We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Descent hotel in a Dodgy area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dann Avenida 19 Hotel
Ranked #138 of 268 Hotels in Bogota
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Descent hotel in a Dodgy area”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

My stay started badly ,wifi was unavailable in my room . After a lot of to and fro checking with reception my room was changed to a lower floor. A mistake as the noise from the street and music form the nightclubs went on until about 4pm. Just when I fell asleep the hotels Muzak in the corridor came on around 6am . Also I was warned to be indoors by 9.30pm as the area was too dangerous. At its best the wifi reaction is erratic even in the hotel lobby .The plus was the good buffet breakfast and comfortable bed

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank adam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario D, Gerente at Dann Avenida 19 Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2015
Google Translation
Buenos días, muchas gracias por su opinión la que nos ayuda a seguir trabajando por la continua mejora de nuestros servicios.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    37
    44
    9
    10
See reviews for
28
37
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

The hotel seemed ok when I entered and here are the good and bad points -

Pros -
1. The price was good
2. The room was clean
3. Close to the gold museum if your a tourist
4. descent wifi and even had free computers in the lobby

Cons
1. There was quite some security including locking the main doors at night, which led me to think it wasnt one of the safest areas.
2. One girl on the desk speaks English, its impossible to communicate at all if she isnt there
3. Taxi - I took the hotel taxi for everywhere, and they grossly overcharge. Instead of a 7000 peso ride as per my friend, they charged 25000! Also, this short guy who drove me to the Cathedral de Sal, had a dirty car, and back breaking ride, as he seemed to be in a race with Schumacher. I ended up spending a whole lot on the hotel cars. I understand that they are more expensive than regular taxis, but this was outrageous!
4. I had booked a room for 2. The price is the same whether its one adult or two adults, however, they made me pay $25/night per second person extra! Obviously since no one spoke English, I could not even bother explaining anything. Needless to say, check out was extremely bitter.
5. Room temperature cannot be controlled.
6. Bathroom is very ordinary though they give you basic utilities
7. I asked for a wake up call at 5. The guy calls me at 5:25.
8. Because they dont speak English, be prepared to be delayed for check in, etc. anything you need from the reception basically

Room Tip: All rooms were standard, nothing special. I would recommend check the bathroom before you accept a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mankur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario D, Gerente at Dann Avenida 19 Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2015
Google Translation
Buenos días, muchas gracias por su opinión la que nos ayuda a seguir trabajando por la continua mejora de nuestros servicios.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
190 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013 via mobile

This is a nice place to stay! Great value for money. The beds are nice, and you have a buffet fpr breakfast included. Very comfortable. Great taxi service with excellent fares. The place have many things to do and food restaurants

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chowing64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario D, Gerente at Dann Avenida 19 Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2015
Google Translation
Buenos días, muchas gracias por su opinión la que nos ayuda a seguir trabajando por la continua mejora de nuestros servicios.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

This is not a 5 star hotel. It is not even a 4 star or 3 star hotel. However, it is clean. The price is good and it has a great location in the central zone of Bogota. You can easily walk to many attractions and there are plenty of restaurants, shoppings, casinos, and peoples surrounding this hotel. The hotel is decent and the staff is friendly. They can understand my broken Spanish and take care of all I needed.

The biggest problem for this hotel is that you can easily hear noise coming from the street. If you need a quite place to fall into sleep, you should look for other hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tewei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario D, Gerente at Dann Avenida 19 Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2015
Google Translation
Buenos días, muchas gracias por su opinión la que nos ayuda a seguir trabajando por la continua mejora de nuestros servicios.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

I stayed one night at this hotel on 19 November 2012! It is in a very good location, in the historical centre, a walking distance from many points of interest. This include downtown if you are reasonably fit as everyone should be.The room is very basic with a plasma TV,and a shower. The reception area is very inviting. Breakfast is excellent and I had no issues with that! There is no fitness centre, but has flight of stairs until 15th floor! I ran up and and down the stairs to maintain my weight! The hotel is up the incline, this should help with fitness level.
Depending on personality, the surrounding area is noisy and can be a turnoff to those who need quite neighbourhood! It is like you are in a ghetto area! There is noise, people selling different things etc. About 800m down the incline is a red light district! For me it was no issue at all as I was not interested in what was going in there. It is very quite inside the hotel.This hotel must be considered by anyone who plan to explore Bogota but need a convenient place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZingaraPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario D, Gerente at Dann Avenida 19 Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2015
Google Translation
Buenos días, muchas gracias por su opinión la que nos ayuda a seguir trabajando por la continua mejora de nuestros servicios.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baltimore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

Checked different websites, and chose this hotel. A little too far from the airport. Requested a pick up from a hotel cab, but they never showed up. So, I took a cab from the iarport, which cost me less. Informed the hotel staff, but they "forgot" to send the cab. Wanted to check in, but my room was not available, so I had to wait for two hours in the lobby, I did get a 'free' soft drink for waiting. Finally checked into the room, old dusty furniture, and carpet, no a/c. So next day, I checked out and went somwere else. Hotel staff 'seemed' nice, but I think they need to be "nice", since they are happy to have a job. I would never stay here again!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OckapI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario D, Gerente at Dann Avenida 19 Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2015
Google Translation
Buenos días, muchas gracias por su opinión la que nos ayuda a seguir trabajando por la continua mejora de nuestros servicios.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bogota hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2008

On August 10th, 2008 my family and I stayed at the Hotel Dann Avenida 19 (Centro). I can't complain about this hotel or the staff.

To begin with, I had to make a last minute reservation due to a family emergency which required that all my family travel to Bogota. When I called the hotel from Washington, their staff member understood my emergency and immediately was able to help me to find 2 room’s one double and one triple with no problem. The total for 2 nights (5 people) including breakfast and taxeswas around $320.00 dollars.
The hotel is convenient located in the center of Bogota. It's over Avenida 19 which has a lot of access to public transportation. The rooms were clean and spacious. One of the rooms was located in the 13th floor. This room was much closed to the elevator and the staircase; therefore the room had to be locked using 2 keys. We never felt unsafe during the 2 nights in that room. The rooms don’t have internet access but they have satellite T.V, radio, and phone. No minibar.

The beds were very comfortable and clean. The bathrooms were cleaned and large. they had hot water in the sink and shower. They had regular toiletries and also they have a hair dryer. Our rooms’ hair dryer, did not work, but luckily I was carrying my own one. Therefore, I did not have the need to complaint about their hair dryer.

Unfortunately, when we arrived at the hotel in our first night the restaurant was already closed, so we went to a sandwich shop (which opens 24 hours) cross the street. Unfortunately, the amount of beggars that appear at night in that neighborhood, made the trip to the sandwich shop a little bit uncomfortable. Breakfast, was always served at their restaurant which is located on the second floor. They offered scrambled eggs, coffee and hot chocolate, fresh juices, sausages, bread and beef broth.

The staff, at the hotel was always friendly with us. The hotel is located in an old building, but still in good shape. For those who have not visited Bogota, Avenida 19, it’s an area with a lot of traffic (cars and people), a lot of businesses and near to the historic center. We walked during the evening in that area and we did not felt unsafe, of course, we followed the regular safety precautions (we did not wear jewelry, no fancy cameras; we try to act like locals, etc).

If you need to be in the downtown area, this hotel is perfect for location but if you are looking for high-tech amenities or top of the notch service, you better go to some where else fancier.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Restaurant closed to early at night
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank BDiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario D, Gerente at Dann Avenida 19 Hotel, responded to this review, 15 December 2015
Google Translation
Buenos días, muchas gracias por su opinión la que nos ayuda a seguir trabajando por la continua mejora de nuestros servicios.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Grand Park Hotel
#133 of 268 in Bogota
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Hotel Regina
#113 of 268 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Hotel Inter Bogota
#180 of 268 in Bogota
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Candelaria
Hotel Augusta
Hotel Augusta
#79 of 268 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Hotel MS Oceania
#155 of 268 in Bogota
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dann Avenida 19 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dann Avenida 19 Hotel

Property: Dann Avenida 19 Hotel
Address: Avenida 19 No. 5-72, Bogota 110311, Colombia
Phone Number:
Region: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 268 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dann Avenida 19 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
!The hotel with quality and comfort! 14 Km from El Dorado International Airport, the hotel has 133 rooms and 6 meeting rooms for events with capacity up to 490 people. The hotel offers a unique experience because is surrounded by emblematic and touristic places such as Centro Historico de Bogota, Gold museum, Luis Angel Arango library and Jorge Eliecer Gaitan Theater. This is best option specially designed for you where you can live the architectural magic and enjoy the best quality and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dann Avenida 19 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dann Avenida 19 Hotel Bogota
Dann Av 19 Bogota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing