We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location tips the balance” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Virrey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel El Virrey
Ranked #209 of 267 Hotels in Bogota
Level Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Location tips the balance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

El Virrey manages to combine the very good, quite bad and mediocre but it’s the hotel’s location that swings the vote for me.

Starting with the quite bad; the breakfast would fit this description perfectly.

More than anything else, the breakfast was just miserly. When I’m on holiday, I want to stuff my face – either with a continental or English breakfast – instead, all I got was two fried or scrambled eggs, some bread and one cup of coffee. Everything else, like fruit juice or another cup of coffee, wasn’t included.

Moving on to the mediocre, the rooms and the hotels rather soulless atmosphere would fall into this category. While the rooms have everything you’d need and are clean, they are a bit tatty and have no windows.

With regard to the hotel’s atmosphere, it just felt a bit flat to me. As well as having long, empty corridors, the hotel’s restaurant was quite cavernous and rarely full.

Thankfully, I had my iPhone for entertainment.

The two factors that rescue this hotel are the quality of service and its location, both of which are very good.

The service is both friendly and efficient. The staff on reception are cheerful and chatty as are the waiters in the restaurant.

It’s also worth noting that check-out is at 3pm which is very helpful and generous.

Turning to location, El Virrey is a ten-minute walk away from Capitolio and Candelaria, both of which offer many points of interest to tourists.

Furthermore, there are plenty of shops and bars on the doorstep, along with a well-stocked supermarket.

You could do a lot worse than stay in this hotel as long as you bear in mind its limitations.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RedTom64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    23
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
7
15
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armenia, Colombia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

The hotel is well located, close to the Zona T, good shopping centers and restaurants. The building, along with its decoration shows its age. It is a good option if there are no other choices, however it will not be something to remember. The hotel is clean, the beds are comfortable, but everything is average and considering the rest of offers around, it is below them. Not to confuse with the B3 Virrey (a contemporary good option), or the Virrey Park Hotel, which are both 1 block away.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cucunuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bat Yam, Israel
Level Contributor
125 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Been to this hotel several times during 2009-2010. Overall it is a good place. Small, clean and secure. Service is good. It is possible for a small charge to leave your luggage in their storage room.
Area is not safe at dark, but very central at day.
A little overpriced, I think.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
264 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

Like many hotels I've stayed in, the pictures on their site are a bit enhanced and make the rooms look a lot newer and larger than they are. That said, the hotel gives the appearance of being a boutique hotel. The lobby is very minimalist. The rooms are adequate but the furniture rather cheap looking. All rooms have flat screen TVs with English channels. Wi-fi was spotty. I needed it for work and it seemed to come and go, even though my room was near a router.

Early on in my stay, there was a lot of noise outside of my room (I was facing a street) so I asked to move rooms and the hotel readily agreed, even though I had been in my original room for a few hours.

The location is good. Just a few blocks from Andino shopping and a lot of trendy restaurants.

I was, at first, very disappointed with the buffet breakfast they advertised. When I went to the restaurant at 7:45 am, there were a few pieces of fruit, a few slices of bread and coffee (but no milk) there. They informed me a big group traveling together had just left so they personally prepared me scrambled eggs, breakfast meat and fresh coffee/juice.

They allowed me to check out at 2 PM, which was nice. Overall, the hotel property itself is probably a 2.5-3 star facility, but I was very happy with the service. They quickly corrected themselves (in terms of moving rooms and breakfast) when needed, and were professional and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the main street and on a higher floor (4 or 5).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthewfromct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2011

Although the hotel doesn't look very promising from the outside, once you step in you feel
it's well-run, safe and clean. This is the more important, because it's located in an area
which is very convenient for visting Bogotá's most important tourist sites, but a little tacky
in the daytime and deserted at night. The rooms are small but comfortable; the only
problem is that many of them have windows that open to narrow airshafts: if you want light
or suffer from claustrophobia you should ask for a room with an outside window. Breakfast
is included in the room rate (COP$ 85000 for a single; COP$ 135000 for a double at the
time of writing) as well as a 'welcome cocktail'. The latter turned out to be something of a
joke, because the bar which was supposed to be open Monday to Friday from 3 to 11
p.m. was closed whenever I tried to go there. My question to the hotel staff when it would
be open was answered with the inevitable 'mañana'. Apart from this I can only say that
El Virrey gives very good value for the money you pay.








is included in the room

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karvam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

After staying at two other hotels in the Candeleria area, a cab driver recommended this hotel. Compared to my previous hotel, there was twice the amount of space for a few dollars more. Rooms have in-room safes, 27 inch flat screen TV's. It is on a quiet street that is deserted at night. It's three blocks from the Candelaria zone and also three blocks from the Gold Museum. The adjacent calle 19 has plenty of restaurants. There are two free internet computers in the lobby. I found the staff and security to be fine. Most of the guests appear to be businessmen. I was very pleased with this hotel and recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank metasequoia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
French in Colombia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2010

I stayed first in March and then in April, for a short stay each time ( 2 and then 1 night )

For one of the cheapest hotel in Bogotá, and with a great location ( a couple of blocks from the gold museum and a block away from the main street with shops and restaurants ) i would say it is good.

What I liked:

Location
Price
Service

What I disliked

Room Cleanliness
Cold Rooms
Bathroom
Toilets
Food ( really not great food, for the same price you get way better food a block away )


I would come back because of the price for a very short business trip, but not for a holiday.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdouardFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
4.6 mi away
San Pablo Hotel
San Pablo Hotel
#128 of 267 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.2 mi away
Embassy Park Hotel
Embassy Park Hotel
#141 of 267 in Bogota
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.8 mi away
Movich Buro 26 Hotel
Movich Buro 26 Hotel
#65 of 267 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Aloft Bogota Airport
Aloft Bogota Airport
#28 of 267 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
1.4 mi away
Habitel Hotel
Habitel Hotel
#40 of 267 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Bogota Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Virrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Virrey

Property: Hotel El Virrey
Address: Calle 18 N 5-56, Bogota 111711, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bogota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 267 Hotels in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Virrey 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a very nice hotel with a very nice price. We are located in downtown Bogota, next to the historic centre La Candelaria and most of all, we are only two blocks away of the famous Gold Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel El Virrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing