We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and Expensive” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anandamayi Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Anandamayi Hostel
Ranked #21 of 239 Speciality Lodging in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quiet and Expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Like the majority of hostels in Bogota, Anandamayi is located in La Candelaria - handy for most of the city's attractions but not the safest area after dark. The hostel is quiet, which is nice if you're trying to get some rest but can perhaps sometimes be too quiet. The prices are on the high side for Bogota. All in all, if money isn't an issue and you're not after a party hostel, you'll probably like Anadamayi.

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    39
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
3
31
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at Anandamayi. The location is perfect. It is very clean quiet and relaxing. The staff is very kind and attentive. The gardens were beatiful. It was a pefect place to stay in Bogota.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zac L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
211 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

We made a reservation at this hostel after reading the good reviews in the LP Colombia guide (2012 edition) and I think we made the right decision.

Slightly over-priced but centrally located in Candelaria. Really clean rooms, shared bathrooms and common areas. Warm blankets are provided and they even offered us hot water bags.

Our room had its own TV and CD-Rom player, and they even left a tiny mosquito repellent by the bed.

Some improvements must be done though:

a) Every time we wanted to leave the hostel, we had to wait for someone of the staff to come and open the main door. The same procedure had to be done when we wanted to get in.
I know that, for security reasons, they prefer keeping the main door closed most of the time. But that can be solved with a rather cheap mechanism where guests can dial a code which can be easily changed every day.

b) Our room (number two) had a big window on the roof with no curtain. At 6 a.m. there was light coming through it, and sleeping was impossible.

c) No proper directions were giving in their website. They assume that you are going to take a taxi to reach the hostel but, if you travel on a budget (as we did), we got there by public transport. I can not give any information about reaching from El Dorado airport, but this is the easiest way to get to Anandamayi if you're coming from La Terminal: Take any 'colectivo' (small shared buses) from the main exit of Módulo #5 with the following signs on it: GERMANIA, KR. 4 (KR. 4 means Carrera 4). This small van goes all the way down Avenida El Dorado to the centre of Bogotá.. Ask the driver to stop at 'Intersección Carrera 4 con Calle 9'. That stop it's just a few blocks away from your final destination. Good luck!

Room Tip: Our room was close to the main door... That means hearing the door bell every time that any guest wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JG_Vermeulen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andalucia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

A beautiful place to stay in La Candelaria. Just wished I'd had longer to stay. Internet is available as is coffee and tea all day. There were plenty of bathrooms so no queuing for the shared bathrooms. Directions were provided in Spanish to hand to my taxi driver at the airport enabling him to drive me straight there for the standard fare of 25,000COP (£8.50). I paid 90,000 COP in cash which included a simple breakfast of fruit juice, cheese, jam and toast.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colibriAndalucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

This Hostel is cleaner and nicer than most of the hostels in la candelaria.
I loved the beautiful garden in the middle of the Hostel and enjoyed their hospitality.
I have stayed in a private bedroom which was very confortable and had a grate sleep there, but i have looked at the dorms which were very clean and spacious.

There are only three faults i found in this place:

1. As most other hostes it is a bit chilly out of bed. (Though in this one you have nice heating in the kitchen!)
2. It is good placed but on the hill- CIimbing there from two blocks down the hill could be a grate GYM...
3. This Hostel is social but more kind of mature and quiet place. If you come alone and look to meet some party animals for the night discotec there is a smaller chance you will find them here.

Recommended For a clean confortable landing in Bogota in the heart of la candelaria

Room Tip: I loved the private rooms on the distal side of the hostel (away from the entrance)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don_Yoav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in Anandamayi hostel in Bogota.

First of all the hostel is totally charming, with nice details contributing to the colonial appearance of the place.
The hostel consists of two open (gallery) places, one central kitchen place and several dorms and private rooms. All of them are of high quality, nicely furnished and decorated (in colonial atmosphere).

The staff are very friendly and helpful as well. Everybody takes their time to explain about the places to visit and whichever other question you might have. Also, when a more expensive room was available equipped with its own bathroom, we were offered to use this one instead of the slightly cheaper one we originally booked, but at the same price!
The kitchen is well equipped so you won't have a problem cooking your own meal here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Caesar80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

We loved staying at this hostel. The staff were super accommodating/friendly (no English). The beds were a little uncomfortable, so we used extra pillows to make it better. The setting of the hostel can't be beat with three beautiful gardens/courtyards in between each of the rooms. There is a central and second kitchen, they have bread, jelly, cheese, boiled eggs and fresh juice/tea/coffee from 7am - 10am each day. They offer sheets and towels to visitors. The bathrooms were clean and lots of them to choose from (private each one, not a big dorm style bath). We noticed one of the private rooms had a TV, but we stayed in their one big dorm room. We would definitely come back to this hostel if we wanted to visit the old/historical district.

Room Tip: Private rooms each look out onto a courtyard. I think some have attached private bath, but all of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Hotel Casa Deco
#13 of 267 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
La Candelaria
The Orchids Hotel
The Orchids Hotel
#48 of 267 in Bogota
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Casa Platypus
#89 of 267 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Candelaria
Masaya Hostel Bogota
Masaya Hostel Bogota
#1 of 239 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
La Candelaria
Fernweh Photography Hostel
La Candelaria
Casa Bellavista Hostel
Casa Bellavista Hostel
#12 of 239 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anandamayi Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anandamayi Hostel

Property: Anandamayi Hostel
Address: Calle 9 no 2-81 | Candelaria - Centro, Bogota 110321, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Bogota > La Candelaria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 239 Speciality Lodging in Bogota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anandamayi is a very comfortable and inexpensive Hostel & Hotel in the most beautiful colonial house in la Candelaria old town. It has 3 poetic and colourful patios with hammocks and geraniums; a wonderful ancient garden with waterfalls, fish ponds and incredibly friendly hummingbirds; Nice and clean rooms and an attic from where you can see the sunrise behind Private Monserrate and hear the bells from the old churches and cathedral; and at sunset, the martial band when they change the guard at the presidential palace which is just around the corner. Anandamayi can lodge 27 people.' love all, serve all' are it's aims.All museums, theatres and major attractions like the Quinta de Bolivar, Monserrate Sanctuary, the Botero Museum, Gold Museum, Luis Angel Arango library, colonial churches and historical monuments are within walking distance. On week-ends you can join ecological trekking groups that follow the ancient Indian roads: lots of Sun, exercise and beautiful scenery. You can enjoy the super location of this safe and drugs-free place and yet you will be surprised at how quiet it is inside, and how friendly and homely the atmosphere is. Writers, painters and poets often stay for a long time. Price includes:A very good continental breakfast, taxes, linen and towels, hot water, free wireless, safe box, luggage storage, laundry service, common room with cable TV and lots of good films, a superb garden, good books, good vib, the possibility to cook your own food like in your own home, and take a very good rest and sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Anandamayi Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anandamayi Hotel Bogota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing