We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing staff and nice place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chocolate Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chocolate Hostel
Ranked #62 of 239 Speciality Lodging in Bogota
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing staff and nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

A very nice hostal, cheap and well located, with an amazingly helpful staff! Arrived exhausted with a twisted ankle and left walking normally with a smile.. A very warmful welcome to Colombia for anybody who arrives to Colombia. Rooms are clean and nice, breakfast is decent but not very big.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank v_ammeux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    27
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
4
19
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights as it has a good kitchen and a decent breakfast included. The breakfast was an hour late on the second morning. There are board games, DVDs, computers and a book exchange. Not enough bathrooms/toilets and 1 of the five staff we constantly came across actually was friendly, the rest sat on the computer all day sighing when you asked for any information. We have definitely met nicer people in Colombia.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toohotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

This hostel is really great, you find a great staff that know a lot of the city and can give you so good information about things to do and places to know. The beds are confortable and clean. The breakfast is nice and the people is great.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogotá
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

I stayed one week in this hostel and did not regret a second: in the very heart of the youthful and lively historic center of Bogotá, it offers a kind and perfect hospitalidad. When I first arrived at midnight, it seemed to be a dark and a bit scary corner of the town, but the cordial welcome let forget all the struggles of the journey: a clean, tidy and absolutely safe place. Edwis, Carolina and Jefferson were all the time so amicable, helpful with advice and information and very patient with my first steps in Spanish that I feel accustomed now like a resident. I particularly enjoyed the free internet and immediately felt at home. Try changua once at breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welterfahren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

this place rocks! i picked it just because of the name!! its right in the heart of the candalaria....which is the old area of bogota and its full of cool bars and artisans on the street....epic neighborhood.....everyone at the front desk was so helpful, jefferson, carolina, edwis...... they are all young people so they told me the good places to go and eat (vegetarian spot just a few blocks away...so good!!) and where to go shopping (amazing garment district also just a few blocks away!! i love colombian style!!) and even took me and a group of us from the hostel out for a day trip to some warm spring nearby. the rooms are simple and very clean, the beds are super comfortable with down comforters. breakfast included and free hot chocolate and coffee all day long. it could use some updated travel books and should get the fire place working but other than that i will definitely return there. these people are now my good friends and i appreciate everything they did!! especially jefferson!! thank you jefferson for all your tips and everything!! you are super chèvre!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jungleecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Edwis and Carolina are wonderful! Ultra friendly, cool and relaxed. I had brilliant week there and would recommend it to all. Relaxxx is the word if you want a chilled place to just be amongst the dark bustle of the Candelaria. This place has a long history: formally ´Platypus,´ it was the very first hostel in Bogota and stood alone for 9 years! When you stay there listen carefully, and you´ll hear travelller tales from years gone by. This place has atmosphere. It is the original, the prototype that all copied. I love the place, and am so very pleased to see the new Staff so very warm and welcoming.

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
La Candelaria
Destino Nomada - DnHostel Bogota
La Candelaria
Iku Hostel Backpackers Bogota
La Candelaria
Swiss Hostal Martinik
Swiss Hostal Martinik
#21 of 239 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Candelaria
Explora Hostels
Explora Hostels
#7 of 239 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
La Candelaria
Hostal Casu
Hostal Casu
#18 of 299 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Hostal Casa Iraca
#170 of 239 in Bogota
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chocolate Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chocolate Hostel

Property: Chocolate Hostel
Address: Calle 12f # 2-43, Bogota 250055, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 239 Speciality Lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chocolate Hostel is located in a beautiful colonial house in the historic center of the city where you will find a friendly, warm and welcoming atmosphere with all the comfort you deserve to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Chocolate Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing