We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as great as I was expecting”
Review of Hotel de la Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de la Opera
Ranked #34 of 269 Hotels in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2014

My friend had raved about this hotel, so I booked it.
Overall the hotel is fine, and the location is fabulous. The rooms are clean, quiet, and a good size (we had 716). However, the room we had was not particularly charming, and the towels were thin. The staff is very pleasant and tries very hard to be helpful, but the service was not what I was expecting. We arrived Saturday night and there was no concierge on duty on Sunday. The other staff had very little knowledge about sights, restaurants, etc, although they tried to be helpful. The concierge tried to be helpful, but was lacking basic information I would've expected a concierge to have (for example, she did not know that the Andres Carne de Res restaurant in Chia was only open Thurs-Sat and while she arranged a car for us to the Salt Cathedral did not think to tell us that English tours are only at certain times--not when she suggested we go). The wi-fi did not reach our room most of the time. The gym was three old machines and free weights in a room the size of a closet (literally), with no room to even put down a mat (if they had had one) for sit ups. The breakfast was good (eggs, fruit, bread, yogurt, cereals, meat and cheese and some small hot items).

Bogota tips:
Restaurants--Rafael was amazing, crepes and waffles was good for a quick bite at lunch, The Wok is a chain with a great variety of foods including many vegetarian options. Most restaurants seem to be closed Sun night (the Wok was open). Sant Just was really good food for lunch but slow service.
Andres Carnes de Res DC was a huge disappointment. The only thing special about it was that it was decorated in a bizarre way. The music wasn't good, nobody was dancing, the food was not good-particularly the steak (although the arepas and yuca fries were good) and it was overpriced.

Sights- Monserrate was mostly interesting because we went on Sunday when all the locals were there. Because of that, the area leading up to the funicular was teeming with food and souvenir vendors, which was fun. Pasaje Rivas and Mercado Artesanal near the museo del Oro were ok for crafts--we didn't make it to the Sunday market at Usaquen. The Botero museum was great (closed Tues). Wandering around the Candelaria was really fun. Museo de Oro was interesting and really gave a sense of historic Colombian life (english tours at 11 am), but we were done after the hour plus tour. Plaza Bolivar is not that exciting. The Salt Cathedral was gorgeous and well worth the hour drive-make sure you check the times of English tours when planning your trip. Iglesia/museo Santa Clara was amazing and well worth the nominal entrance fee.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ea701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServicioalCliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear guest

We appreciate the time you took to share your opinion about our Hotel; it always helps to improve and encourage overcoming your expectations next time.

It is a shame you could not have an excellent experience during your stay in our Hotel. The opening days in the Andres Carne de Res restaurant is different because there is one in Bogota and other outside, which is the most famous; the first one is open from Monday to Saturday and the one outside is open just from Thursday to Saturday. Also the schedule for the Salt Cathedral English tour depend on how many people request it, it can be each three or four hours but it does not have a specific time.

We make a regular maintenance to our gym however we will program an additional revision to check if the machines need to be change.

We were changing the network of our internet service in order to offer a better service; I think we exchange the service when you were here.

We are working hard to achieve the excellence in our services, we hope we can demonstrate you in a next stay.

Kind regards,


Lina Fernanda Caro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

This hotel located in the heart of the Candelaria neighborhood is absolutely exquisite. Living in the States, I wasn’t sure what a luxury hotel in Colombia might look like, but I was not disappointed. There are two room options available; colonial and deco. I did not stay in a colonial room, but from what I saw, they are lovely rooms, some with balconies, looking over the (indoor) courtyard area of the hotel. I stayed in a deco room on the 7th floor, which are the more modern rooms. The room had a king size bed, flat screen TV, huge bath tub in a fully modern bathroom with luxury bath products, and extras (robe, toiletries). I strongly suggest reserving a deco room. The 7th floor has a nice sala (living room) where you can relax, read or watch TV outside of your room. The room also had beautiful views of Bogota and the mountains. A nice breakfast with several options is served each morning in a beautiful dining area, and there are 2 restaurants and a bar in the hotel. The hotel has a beautiful spa with a small pool, hot tub, massage rooms and sauna. During my visit, construction was taking place somewhere in the hotel, which resulted in loud noises heard in the spa that prohibited true relaxation. However, the spa atmosphere combined with several reclining lounge chairs, has the potential to be a wonderful, calming place to unwind after a day of sightseeing (when there’s no construction). The staff were for the most part friendly and willing to help (1 or 2 were rude, but you get that anywhere). Tip: The location of this Candelaria hotel is perfect for visiting Bolivar Square, Museo de Oro, Museo Botero, even within walking distance to the base of Cerro Monserrate (about a 1.5 mile walk). There are several restaurants and cafes (including the famous La Puerta Falsa) very close to the hotel. As a single female traveler, I felt perfectly safe within the hotel. However, be careful and aware of your surroundings when walking through Candelaria at night. Some areas can be desolate and poorly lit.

Room Tip: Stay in a deco room for true luxury and beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dancethrulife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServicioalCliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments; it helps us to improve and encourage overcoming our guest's expectations every day.

We hope we can see you again in our Hotel, please consider Hotel de la Opera your home in Bogota.

Sincerely,


Angela Barbosa
Concierge - Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This hotel is well situated in the old quarter of Bogota, close to the central square, the main cathedral and the Gold Museum which is a must see. We were a group of seven people, three couples and a single lady and were allocated different rooms. These rooms were of varying standards. Ours had a decent sized bedroom but a tiny bathroom. The room allocated to the single lady had no outside windows and only looked into the central area - totally unacceptable for a hotel which claims 5-star status on the sign outside the entry.

We also had no hot water on our arrival and our rooms were pretty cold although another traveller complained about his room on the other side of the hotel being too hot!

Breakfast looked pretty varied but service was excruciatingly slow. It took nearly 30 minutes to serve our boiled eggs.

One other complaint was that the hotel receptionist reserved a table for 7 at a famous restaurant on a certain date but when we arrived at the venue, we discovered that a belated Christmas/New Year party was being held for the restaurant employees that very night and was therefore closed to others.

The only reason why I am giving this hotel an average, not lower rating, was the incredible politeness shown to us by the hotel employees. In fact, we found Colombians of all walks of life respectful and more than willing to help, which made our overall trip the most memorable of all the 5 different trips we have made as a group to Latin America.

Room Tip: Make sure that the room has a window looking outside and also a decent-sized bathroom. Check to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMV5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServicioalCliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear guest

We appreciate the time you took to share your opinion about our Hotel.

We apologies for the inconvenient you had on your last stay in our Hotel. Actually all of our rooms are different due to the restoration our founders made when they opened after it had been a family house and commercial business. In this order, we also have variety in case our guests do not like to be next to the street and prefer interior room.

We have Concierge and a very complete guide to help you in your entire trip; you can ask to the receptionist for the concierge or the person on charge who can give you assist on all your stay. We are committed with the excellence and customer service I hope we can demonstrate you in your next visit to our city.

Please consider Hotel de la Opera your home in Bogota.

Sincerely,

Angela Barbosa
Concierge - Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Nice place, location, staff. Hot room with no ceiling fan or AC or window. Inner courtyard type with window opening to inner balcony walkway. They gave us a fan, but it was not enough; we checked out early. Too bad, it's a nice place.

Room Tip: Try the street facing rooms which will be cooler, but may be noisy (street traffic).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dduck245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServicioalCliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments; it helps us to improve every day.

It is a shame that you could not have an excellent stay in our Hotel, every day we work to satisfy your expectations, if the room did not like to you, you could change to another in which you had felt comfortable.

I hope we have the opportunity to see you next time in our hotel, please consider Hotel de la Opera your home in Bogota.

Sincerely,

Angela Barbosa
Concierge - Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Let's start with big pluses. This colonial hotel is on a beautiful narrow street shared with old presidential palace, a theater, and the Presidential Guard at both ends making this seem super safe. The omelet breakfast chef was great. The new plastic key system perfect. Wifi excellent. All the staff had smiles and tried to correct small problems. The problems, though trivial, detracted from a high level of expectation. This is in the Candalaria so it's no Sofitel on the north side let's face it. But the warn towels were disappointing, an issue with power to most outlets was amusing in that I had fun solving the problem jointly with Randy the bell hop by locating the main panel. We had room 716. Not as good as roof top and cathedral view rooms 715 etc. Not sure if that was a junior suite which was our prepaid reservation. When we were checked into room 102 with no windows we knew that was an odd error. Especially as there was a wedding going on outside our door on the pretty atrium. That was hysterical as the violinist, who was terrific, could see me dressing through half shuttered atrium window. The transfer to Deco room 715 was arranged within 15 minutes. OK. I will recommend this hotel to any tourist who wants amazing strolling proximity to the Gold Museum, the Botero museum, old Candalaria district. We had 3 nights there. But 4 stars because it didn't meet expectations of a 5 star hotel. And it's on the prettiest street.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank BobOxenburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServicioalCliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments about our services, they always help us to improve and consider new goals in order to satisfy our guests.

We apologies for the inconvenient you had on your last stay, promising we are making improvement actions to avoid this kind of situations. Hotel de la Opera staff is committed with the excellence and service; we always make everything possible to fill your expectations. After this comment we work all together in order to correct and have the best option for you in the History Center.

I hope we can see you again in our Hotel, please consider Hotel de la Opera your home in Bogota.

Sincerely,

Angela Barbosa
Concierge - Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I stayed there with my family and had a very pleasant stay. the rooms are comfortable and the breakfast is good. it has a spa with sauna and pool and even a gym. the staff is very friendly and they provide you with everything. I can highly recommend it high end places is your type of stay.

un abrazo
gregor

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServicioalCliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments; it helps us to improve and encourage overcoming our guest's expectations every day.

We hope we can see you again in our Hotel, please consider Hotel de la Opera your home in Bogota.

Sincerely,

Angela Barbosa
Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel two years ago and couldn’t wait to come back.

The location couldn’t be better, the staff couldn’t be nicer and the buffet breakfast is the best one I had during my 3 weeks in Colombia. There is an omelet chef each morning.

I personally like the 7th floor “Deco” rooms as they get nice light and are quiet. I checked in/out of this hotel twice. The first time I had room 709 which is a junior suite. I was happy with it, but realized that the layout is awkward. Because of the configuration of the room, you cannot sit on the sofa or side-chairs to watch TV. The large bathroom is nice, but only the rain-shower is usable, as the spigot to fill the tub is broken. The view is outstanding though -- it is of the rooftops of the Cathedral and adjacent buildings.

On the second visit ten days later, I had room 714, also a junior suite, which was far better. Sofa and comfortable chairs are well-placed and everything in the bathroom worked. It has the same bank of windows and views as room 709.

According to the schematic on the door, the rooms with the Cathedral roof views are: 709,710,711,712,714,715
Other views are of the mountains, or a general “city-view”.

Be aware that a tip is automatically added to meals in the hotel restaurant. Signs are posted indicating that the tips are pooled and shared with waiters, bus boys and kitchen staff.

Complimentary wi-fi is excellent and there are two computers for public use just off the courtyard on the ground floor.

Room Tip: Though the Colonial rooms are lovely, take a look at the "Deco" rooms on the 7th floor of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServicioalCliente, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel de la Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear Guest

We appreciate your comments; it helps us to improve and encourage overcoming our guest's expectations every day.

We hope we can see you again in our Hotel, please consider Hotel de la Opera your home in Bogota.

Sincerely,

Angela Barbosa
Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
La Candelaria
The Orchids Hotel
The Orchids Hotel
#55 of 269 in Bogota
137 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel Augusta
Hotel Augusta
#80 of 269 in Bogota
336 reviews
Hotel Casa Deco
#17 of 269 in Bogota
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Candelaria
Muisca Hotel
Muisca Hotel
#103 of 269 in Bogota
243 reviews
Hotel bh Bicentenario
#77 of 269 in Bogota
171 reviews
Hotel Casa de la Vega
#75 of 269 in Bogota
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Opera

Address: Calle 10 No. 5-72 La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Bogota
#29 Family Hotel in Bogota
#36 Romantic Hotel in Bogota
Price Range: £96 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel de la Opera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de la Opera is located in La Candelaria, next to the Cristobal Colon Theater, in front of "Palacio San Carlos", currently headquarters of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, one block from Bolivar Square and a fifteen minutes walk to the funicular for Monserrate hill. Thanks to its strategic location, our guests can easily visit the most characteristic places of the city, for example the Gold Museum, Botero Museum, Primary Cathedral, etc. Also, many important government buildings are nearby. Walking its roads you will be part of its stories, legends and myths which are preserved in each of its houses. Questions like, why do the houses have doors of two meters? Where did Manuelita Saenz live her idyll with Simon Bolivar? Which is the window through which Simon Bolivar escaped? These are just some examples of the cultural treasures that you will find in La Candelaria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel de la Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Opera Bogota
De La Opera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing