We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attractive hotel in the old city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de la Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel de la Opera
Ranked #41 of 267 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
167 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Attractive hotel in the old city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Lovely old building located on the lower slopes of the old part of the city. A Colombian colleague recommended I stay on the lower slopes of the old city implying it was safer which means we missed out a bit on what was a lovely part of town. It felt safe but there was very little to do in the evening although there are some nice little restaurants which were hidden away, so do a bit of research before staying as we never found any until the day we left.

The hotel had a conference on at the time of staying and it felt odd going through a conference room full of people in order to get to your room, but they and we didn't mind. The hotel had a nice spicy Christmas smell and our room was large and comfortable, and as it was cool we appreciated the heating in our bedroom . The bathroom had lots of nice products including a bathrobe and slippers. Our room overlooking the road was noisy, but as there was a demonstration going on it also meant we could observe it all from our balcony. We had problems with the electronic key, which seems to be an issue as other guests seemed to have the same problem.

The staff were helpful - they arranged a pick up for $28 which actually was quite pricey as the return was a lot less. Breakfast was good, though the days the conference was on the staff seemed to have problems replenishing the empty dishes. The small swimming pool looked nice but we didnt use it and the tiny gym had limited apparatus. There is a spa and restaurant but we didnt use either. There are two computers and free wi fi.

On a completely unrelated subject the airport is just amazing. Probably one of the best in south America and we found changing money here was easier than banks and the rate better than anywhere else in Colombia.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodtogethome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServicioalCliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments, it helps us to improve and overcome your expectations the next time you stay in our Hotel.

We were introducing the magnetic keys to our rooms on December, it should be the cause why you had some inconvenient with them, now we can guarantee a better quality service than before, also we are making a big investment to install the soundproof in our rooms what give us the opportunity to progress in the way to the excellence.

We hope you can stay with the next time you visit Bogota to demonstrate our achievements and reiterate the excellence in our services.

Kind Regards,

Angela Barbosa
Concierge - Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    180
    63
    13
    11
See reviews for
48
233
59
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tobyhanna, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
285 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

beautiful colonial structure in 'candelaria' section of bogota -- rooms well appointed with mahogany furniture; staff attentive; included breakfast plentiful... in walking distance to museums, as well as shopping, restaurants. didn't use pool area, but looked inviting!!

Room Tip: they have an elevator, so upper floors more than ok; some rooms you'll need to climb a few steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServicioalCliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments, it helps us to improve and encourage to overcome our guest's expectations every day.

We hope we can see you again in our Hotel, please consider Hotel de la Opera your home in Bogota.

Sincerely,

Angela Barbosa
Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

First, the staff are mostly very friendly and the hotel looks nice until you try to actually use stuff. The bathroom of my first room smelled like dead fish (very strong smell of dead fish). My second room was so hot I couldnt sleep. The bell hop asked for permission to turn the heat off, but the manager said no. She said the heat would turn off in the hotel at 10, but it never did. The shower wouldnt even get hot. Their "offcie center" is only two crappy computers that are closed off from use if there is any sort of function at the hotel (each of my 3 nights over 2 wk period there ahas been) and the power goes out a few times per hour during the day, each time killing the computers and any work you are trying to do. These are elementary problems that a guest should not have to tolerate for almost $200 (us) per night. If the room didnt cost so much I wouldnt complain, but when you portray yourself as a luxury hotel and charge luxury prices but offer cheap hostel quality, I feel compelled to spread the word. If you offer so-so sevrice then dont chrage luxury prices. Or offer good service and facilities for the high price. One or the other. BTW, it is located right next to plaza mayor and on a very busy street with car alarms every ten minutes.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank EasyAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Great old building in the centre of the old part of the city, with a welcoming staff. But the hot water from the shower was a dribble and the noise from the internal courtyard not for the light sleeper.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServicioalCliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments, it helps us to improve and encourage our staff to the excellence.

Now we are making a great investment in order to satisfy your expectations, we hope we can show you in a next visit to our city.

Sincerely,

Angela Barbosa
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
163 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We truly enjoyed staying in the Hotel de la Opera during our recent vacation to Bogota. The hotel itself was really cool with beautiful tile floors and a great view from the third floor. We loved our room, which had a big bathtub, and was nicely appointed. We also really loved the pool area that also included both a steam room and a sauna. The included breakfast was nice and included fresh fruit, made to order eggs and other dishes as well. We also ate dinner at the hotel one night. They really need to promote this more as the food at dinner was great, and we had the restaurant to ourselves. If I have any negatives to say (and they are small), I would point out that the room safe is really small, and there was no refrigerator in the room. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you can get room 203, you should! If you can't, at least go check it out as it has a beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AirJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServicioalCliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments, it helps us to improve and encourage to overcome our guest´s expectations every day.

We hope we can see you again in our Hotel, please consider Hotel de la Opera your home in Bogota.

Sincerely,

Angela Barbosa
Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, FL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

This is an excellent hotel in Bogota's historical center. It was the perfect location. Beautiful, well kept colonial hotel. Safe and secure. Within walking distance to all the sights. The staff was friendly and helpful. My room, 208, over looking Calle 10 (quiet street closed to most traffic) was comfortable, quiet with a small balcony. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who likes to experience the local hotels. For the same price as a Super 8 or Best Western in the US you get a local hotel full of culture, grace and charm.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank dksm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServicioalCliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments, it helps us to improve and encourage to overcome our guest´s expectations every day.

We hope we can see you again in our Hotel, please consider Hotel de la Opera your home in Bogota.

Sincerely,

Angela Barbosa
Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Might have received a better rating if walls and floors were cleaned and/or refurbished. Some of the furniture was past its useful life and should be replaced. Otherwise, the room (#104) and bath were good-sized and convenient to the breakfast room, front desk and "business center". Location was good if you don't want to do a lot after dinner.

Room Tip: Room 104 in the old section on the street side probably a bit noisy for some travelers. Street leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marinite34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServicioalCliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments, it helps us to improve and encourage to overcome our guest´s expectations every day.

Now we are making a great investment in our facilities and furniture in order to give a excellent service and create a memoral experiences in our guests.

We hope we can see you again in our Hotel, please consider Hotel de la Opera your home in Bogota.

Sincerely,

Angela Barbosa
Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
La Candelaria
The Orchids Hotel
The Orchids Hotel
#48 of 267 in Bogota
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Hotel Casa Deco
#13 of 267 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel Augusta
Hotel Augusta
#79 of 267 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Candelaria
Muisca Hotel
Muisca Hotel
#88 of 267 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
La Candelaria
Abadia Colonial
Abadia Colonial
#115 of 267 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Opera

Property: Hotel de la Opera
Address: Calle 10 No. 5-72 La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Bogota
#29 Family Hotel in Bogota
#36 Romantic Hotel in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel de la Opera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de la Opera is located in La Candelaria, next to the Cristobal Colon Theater, in front of "Palacio San Carlos", currently headquarters of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, one block from Bolivar Square and a fifteen minutes walk to the funicular for Monserrate hill. Thanks to its strategic location, our guests can easily visit the most characteristic places of the city, for example the Gold Museum, Botero Museum, Primary Cathedral, etc. Also, many important government buildings are nearby. Walking its roads you will be part of its stories, legends and myths which are preserved in each of its houses. Questions like, why do the houses have doors of two meters? Where did Manuelita Saenz live her idyll with Simon Bolivar? Which is the window through which Simon Bolivar escaped? These are just some examples of the cultural treasures that you will find in La Candelaria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de la Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Opera Bogota
De La Opera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing