant to leave and will definately be heading back next year when i hit South America again!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyclubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

I have been more than 30 hostels and SAYTA is the one of top 3 hostels ever!

Beds, bathroom, livingroom are very clea, and very well located from touristic places and nice restaurants.

Moreover, the best thing is thr people who manage the hostel. They are so kind and always take care of all the visitors.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dd1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I stayed here for two nights in January. The hostel was much smaller than we originally expected. we had five people in one dorm room that was very tiny, not much room to put your stuff. The hostel was all around very cold. There is breakfast included which is a plus. The staff was friendly enough and helpful although it didn't feel like a very "warm" hostel. It was located near the main attractions in Bogota though which made it easy to walk around. The showers were hit or miss being warm, you kind of had to play with it a little bit to get the temperature you wanted.

All around, okay hostel, but if you find something else I would suggest taking it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I stayed at Sayta for five nights in a private room, the bathroom was shared. I had the room downstairs on the street and earplugs masked any noise. This is a quiet and safe hostel with friendly owners and mostly considerate guests. John and his family were all really nice and helpful. My Spanish isn't great, but John helped me practice a bit and he and Steff both speak good English. They were happy to provide recommendations on where to go, how to get there, places to eat and call taxis. John even drew a fantastic map of how to walk to Montserrate! The area felt really safe, although I didn't wander around alone too late at night. It is very close to all the main attractions and central Bogota. Also, a simple breakfast of breads and tea/coffee is provided, which is a nice touch. A great place to stay if you want somewhere relaxed and safe.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Happy_hol_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile


The owner John and his family were just super friendly and the overall atmsphere is really nice. Located near city center (less than 10min to get there by walk) and rooms are cozy. Strongly recommend !

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank 민제 우
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Informal living in a hostal can be soo rewarding. Aside from being economical hostals tend to be places where you can really meet people from other places and enjoy rich cultural experiences. This hostal is close to lots of activities.
Safe and clean, the family staff will make sure your experience in bogota is fun filled. From climbing Monserrat to just hanging out in chorro de quevedo or "el chorro" as it's known, you will really dig this part of bogota. Don't speak Spanish? No worries, Jonathan is bilingual!
As it is a hostal, you have access to the kitchen and in the morning there is always coffee on the house!
If you like hostals, you will love this one. It even has views of the city from the upstairs!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank richard a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The hostel is located in the centro of Bogota where you can see their culture and museums and easily take the metro bus to go anywhere you want.

The hostel is very well managed by John and his family who are very nice people. Especially the bed is clean and comfortable.

If you go there, you must drink the coffee that John make every morning.
You could feel the best colombian coffee.

The best hostel I've found in South America!!



  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valnim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
La Candelaria
Hotel Augusta
Hotel Augusta
#79 of 269 in Bogota
336 reviews
La Candelaria
Masaya Hostel Bogota
Masaya Hostel Bogota
#1 of 290 in Bogota
633 reviews
La Candelaria
Explora Hostels
Explora Hostels
#2 of 290 in Bogota
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Candelaria
Fernweh Photography Hostel
La Candelaria
Casa Bellavista Hostel
Casa Bellavista Hostel
#9 of 290 in Bogota
255 reviews
The Cranky Croc Hostel
#8 of 290 in Bogota
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sayta Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sayta Hostal

Address: Calle 12b # 0-57, Bogota 110921, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 290 Speciality Lodging in Bogota
Price Range: £12 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2012 SAYTA HOSTAL opens its doors at a brand new location to enhance our guests' experience.Our house is a beautiful construction, years of history make it part of the architectonic patrimony of the city of Bogotá (Our house has been restored, however it's structural integrity remains).We have 4 rooms at your disposal, all of them with a stunnign view of the surroundings, balconies and ample windows.Also at your disposal are shared bathrooms with hot water 24 hours a day, a fully equipped kitchen free to use at any time, common recreational areas where you can meet other guests,play or simple relax, Wi-Fi,cable TV, free colombian coffee, an internet equipped PC for anytime use, security lockers and luggage storage.We are located right in the middle of Bogota's historic centre just a block away from "El Chorro De Quevedo" and a few blocks away from the 7th avenue(carrera séptima) and every museum and tourist highight in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Sayta Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing