We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful ambient, very good food”
Review of Wabisabi

Wabisabi
Ranked #338 of 2,415 Restaurants in Bogota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Chapinero
Bogotá, Cundinamarca, Colombia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Awful ambient, very good food”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

It's a restaurant with honest food. Nothing pretentious. The octopus it's very good, and the sushi it's fresh. The parking it's a little complicated, but it works. The drinks something doesn't have gas, but they changed with no problem. Another issue is that you have to pay on cash, but you forget this little problems because wabisani it's delicious (and the owner it's very nice).

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simon_posada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    23
    8
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Wabisabi used to be the best Japanese restaurant in town, but after it began having success, the owner decided to increase the prices and to limit the options in the menu. They eliminated the lunch menu, and stopped making changes in their sushi offers (i.e. you can't ask them not to include a certain ingredient in your makis). The service is awful, and they don't accept credit or debit cards, only cash.

Not recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lapalita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cajica, Colombia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best sushi in bogota”
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

I love this place, decoration is not the best but sushi taste is far away the best in town. Really fresh fish, big rolls and tuna rolls are the best. I highly recommend this place to eat sushi. I've been many places around bogota looking for awesome sushi, and this one is the best for me almost in Colombia

Helpful?
1 Thank lotrav12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
170 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best Japanise restaurant in Bogota”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We love it! We go almost every week!!!
Food is delicious, service is friendly.
Place is not fancy but food is the best even compared with other the countries we had visited.

Helpful?
Thank Luzaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Wabisabi is painfully shabby”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I would have loved to praise this restaurant, not only because it has been highly recommended to me but because when you see it from outside it feels like a diamond in the rough; not the façade that you’d expect from a renown Japanese restaurant but you’re still hoping it’s everything that it’s mentioned to be…that that little diamond lies hidden within. My friend and I ordered the salmon sashimi appetizer, and the assorted sashimi platter and shrimp tempura as our main course. The chef was very kind to bring us all sorts of complementary seaweed salads, but for the exuberant price, in all sincerity, the food in presentation and taste is quite average. The ambiance is also a turndown; although decorated with different artifacts pertaining to the Japanese culture, it feels like any ordinary cafeteria.

If you’re looking for authentic Japanese cuisine that will blow your mind, head towards Sushigozen just a few blocks away (Calle 94 # 14-11). Do not be dismissive of the absolutely delicious milk candy that comes with your check; as someone that resides in Asia I can assure you that they are the real thing.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank NofSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wabisabi also viewed

Bogota, Colombia
Bogota, Colombia
 
Bogota, Colombia
Bogota, Colombia
 
Bogota, Colombia
Bogota, Colombia
 

Been to Wabisabi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing