We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ambala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ambala
Ranked #250 of 268 Hotels in Bogota
Goiania, GO
2 reviews
“Great Location”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I stayed for 2 days in ambala hotel. It's a great hotel. They pick me up in the airport for 20.000 pesos and its really comfortable. The rooms are small but the staff is friendly and they are really helpful. The hotel its in the best part of the city and its really safe. Its in the walking distance of all the touristic points.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RafaelFallone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    16
    12
    6
    9
See reviews for
4
11
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vaduz
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

I found this place through the lonely planet.This hotel is on a good location in old town of
Bogota,steps away from action and historic sites. I stayed here end of october 2012. I didn't mind
about small room,because most of the time I'm on the run and spend the majority outside the hotel anyway. The room looked clean,the breakfast was included, but not so good,in my opinion.
The reason,why I can not recommend this place: Staff broke into my locked room and stole
part of my cash. There are some good staff members,who are let down by one or two bad guys.
They work on a very insidious way, in my case on the day of my departure to the airport. Every-
thing had to go quick for them.I learned out from my damage,but also too bad for the hotels
reputation. I assume, this place has big turn overs,resulting out of this crimes...
I never will store money in the hotel room anymore, even the room is locked.
I can not stand thieves, they can be anywhere; in this case right by the arrival of the hotels
reception....

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Herb A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bogota hotels

New York
Level Contributor
182 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Great breakfast included! Fritos eggs are better than revuelting. The rooms are small, but clean and safe. Desk staff is nice and they will store your bags all day after checkout, in a locked closet. No matter where you're facing, your room will be noisy, so just bring earplugs. TV channels are fun, fun, fun. Wonderful location, just 2 blocks from Botero, Gold, Transmilenio. On the same block are various fried ball storefronts, a day tour agency. Some bars are around the corner. Fine place!

Room Tip: Higher floor is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KillerRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
184 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Stayed here in May as part of a G-Adventures tour of Colombia. The hotel is small and quite clostraphobic, I thought. The rooms are very small and dated, and once you have put your cases on the floor, there's not a lot of room to walk around, as there's only about two feet around the beds. The beds aren't particularly comfortable and are quite hard, but we still managed to sleep (after 30hrs travel mind you). The WC is tiny and crammed in. The shower is poor and there is only limited warm water.

The breakfast was actually quite surprising. The Colombian standard: fresh fruit/ juice, eggs any style, croissant and marmalade, fresh coffee.

It's set in the middle of La Candeleria, which is good. Not so good is that it is right across from the University (about 3metres away), which is not so good as its always busy with students and vendors outside. There's also a salsa club next door which pumped latin music 'til the early hours.....quite a nice feel for the first hour, then we just wanted it to stop.

It's possible to walk to the heart of Bogota from here, and a 5 minute walk will take you to the bus stop where the relevent buses leave.

The young staff work long hours and this does not impact on their friendly manner. They were helpful, providing maps and telling us where the local sights were.

I have ranked this hotel as poor. It probably deserves slightly more than this....it's just that the price seems quite steep for what you actually get.

Room Tip: I would think they are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElCartoharvetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

This hotel is in a great location and is safe. Otherwise there would be no reason to stay there as the rooms are small and some of them don't have outside facing windows and therefore smell bad (humidity?). Also as these rooms are facing inside there is a lot of noise coming from the reception. I stayed in 3 different rooms in this hotel and non of them was outside facing which is my bad luck I guess.

On the positive side it is walking distance to all the major sites and has a nice breakfast although other reviewers gave me the impression that the breakfast is poor.

Room Tip: Choose a room that has a window facing the outside so you get some fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tolga_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

This place was nice enough. Very small rooms and extremely small bathroom. The staff were nice...until I checked out and was settling my bill. I accidentally withdrew too much money from the bank machine (we'll call it a stupidity tax on my part) and handed it over to the front desk clerk who helped me count it. It was right, except that I had withdrawn the amount with three too many zeros - ouch. The clerk accepted the funds without so much as indicating that I had given him hundreds of dollars (not pesos) too much. Very, very dissapointed at the lack of integrity. I followed up with the manager and of course have not been successful at resolving this very expensive mistake on my part.

The same clerk also quoted a very low rate to exchange my dollars for pesos. He knew full well what he was donig and so did I. Smart of him to take advantage of the tourist but really bad for the hotel's reputation. For this reason, I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TwinSister6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

If a place to get a good night`s sleep yet no frills at all is what you are looking for, Hotel Ambalá is the place to go. Great location and really really sweet staff. They were so eager to please me and help me when I had trouble with a wrongly issued voucher. Many thanks again. I will never forget my stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roamingqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Hotel El Virrey
#220 of 268 in Bogota
60 reviews
Blu Inn Hotel
#187 of 268 in Bogota
59 reviews
Casa Platypus
#92 of 268 in Bogota
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Sabana
#185 of 268 in Bogota
17 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel Augusta
Hotel Augusta
#76 of 268 in Bogota
312 reviews
Ambar Hotel
#192 of 300 in Bogota
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambala

Property: Hotel Ambala
Address: Carrera 5 No. 13-46, Bogota, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 268 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ambala 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ambala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambala Hotel Bogota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing