We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You must go there!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marshes of Caw

Marshes of Caw
Ranked #1 of 23 things to do in Cayenne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This nature reserve is outside the capital city and is a major attraction for nature lovers in French Guyana. I was there last week.
Bala Cynwyd
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“You must go there!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Couleurs Amazone, travel agency, had booked us for a night on a floating "carbet", and it was one of the best excursions during our stay in Guyane.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    46
    5
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maraval, Saint George, Trinidad and Tobago
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic voyage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

I did the overnight version. At 135€ it was not cheap but worth every cent. We started off with a short tour after which we stopped to bathe and have an aperitif. Then more touring, supper and caimam hunting. This was the highlight of the trip. Our guide caught some small caimans ans showed them to us, explaining everything about the different species. After that we slept in our boat. The next morning breakfast, a tour in the opposite direction and a tour of a man made canal. We visited the village of Kau and had lunch there. After that a last quick bath and the return. In all a great visit. A working knowledge of French essential .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Trinichick76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Favard Trail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

Kaw is a big area but also includes many natural trails where you can go for a good hike. If you've got your own transport this is an easy and memorable trail to do. Where the boats are launched at the end of the road into the park, there is a somewhat small trail to the north-west of the carpark. You'll know you're at it once you see some local graves (quite elaborate ones though). The trail itself is gorgeous - creeks, all types of foliage, follows the swamp for a bit, through bamboo groves and when we went, about 3 fallen trees blocking the path. Its no problem to go around them though. Then after about an hour and fifteen minutes the path ends at a large rock with as yet, undeciphered carvings made by amerindiens. The mozzies here are horrendous but stick with it as there are poison dart (arrow) frogs all around the rocks. These guys make the walk totally worth it. We saw about half a dozen frogs around here. Also a tarantula the size of dinner plate that scampered away as soon as we arrived.

We went on a Wednesday around mid-morning and did not see anyone of the trail. There was one person getting his boat who confirmed that this was indeed the trail (although there were no signs indicating what it is, it is the only trail at the car park). There is no fee to pay for entry.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Ramenmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEW YORK
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“The Best Surprise of the Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Had no idea about this place and picked it as a 'last resort' when other tours (such as Devils' Island) was unavailable. However, it proved to be the best day of the trip to French Guyana. See thousands of colorful and interesting birds, marshlands and swamps, crocs and snakes.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank NEWYORKPROF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castries, St. Lucia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great day trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

We went for a day visit to this beautiful reserve, and really enjoyed it a lot!! It is very good organized, friendly guides and driver, very good lunch in a unique place. The most important of all, we saw so much nature, fantastic birds, monkeys, cayman, paraba, turtle, etc. Really good!!! Don't miss it!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank OurPlanet55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marshes of Caw also viewed

Cayenne, Arrondissement of Cayenne
Cayenne, Arrondissement of Cayenne
 
Cayenne, Arrondissement of Cayenne
Cayenne, Arrondissement of Cayenne
 

Been to Marshes of Caw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing